We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 Scarborough hotels

Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough to your Saves list
Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com Agoda.com
and 8 more sites!
33%
Ranked #27 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
Write a Review

2,962 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    620
    583
    434
    1,069
See reviews for
526
1427
69
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,048)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Paid £39.00 for a single room with breakfast and was expecting bad things,But what a pleasant surprise! Yes it's old,(Europes largest hotel). Yes it needs a bit of refurbishment, But it has bags of character Arriving at 9 pm the place was buzzing, helpfull staff ,clean sea- view room, I even caught the last hour of a variety show,all in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stalybridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

i found this hotel delightful, its a little worn arouns the edges but the victorian architecture is wonderful, i heard a few people complaining about the rooms being cold and the entertainment being bad but i and my friend loved it, our room was lovely and clean and the food was well presented a.nd delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My dad booked this hotel for me, my boyfriend and our 17 month old daughter. Arrived at the hotel only to pay to park! Only £3 a day but pay to park!! Never heard that at a hotel before. Got they key for the room only to be told we where in the basement. Room 2001. When we got in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us. I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can resolve your feedback as this is not the standards we have within The Grand, direct action has been taken in relation to this matter. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. More

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Dirty and dusty. Very cold, heating was on for two hours early evening only. Not enough staff. Self service in the restaurant food not covered , often cold. Salad and fish starters left on a shelf in the warm restaurant not in a cold cabinet. Seagulls nesting on building very noisy in early hours. Not an enjoyable stay.Never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel. Due to the high volume of guests we cater for any of our starters are not left over food hygiene standards. In relation to Seagulls, we are a seaside hotel based on a cliff next to the... More

Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We paid £45 for a double room & breakfast, it was meant to be £155! we were given a room on the -2 level underground...the room &, bed was clean but the thought of sleeping in a room underground with no windows was just awful. The hotel did give us another room with a window. This day and age you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel. On arrival all guests are given a hotel information sheet, please accept our apologises if you were not informed or given the breakfast information on arrival. Our Saver rooms do not have windows, many of our guests... More

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After finally getting checked in after a wait of one hour, we went to our room.freezing cold dingy dungeon like room in the basement which was damp and had a funny smell to it.We went for eve dinner at 6.30 and most of the most was old and cheap and not nice.breakfast wasn't too bad ,overall the hotels entrance is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. More

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Faded grandeur, almost like staying in a museum, fair rooms, not many staff, not very expensive, have had worse, needs to be done up, The hotel needs a good revamp and charge a bit more to cover the costs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. More

Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After reading these reviews after booking this hotel we prepared ourselves for the worst. Before we even checked in a resident already told us to go home. The receptionist could hardly speak a word of english, she was rude and didnt even direct us to our room. After 20 mins of roaming the corridors we eventually found this dungeon. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel. I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can resolve your feedback as we cannot identify which hotel room you stayed in so we can resolve this. The carpets in question are new which form... More

Lanarkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Can really visualise how this hotel must have been in its heyday. It has a lovely wide sweeping staircase, large enough for when ladies wore crinoline dresses. There is a lot of history to the hotel, and although it needs a lot of modernisation, the rooms are cleaned regularly, clean towels are provided when necessary and the hotel is in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your honest and kind comments during your recent visit to us. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future for another amazing value holiday. More

Holbeach, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I booked a double saver room and was given a small basement dungeon. The room smelt of dampness, had no windows and no ventilation. The room was hard to find and even harder to believe. The furniture was old and the tv you could not give away on ebay. When I complained I was given the wrong room I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel. All our city rooms have air cooling within them. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. More

Been to Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.