We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 Scarborough hotels

Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough to your Saves list
Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
31%
Ranked #27 of 27 Hotels in Scarborough
Write a Review

3,371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    674
    674
    508
    1,233
See reviews for
608
1605
78
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This review is intended to hopefully give any potential guests at this hotel an idea of how terrible this place is,we arrived on spec with the intention of staying just one night and after booking in against the will of another patron that had already discovered the apalling state of the rooms,we discovered ourselves what the lady was trying to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Was there with a coach party and was agreeably surprised considering some reviews. Room had been refurbished, shower room was clean and fresh and no problems checking in. Food was good although a fried egg at b'fast would have been appreciated staff were friendly and seeing all the skips filled with old mattresses etc. and a continuous stream of painters... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

not disabled friendly asked for ground floor room and was placed on sixth floor with two lifts and 5doors to contend with with a wheelchair breakfast ok evening meal very poor and bar times need reviewing never again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

"Grand hotel" ... This is the worst hotel in the area..... £50 for a room that advertises a safe... Nope, free wifi. Nope, (their advertised code is one digit short...), rooms are terrible, tired and dirty, wet chair, rude staff and bouncers on the door that are reminiscent of a bygone era long forgotten. Don't even consider trying to complain... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Dive671, We are slightly confused as we do not have safes within our bedrooms, the Wi-Fi code is located within the guest information sheet given out at check in. We do not have bouncers on the door. We are not star rated, Britannia Hotels offer value for money in great locations. I am sorry we did not tick all... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

i have just arrived home after spending 4 nights at this hotel and i must say it was a disappointment . The first room myself and my mother were given was 2 floors down and was a very dark room with a frosted window with wire in it . It also had a very high and deep bath with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Allison Y Thank you for your reveiw. We are sorry to hear we did not meet with your expectations. The hotel is a grade 2 listed building and as such each room is of different shape, size and facilities. When the hotel is full we are unable to offer room moves, but pleased to read we managed to do... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Having always wanted to stay at the Grand my wife and I finally made it for a weekend break. We both thought the hotel was lovely and full of character. Our Sea View room was comfortable, the meals were good and the staff were friendly and welcoming. It would have been nice to have had a guided walk or a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Michael B Thank you for your honest review. Looking forward to welcoming your both back soon. More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked a VIP two night break for our anniversary - it was shocking. The room was in the dungeons and was not what we had paid for, the chocolates,fruit etc again were nowhere to be seen. By 7.30pm we were still waiting to rectify issues(the restaurant closes @ 8) - nothing available but we were offered better accomodation on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear fat bloke_2000_uk Thank you for your review. We are sorry we did not meet with your expectation during you stay, but pleased that we was able to move your room after in your stay. Our city (internal) rooms offer amazing value for money for travellers on a budget. More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for a concert. It was dirty with stains on the floor. The fire alarm went of in the night with no explanation. Upon check out the staff saw me, walked past me and ignored me and continued to have a conversation using profanities. They then walked back past me and ignored me again. I had to shout... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear WalkerPt, Thank you for your review, our reception is manned 24 hours a day, I am sorry if this was not the case, as you will know, there is a thick wall between the reception and back of house, in addition we have zero tolerance policy on bad language. I am shocked that went to the kitchen area, as... More

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here 18 years ago and nothing as really changed even though the hotel chain boasts about the money spent on improvements !!! Bedrooms We booked premier, I dread to think what the cheaper rooms are like but this was small, furniture had to be 40+ years old but surprisingly the beds were extremely comfortable Food Premier dining still had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Alison 1956 Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to read you comments and I am sorry we did not meet with your expectations. We serve 600+ people for breakfast and dinner, and I was surprised to hear that you thought food had been left for long periods. We always ensure fresh, hot food is available. More

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was nice except for the bathroom. The floor needs cleaning along with the sink, toilet and jacuzzi. Had to wear slippers all the time and don't send someone at 10 to come and clean the bathroom.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear 16styles72 Thank you for your review. We are sorry we did not meet with your expectations. We are shocked to hear about the bathroom, our rooms are checked regularly before any customers check in to them. I am pleased we were able to resolve the issue after you had reported it to us. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough

747 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (739)
Viewed
Room/suite (192)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (151)
Viewed
Bathroom (59)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (27)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from room (47)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (239)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Scarborough with
any amenities