We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

| St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Hotel amenities
Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Write a Review

3,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    792
    774
    574
    1,376
See reviews for
700
1,841
89
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,422)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (3848)
  • Mar-May only
    (936)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1138)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (917)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (857)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My friend and I stayed at the Grand Hotel for two nights and we were told that we had been put in a 'Premier' room - well if that was Premier I would hate to see the basic room! It was a small twin bedded room with no easy chair or coffee table and very shabby furnishings, ripped shade on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hotel is in a fabulous location and has bags of character. Thats about as far as it goes!!! No Parking!! So make sure you have budgeted £10 a day for parking. Badly managed and is short staffed. You have to que for everything.. Even Check In !! and if you leave your key while you go out then its a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was more than happy with the room we were given. A queen size four poster room with a fantastic view of the sea and whole of Scarborough. The only constructive criticism I have about the room is maybe would be great with a safe and a fridge in the room. Also a chair for the balcony to sit out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First impressions of this hotel externally were excellent, on entering the hotel things went down hill rapidly. There were queues of people waiting to check in and as many wanting to change rooms. We were given the key to our room 39 which we paid extra for, an upgrade to a premium room. My god I havnt seen rooms like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we stayed here for a relaxing week-end and that's what we had the hotel staff were very good explained every-thing for us i.e places to visit pubs to go to and the breakfast next morning was really good I would be going back again soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hyde
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have just returned from an overnight stay at The Grand via National Holidays to see Ken Dodd at Bridlington. At first we were very disappointed by the room we were allocated on the 6th floor (Room 603). It was very difficult to find and when we did eventually find it we were shocked at how small and cramped it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and i come to scarborough for a day or two every year, we have family there and we love the place. We've always wanted to stay at the grand, it's the hotel that stand out when walking along the sea front, and as it's name suggests, very grand looking. Unfortunately we were disappointed when we got to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Was here few years back and food was a lot better. It's been a bit repeatative. Meatballs Friday same Sunday , fish Saturday fish Sunday . Fish cakes Friday and Sunday . Boiled pots and roast every day . Spong custard every day and sames cake everyday . Needs a lot of things doing up in the hotel . Lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Loretta B Thank you for your review. We do however disagree with most of your post, as our menus are designed to be a rolling basis over the week so it does change. Whilst some items may repeat we do offer a large selection of dishes on our menu each and every day. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a two night stay as a present from our son. The hotel must have been glorious in its heyday but that is long past and now is in sore need of refurbishment. However our room was clean and comfortable. The food at breakfast and dinner was plentiful but poor in standard but given the price it is unfair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Linda3141 Thank you for your review. Since buying the hotel Britannia Hotels have spent million of pounds on the old lady to restore many of the fine Victorian features. This is something that we continue to do today with our rolling program of works to refresh many of the areas within the hotel. We are sorry that our food... More 

Uk N Lincs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Terrible experience room ok the rest of the hotel dated dirty and needs alot of TLC Booked Bed and Breakfast food was awful the restraunt looked dirty and food serving area not clean guests complained about dirty plates My advice is keep away Will not return

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear CONDUCTORH Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that we never met with your expectations for your stay with us. We appreciate all feedback from our customers, both good and bad and we do review this during our regular management meetings within the hotel to ensure we are providing the best possible experience for our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

890 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (840)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (166)
Viewed
Room/suite (240)
Viewed
Bathroom (67)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
View from room (53)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (261)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question