We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 Scarborough hotels

Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough to your Saves list
Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
33%
Ranked #27 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
Write a Review

2,948 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    615
    579
    434
    1,064
See reviews for
525
1421
68
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,041)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for one night. A beautiful hotel exterior and certainly was "Grand" in its day but unfortunately is quite run down now and a bit dated and could do with some tlc which I think is slowly being done but being such a large hotel this is not going to happen overnight, not to mention the financial costs.. Despite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. More

Stoke-on-Trent
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Very poor, but as I have come to expect from a Britannia hotel. I don't know why I have stayed in 3 now the first we're so awful. The hotel is old and dirty and ready to fall to pieces. Our room was infested with wood louse, door didn't open properly, holes in walls shabbily filled with filler but not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel. I would encourage you to contact us direct so we can resolve your feedback as we cannot identify which hotel room you stayed in so we can resolve this. We do hope to welcome you back in... More

Barnet, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I am very disappointed after staying at this well located hotel. I requested a sea view room for my husband's 30th birthday only to be given a room three floors below ground with no window. The shower was blocked and leaked everywhere and the bed was barely bigger than a single. We were kept awake both nights by noisy students... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. More

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked 3 double rooms for 2 nights last weekend, we got 2 rooms on the 6th floor which were ok and 1 room on the 3rd floor which was a total disgrace, damp patches in the bathroom with wallpaper coming off, no grout in the tiles in the shower, the overflow pipe from the toilet going into the shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel. We have contacted you directly in relation to your recent stay to resolve your feedback. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Mouldy bathroom, smelly and noisy room, qeue for reception for over 45mins, dirty crockery and ripped bed linen. Its not a hotel to go if you want to feel welcome or value for money. I have complained to the hotel with no response at all. Horrible.... I do have photos I need to upload...yuk

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel. We aim to respond to all customer feedback within 28 days or less, please do contact us direct if you have had no response so we can resolve your feedback. We do hope to welcome you back... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stay at the Grand in Scarborough at least once per month, and just returned from another nice few days away. Great to see the sunshine out in Scarborough, hotel was busy and loads of activity going on - as we understand new rooms are currently getting built (looking forward to trying them). Our rooms are always clean and fresh -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your honest and kind comments during your recent visit to us. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. Please contact us direct to ensure we are able to reserve one of new South Wing Rooms. More

sheffield
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The good bits first the staff are friendly and helpful and the views are fantastic.Its also in a great location near to the town and sea front oh and I could take the dog. From walking in the reception was very busy and we had to queue for a long time to get our room. Parking was not clear and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel. We are currently approaching the end of our bedroom and restaurant extension, the carpets will be shortly laid, we apologise for any inconvenience caused during this time. We do hope to welcome you back in the near... More

Hull, East Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Enjoyed the stay! Room was lovely and big and clean! Stayed in room 114 which had a lovely sea view. Stayed Breakfast & Dinner which for the price (£88 for 3 adults) couldn't complain. Would return if the room we get is of the same standard. Nice grand staircase!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind comments during your recent visit to us. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is a wonderful Victorian building, built in Scarborough's heyday. The staircase and lobby are imposing, but the room we had was tired & could do with a revamp. The TV was out of the ark, there was no hairdryer & no wifi in the rooms. We had a glimpse of the sea, but were above the entertainment room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind comments during your recent visit to us. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future. More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we booked in the Grand for my mother's 80th birthday as she had so many happy memories of the hotel with my late father. Sadly the hotel is run down and Brittania are obviously struggling to keep what must be a costly old building ticking over - there was no excuse for the pile of carpets stacked against what was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your comments during your recent visit to us, we will use your feedback to improve our hotel. I was sorry to read of your experience please do feel free to contact us direct at the hotel so we can resolve your feedback as this is not the experience we aim to deliver at our... More

Been to Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.