We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough

| St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Hotel amenities
Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Write a Review

3,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    808
    794
    583
    1,404
See reviews for
712
1,893
90
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,457)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (3931)
  • Mar-May only
    (1020)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1138)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (917)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (856)
All months
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for a night booked a superior room which was shabby dated and dusty! The bed was at least clean, but the decor very shabby the French windows were filthy and ill fitting, they led to s balcony which was full of rubbish and cigarette ends! The management had obviously made an effort some areas having been refurbished but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The best I have been to in a long time , and the buffet breakfast is superb, so much choice and very good quality for the price ... I would recommend a visit to any passing though scarbourgh..I will use this place again , many thanks ..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Been to a Brittania hotel before and they are letting them diminish. The room we were allocated was ok for the evening, beautiful view. Staffing were very friendly and they really made the short stay. We had breakfast in the hotel and this was ok but nothing great. This could be a fantastic hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a groupon deal for this wonderful hotel. We expected the worst as we did read some horrific reviews. We had a great room a great service and some very good food. All for £49. This hotel is very very grand indeed. It does have signs of wear and tear, but so do I. Just the view of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Boski007 Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you ignored some of the reviews on here, we see thousands of customers each year and its just a shame that the majority only post negative reviews, unlike you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for husbands birthday. What a sheer disappointment. Hotel was shabby. Had to upgrade as soon as we saw our room. Breakfast was terrible and the restaurant was filthy. Never again. Completely ruined our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear bunnies1428 Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations during your stay with us. We do hope you spoke to one of our team whilst you were staying. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We booked a standard double room for one night on-line & paid £65. Our check in was OK & the young girl was really pleasant. The first thing we noticed on route to the room was the smell of cigarettes in the corridor. There was also an ashtray in our room? Thought everywhere was non-smoking these days! The fire alarm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear MrsJD36 Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations during your stay with us. We have passed all your feedback direct to the relevant teams to address for further review, this is not the standards we have in place and will be addressed. We are glad to read apart... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

stayed here for two nights clean room but think we had a three quarter bed which wasn't good , needs updating badley breakfast was just ok but all in all was'nt too bad for what we paid, wouldn't go back there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear sanmegs Thank you for your review. We continue with our rolling works of improvement across the hotel and we do hope if you stay again you will see we do take our customers feedback on board. More 

Spalding, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was a recent deal through Groupon, including a bottle of wine and dinner, bed & breakfast. On arrival which was 11am, we asked if we could drop off our bag as check in was 3pm. The receptionist (so helpful) said it is all set up, I can check you in now! That was a first for us. She was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear lynnc185 Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you that you had an amazing holiday experience with us and you were able to stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team we do our upmost to provide a seamless service every time. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the... More 

Chorley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were very disapointed with the standard of the hotel and particularly our room when we stayed on the 13th & 14th of April.The whole hotel is shabby and tired and in desperate need of refurbishment. We were allocated room 229 which turned out to be of a very poor standard. There was a hole in the wall, filthy net... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Robin P Thank you for your review We have addressed all the points which you have raised and corrective action has taken place, we apologise not everything was right on arrival, this should not have happened. We are saddened you will not be returning so we can show you a true holiday experience. More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have a couple of gripes about my stay, for example I would have preferred more pillows. Having said that, the place was cheap, clean, breakfast was filling, the location is spot on and the staff were all lovely. What's not to like?

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand724, Manager at Britannia Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Katherine G Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you ignored some of the reviews on here, we see thousands of customers each year and its just a shame that the majority only post negative reviews, unlike you. In future don't hesitate to ask our team if you would another pillow, they are available... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

910 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (860)
Viewed
Room/suite (244)
Viewed
View from room (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (71)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (167)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (24)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (271)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question