We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Derwent House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
6 Rutlands Terrace | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Derwent House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Me and my partner have just stayed for 2 nights for New Year. We booked a large double with sea view. The view was absoutely amazing. Room suited our needs. Great night sleep. Lovely breakfast. Many thanks

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

We booked quite late on and got a 10% discount through hotels.com so at less than £38 for two adults for bed and breakfast it represented good value for money. The room (2) had a kettle and plenty of supplies for making tea and coffee. There was a hairdryer in the room as well as a flat screen TV. The... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank PawHouseBoy
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

Booked on a Christmas shopper offer we had seen online when we phoned we got it even cheaper .B&B is up on North side and looks right over sweep of bay and nice walk down to beach . Got parked right outside and it was free with the permit we were given . Room was clean with all we needed... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sam E
Newcastle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

Feel compelled to support this Hotel after some recent, undeserved, reviews. Myself and 4 friends stay here every June for 3 nights and re-book for the following year on the morning we leave, that's how excellent and consistently good the service is at this Hotel, Carol and Keith are great hosts and nothing is too much trouble. I had a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Rockeradoo
thirsk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2015

Well ,well ,well what are all these negative comments I have just be reading. We have just got back from another great week in which Keith and Carol were great hosts. The hotel is situated in a fantastic location for exploring and the views across the bay are fantastic, the breakfast is one if not the best I have ever... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank poppycat30
Rotherham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

We visited with 4 other family for a weekend in Scarborough , although the views where very good as promised the hotel is best described as very tired, the rooms are disappointing with furniture that has seen better days, the bedding was clean but faded badly from frequent use. Our room and bathroom was a decent size but our family... More 

Helpful?
Thank Glynn T
ScarboroughJimmy, Owner at Derwent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We had numerous guests who complained about your behaviour within the guest house (not HOTEL as you described us). The loud voices shouting from room to room and the smell of smoke. We gave you the benefit of the doubt but now with hinsight we should have dealt with the situation earlier. When your wife... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile

This B&B has one of the best locations in Scarborough, overlooking the stunning North Bay and it's central to so many things inc the town centre, Castle, Sea Life Centre etc. Keith & Carol run a clean, cosy and welcoming B&B that makes your stay a great one. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they do their upmost... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank CBrierleyBanga
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2015 via mobile

Booked this bed and breakfast but unfortunately due to illness could not go so rang and gave a weeks notice and apologised and said would it be possible to cancel and get the deposit back she assured me it was not a problem and she would refund my deposit unfortunately after numerous phone calls I have still not received my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Janegin
ScarboroughJimmy, Owner at Derwent House Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to clarify that our cancellation policy is , that if a room is cancelled with more than 48 hours notice the deposit that has been taken will be refunded back automatically. However as you never actually booked with us this was never going to happen! If we are not within our Guest House we have the phone... More 

Ilkeston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015 via mobile

Booked derwent house and paid deposit as required but unfortunetly an illness made the visit impossible.we rang and gave a weeks notice that we could not make it and was assured that our deposit would be returned however after numerous phone calls (all of which have gone unanswered) and left messages we have still recieved no contact or re- embursment... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
ScarboroughJimmy, Owner at Derwent House Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to clarify that our cancellation policy is , that if a room is cancelled with more than 48 hours notice the deposit that has been taken will be refunded back automatically. However as you never actually booked with us this was never going to happen! If we are not within our Guest House we have the phone... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

We found this b&b on internet and thought the prices were good. We decided to book over the phone and got it even cheaper. Amazing value. We had a sea view room that had everything you could expect. It was very clean and we found it really cosy. The view was stunning and the location was perfect for us. Only... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Darren W
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#58 of 186 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#16 of 186 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Phoenix Guest House
The Phoenix Guest House
#52 of 186 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#2 of 186 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#12 of 186 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stuart House Hotel
Stuart House Hotel
#28 of 186 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay