We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 183 Scarborough B&Bs / inns

Derwent House Hotel

3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   6 Rutlands Terrace | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England
Hotel amenities
Derwent House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Derwent House Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #60 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
mikescott1974 Scarborough
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    19
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
59
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (132)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Scarborough
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We was getting married so we booked my family into the Derwent House. It is a family run hotel, the staff/owners are very friendly and always willing to help. I really liked the idea of the honesty bar as you enter. The lounge had just been decorated and all the rooms where modern, very clean and just like the photos... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights, and within 30 seconds of walking into the room we were tempted to just walk back out and leave. It was nothing like we expected, and looked nothing like the pictures that were advertised on the website when we booked. The decor was old and tired, the en-suite (if you could call it that)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a great 4 night break with family over new year. We choose here because it was good location for family to get to from Scotland and us from Sheffield . Rooms were really warm and cosy and had all we needed. Breakfast was filling and really tasty. Owners so helpful in where to go and what's on. Definitely be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
North West England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

We decided to do a spot of christmas shopping and took advantage of a great offer at this lovely b&b. We had a one night break. We picked one of the smaller doubles and found it to be cosy nicely decorated and spotlessy clean. The owner was really helpfull with suggestions on where to eat. Breakfast was filling and tastey.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

We stayed here for one night on a weekend trip to Scarborough. It was a really nice hotel. The staff are really friendly and rooms wells equipped. Will definitely be staying here next time we are in Scarborough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

just returned from a short break in Scarborough with the wife at this hotel. We met the owners at check in who were very welcoming and made you feel at home, we had a sea view room at the front and was decorated in a tasteful colour and the furniture matched the colour scheme and the shower room was of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We have recently stayed here for 1 night as a little break and was a little worried after readin some reviews, however on arrival we soon put those worries behind us and started wondering why people would say such things as it was friendly and welcoming and the owners were both very helpful from check-in to check-out. We spent the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Having stayed here before I came back for a long weekend at the end of Sept. I was not disappointed in coming back! The Resident's Lounge had been decorated and was inviting and bright. They have free WiFi which was a great bonus! I highly recommend a visit as their breakfast is fab, the rooms are clean and comfy and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

We arrived and were given keys to room 1,on entry the first thing we noticed was the grubby carpet heavily stained and not a good first impression.The room was ok, dated cramped and basic,the shower mat had bleach spills all over it and there was a plastic piece of the shower base that we tripped over several times when using... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScarboroughJimmy, Owner at Derwent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I would however like to address the comments that you have made. You booked your room , (room 1) on line through our own website and took advantage of an offer that discounted the room you had. As you book the room you quite clearly see pictures showing the room and the decor, so to... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Derwent, we was greeted , took to our room which was spotless and cosy, they had a honesty bar which I thought was a great touch. The breakfast was fantastic , served with a smile and greeting, we was also issued with a parking pass , I would recommend this B&B . Just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Derwent House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Hotel

Address: 6 Rutlands Terrace | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derwent House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Derwent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay