We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 182 Scarborough B&Bs / inns

Derwent House Hotel

3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   6 Rutlands Terrace | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England
Hotel amenities
Derwent House Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Derwent House Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #60 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
cookie298 Wakefield, United Kingdom
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    19
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
58
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (128)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (32)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for one night on a weekend trip to Scarborough. It was a really nice hotel. The staff are really friendly and rooms wells equipped. Will definitely be staying here next time we are in Scarborough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

just returned from a short break in Scarborough with the wife at this hotel. We met the owners at check in who were very welcoming and made you feel at home, we had a sea view room at the front and was decorated in a tasteful colour and the furniture matched the colour scheme and the shower room was of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have recently stayed here for 1 night as a little break and was a little worried after readin some reviews, however on arrival we soon put those worries behind us and started wondering why people would say such things as it was friendly and welcoming and the owners were both very helpful from check-in to check-out. We spent the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having stayed here before I came back for a long weekend at the end of Sept. I was not disappointed in coming back! The Resident's Lounge had been decorated and was inviting and bright. They have free WiFi which was a great bonus! I highly recommend a visit as their breakfast is fab, the rooms are clean and comfy and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived and were given keys to room 1,on entry the first thing we noticed was the grubby carpet heavily stained and not a good first impression.The room was ok, dated cramped and basic,the shower mat had bleach spills all over it and there was a plastic piece of the shower base that we tripped over several times when using... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ScarboroughJimmy, Owner at Derwent House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I would however like to address the comments that you have made. You booked your room , (room 1) on line through our own website and took advantage of an offer that discounted the room you had. As you book the room you quite clearly see pictures showing the room and the decor, so to... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Derwent, we was greeted , took to our room which was spotless and cosy, they had a honesty bar which I thought was a great touch. The breakfast was fantastic , served with a smile and greeting, we was also issued with a parking pass , I would recommend this B&B . Just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We have stayed here before but wanted to return with our daughter. We had room 11 a large family room at the top of the hotel. Great view and amazing room, loads of space for a toddler to explore. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and served with a smile. Everyone made a real fuss if our little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

My son and I were greeted with a smile and we felt right at home. We loved our room as there was plenty of space and it was very clean with a sea view. We liked the idea of the honesty bar as there were drinks, water and snacks available 24 hours. The breakfast was one of the best that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

I would recommend derwent house! Myself my boyfriend and my 5 year old son went to Scarborough for a long weekend in July we were looking for something not too expensive and found a good deal on booking.com. We arrived early and the lovely lady at reception told us out room was ready for us even though we were a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Stayed for my army reunion in Scarborough. Hotel is located in a perfect spot. The owners are so friendly and the kids are great. This is a proper family run business. Rooms are well maintained and free WiFi is a good touch. Breakfast was wonderful and sets you up for the day. Service with a smile.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Derwent House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Hotel

Address: 6 Rutlands Terrace | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Derwent House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Derwent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay