We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 Scarborough hotels

The Regency Central Hotel

1-3 The Crescent, Scarborough YO11 2PW, England (Formerly Beiderbecke's Hotel)
Hotel amenities
The Regency Central Hotel
Ranked #16 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    66
    19
    12
    12
See reviews for
30
100
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very friendly welcoming hotel. Staff were amazing . Very very good value for money . Rooms excellent ..great choice at breakfast . The chef vead very friendly and helpful ....Thanks for everything will defiantly be visiting again

Was this review helpful? Yes
RegencyCentral, Owner at The Regency Central Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, and we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are particularly pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast - we recently reviewed our breakfast menu in response to comments on Trip Advisor and it is good to see that we seem to have succeeded. We are striving to improve... More

South Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel also known as Beiderbecke's we found to be extremely comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Didn't mind fetching Dad a different chair at breakfast just so he could sit comfortably. The food was excellent. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
RegencyCentral, General Manager at The Regency Central Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to leave a review, and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed our new menu! The whole team looks forward to welcoming you back!!! More

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I decided to book my 50th birthday party here after exploring several places in town. Based on feedback from many of my friends and family alone it is clear I made the right choice. The management and staff are very friendly and helpful. The buffet food was excellent and the rooms way beyond my expectations. I would not hesitate to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RegencyCentral, General Manager at The Regency Central Hotel, responded to this review

50 is a pretty important Birthday so the whole team is delighted that you and your guests had such a good time! Thank you for holding your celebrations here at the Regency Central and we hope to see you all again soon. Your 60th Birthday is already in the diary!!! More

Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights last week and had a fantastic time. The staff were so friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. We enjoyed drinks in both bars (the lounge bar and the cocktail bar) the cocktails are great! We thought we would eat out around Scarborough but after eating in the hotel the first night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RegencyCentral, General Manager at The Regency Central Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for the kind remarks, and we're really pleased that you enjoyed our new Yorkshire menu!! We hope to be able to welcome you back in the very near future! More

Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Last year we stayed in another local hotel. Walking past Beiderbecke's one afternoon we checked out the separate restaurant, liked what we saw, particularly since they advertised a jazz trio would be playing, so booked an evening meal on the spot. We were not disappointed and had a thoroughly good time. We spoke to another couple in the restaurant who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Beiderbeckes, General Manager at The Regency Central Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to leave such an exhaustive and detailed review! What a pity that with the exception of the heating issue, you did not think to raise any of these issues with us when you were here,particularly since from your own review, it is clear that the one issue you did raise was resolved immediately. You... More

staffordshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

we didn't not stop at this hotel but called on a Sunday evening for a meal. We were welcomed and decided to have the Roast meal 3 courses £15-99. my husband had soup and I had homemade salmon and crab fish cake with rocket salad. This was really tasty and well made. The Roast beef was very tender and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beiderbeckes, General Manager at The Regency Central Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal. Why not watch our Facebook page so that you get advance warning of our exiting new menus out very soon! More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I recently stayed here on business and was disappointed by the professionalism of the reception staff. I was put in an uncomfortable situation at the bar area over an increase in my room rate that hadn't been mentioned at the time of booking. I didn't think it was appropriate to discuss it in the bar with other guests present. Also,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Beiderbeckes, General Manager at The Regency Central Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that our staff were not to your liking. Here we like to provide excellent levels of training to all of our members of staff to ensure that they follow company policy exactly. I have got to say that I think our Front of House manager who you were dealing with acted very respectably when intimidated by yourselves... More

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I enjoyed four nights here last week. The room was well appointed, comfortable and spotless. Breakfasts and dinners were good, and the staff, with one exception, were welcoming, helpful and efficient.. I would recommend Beiderbecke's to anyone. Gengh. Sal

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beiderbeckes, General Manager at The Regency Central Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the trouble to post a review. You comments and suggestions are noted, and I am glad to be able to say that most if not all of them will have been addressed by our current round of refurbishment. We look forward to welcoming you back to Scarborough in the neat future. More

St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and I spent five nights at Beiderbecke's Hotel, arriving on 22 November. We had spent a weekend there just over two years ago and had often talked about returning for a longer break. We were happy to be back and were not disappointed. We stayed in room 215, a junior suite with three large windows overlooking The Crescent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Beiderbeckes, General Manager at The Regency Central Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to leave a review - it is always appreciated! I'm very pleased that you like the house wine - we put a lot of effort into it and we change it regularly depending upon what is available and really good. However, the current house selection is exceptionally good and I think we will be... More

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were here with a group of 28 for an annual meeting and dinner. Kerry and Marie organised the meeting room for us and then we had dinner in the lovely restaurant. The rooms were very good, comfortable bed and en suite bathroom. The basin in our room was cracked and I am sure this will be replaced as it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beiderbeckes, General Manager at The Regency Central Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments. A new sink is on order and hopefully it will arrive soon so we can replace the cracked one. We look forward to seeing you back at Beiderbecke's very soon!!! More

Been to The Regency Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Central Hotel

Also Known As:
Beiderbeckes Hotel Scarborough
Address: 1-3 The Crescent, Scarborough YO11 2PW, England (Formerly Beiderbecke's Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regency Central is a small and friendly hotel in Scarborough Town centre, situated on a beautiful Regency Crescent, just 2 minutes walk from the train station and the famous Stephen Joseph Theatre. Why not come and stay in one of our beautiful suites with a balcony and sea views, or join us for some of our top quality, home-made Yorkshire food. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Regency Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Regency Central Hotel to your Saves list