We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 28 Scarborough hotels

Royal Hotel Scarborough

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Royal Hotel Scarborough to your Saves list
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
40%
Ranked #24 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
jade b Huddersfeild
Write a Review

1,121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    324
    256
    203
    221
See reviews for
225
568
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfeild
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed one night in a family suite. Ok. Nothing special. Reeked of fresh paint but I suppose they have to do it some time. Coffee at breakfast, lousy. As was the do-it-yourself toaster that didn't toast. Had to pay for a swim. That's new. Never used to. Reception staff friendly & helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I really don't know where to start, we arrived a bit early and didn't expect that our room was gonna be ready we just wanted to leave our bags somewhere, the girl in the reception was really unfriendly and didnt't even give me a chance to ask about our bags before she told me 'check in is at 2'!! You... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bathgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We decided to drive down from Scotland to Scarborough, we went onto Booking.com and booked the Royal Hotel we arrived and walked into the reception area which looked very dated and dull, the receptionist were very friendly and helpful, we paid for 1 night (thank god) and handed a £50 note which they processed to tell us they don't accept... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
airdrie
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

booked hotel on17 april 2014 the smell the noise no hot water for a shower 1 towel for 2 people room was very poor old fashion tv dident have sound heard every noise in hotel all nite i triped over loose carpets all over hotel squeeky floor boards i would never go back or recommend this hotel to my worst... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We decided to take a trip to the East coast to show our daughter an old fashioned seaside town,and spent one night at The Royal.we got a really good deal on Booking.com and were very pleased to find on arraival that we had been given The Churchill suite at the front of the hotel,above the front door with a seaview.The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Kind regards, Simon Powell More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Bedrooms were fine and spacious with a lovely big bathroom. The pool area was disappointing, very small, 4/5 unsupervised children, and it was tiny. We ate in the restaurant £17.50 for a 3 course meal, the lasagne starter was dry, the salmon over cooked, and chicken overlooked. The almond tart was hard around the edges, a total disappointment, but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve... More

Alston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We booked a short family break at this Victorian seaside hotel through Late Rooms. A very good price for the 4 of us in the easter holidays. On arrival we find we had been allocated a suite, above the front door with sea view. More than enough room for us and a grand feel. The staff we encountered were in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve... More

Guisborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Positives: Bedroom itself was fine, clean and tidy with lots of space and a nice bathroom. Negatives: where to start... Upon arrival I wasn't greeted despite there being 3 members of staff at the reception desk and only one person in front of me at the desk. I had a young toddler with me and noone offered to help me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly... More

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here this week end and the reception looked quite grand but the room was so very noisy you could here everyone outside, you could here the person next door snoring and even here the people upstairs talking. The breakfast was extremely poor with what I'm sure was 'powdered eggs' (the scrambled eggs were literally powdery!) The bacon etc.. was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed overnight for the second time in a year. Good greeting on arrival. Grand old hotel. Decorations tired and the wardrobe in the room was held up by a block of wood. the bottom of the door had a huge gap in so had to put a rolled up towel there to stop people having chance to see in. Floors... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that we haven’t met your expectations of the service we offer here at the hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Perhaps if you had given us the opportunity to discuss your comments and observations at the time, we could have had the opportunity to address them. We can only improve... More

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough
Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.