We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mountview

Certificate of Excellence
32 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QP, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Mountview
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Coldingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

Clean room with great shower room,bed comfortable. Breakfast was great I am a coeliac and was catered with no problems . Warm welcome from Michelle and Graham. Easy walking into Scarborough.Free parking in street at hotel. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank 871bill
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2015

Comfortable room. Very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Good location and base for Scarborough cricket ground and visiting surrounding countryside. Clearly revisited by regulars and not all back just for the cricket.

Helpful?
Thank Paul R
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

Room was clean but very small and sink was in room not in en suite. TV far too small for room or should be moved to wall at end of the bed. Room not very warm as heating only came on and off you had no control over heating. We only seen the B & B owner when we arrived... More 

Helpful?
Thank jojos994
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. To clarify some of your comments, guests who book online are asked to pay on arrival once they have looked at their room and are happy with it . This is because although you are asked for your card details by the... More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

The hosts could not have been more charming and welcoming on my arrival. The breakfast was superb especially the scrambled eggs !! It is wonderfully located in a quiet street but very accessible to scarboroughs delights. I thoroughly reccommend this guets house.

Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this review

Hi Tracy Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Graham and Michele More 

Halifax
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

Booked in at The Mountview as a last minute 4 day trip before the close of the Summer school holidays. Located in a nice, quiet area and a 10 minute walk into the town centre. We found it clean and welcoming with a fabulous breakfast which caters for every need. Nothing too much trouble for Graham and Michele. Would highly... More 

Helpful?
Thank blackjet
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

Great hosts, very welcoming and friendly. Room was comfortable and very clean, breakfast was wonderful. As we were using it as a base for a few days away, the location was ideal. We would be more than happy to go back if we are in the area again.

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

We booked this hotel on the spur of a moment and couldn't have been more satisfied. The hotel is in a good area not noisy, except for seagulls, in easy reach of all facilities beach etc. Michelle, the host, was very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was excellent. The rooms are clean, bed comfy and good shower. If we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johnulyatt
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this review

Thanks John for your kind review, its means a lot to us that you had such a nice time, hope to see you again soon , Graham & Michele. More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

Booked after reading reviews but very disappointed. Room very small and dated, clean but cobwebs above the bed and hairs in the shower. No wardrobe in the room, sink was in the room rather than in the ensuite which isn't great and wasn't stated when booking. Parking is all on road and although its free its busy and we had... More 

Helpful?
Thank kjf82
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this review

We are surprised you are now stating that you did not enjoy your stay as nothing was mentioned when you were asked if everything had been alright for you. The room you stayed in is one of our most popular with first time stays and our regulars. Our hotel is kept within the Victorian theme so perhaps that’s why you... More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015

I enjoyed my stay at the Mountview on a lovely sunny August weekend. Lovely small and friendly hotel with a very welcoming feel . It is located in a quiet street with plenty of on street free parking yet is a very short walk to the seafront and the Spa ,where i was attending an event during the weekend. Breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank suethedriver
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review. Glad you had a great weekend in Scarborough, especially for the rock and roll at the Spa. See you again in February for the Valentine Rock and Roll weekender, Graham & Michele. More 

Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

We stayed at the Mountview for the first time in August 2015. Absolutely everything about it was perfect. The location is excellent being just a short walk from the seafront. There is ample free on street parking. Graham and Michelle are the perfect hosts. The breakfast is the best you will ever have in a Bed and Breakfast and is... More 

Helpful?
Thank DEJohnson
themountview, Owner at The Mountview, responded to this review

Thanks for your fantastic review. You stayed in our newly refurbished room 2 and we are glad it and the breakfasts compared favourably with the more expensive hotels. Hope you will both be able to stay again in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.4 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#9 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 stars 2,806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#13 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#18 of 186 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#29 of 186 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 stars 485 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cordelia
The Cordelia
#16 of 186 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#10 of 186 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay