We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 180 Scarborough B&Bs / inns

St. Nicholas Lodge

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added St. Nicholas Lodge to your Saves list
St. Nicholas Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
67%
Ranked #139 of 180 Scarborough B&B and Inns
A recent review
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    12
    4
    4
    10
See reviews for
9
26
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

firstly I must say i think there maybe some confusion between the st. Nicholas lodge and saint Nicholas hotel because some of these reviews don't seem to match the guest house. we have stayed before in room no. 3 and it was very pleasant and clean with a nice shower and a bay window with a view of the sea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have to thank the St Nicholas Lodge for a lovely restful stay, in a warm clean room. The breakfast was delicious! The lady running the B&B was polite and helpful, knowing the best places to go and enjoy wonderful Scarborough. The best places to eat and drink at. The room was large and very clean with good heating and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
judyscarborough, Manager at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this review

You may be trying to write about a large hotel next door to us as you did not stay with us. We where closed while we where on holiday WE ARE OPENING AGAIN ON THE 14th of MARCH please move your comments to the correct site thank you More

Halifax, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My father and I had recently booked a two night stretch at this B&B. Upon arrival to this property, my first impression is that it was tired and needed some extensive renovation and tidying. The age of the building and clashing decor caused a sense of overall uncleanliness, but this could be forgiven. While the overall quality of the property... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this review

so sorry you were not happy in our grade 2 listed property thank you More

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Please anyone thinking of staying here sleep on the beach you will get better service and it will be cleaner The toilets had s**t on the pot and on the carpet, mould growing on curtains in shower room and on the pipes, the staff about has helpful well i had better not say in case i get a letter from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this review

Please can you remove your review as you did not stay at the st nicholas lodge as we do not have shower curtains only showers with doors and we do not have any baths .By the way what number room did you stay in that should settle the mater we only have 11 rooms More

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just come home from a weeks holiday at the St Nicholas Lodge, everything was spot on. The room was very clean and comfortable. The whole place was very welcoming. Your own keys to come and go as you pleased. And Dorothy the owner, the only thing to say, what a loverly person, so friendly, very helpful no matter what you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
judyscarborough, Owner at St. Nicholas Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much hope to see you again More

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

spent two nights at dorothys place what an absolutely lovely lady.usually visit scarborough about the same time each year for a golf tournament and have stayed in several hotels i definately wont be staying anywhere else in the future.It was excellent value for money we have stayed in more expensive places that were terrible. Excellent breakfast and you could eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for one night in august, very clean and nice room. Very friendly owner and in a good location. Felt free to come and go as we wanted. Very good for the price we paid and would definatly stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here just for a night and found it a pleasant place to stay for £50! The rooms are a little dated and could do with a refurb but for the price you can't really complain. The room was a little small and the TV was placed on the side of the wall, would benefit from being in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

stayed before in a different room which was o.k but room 10 was not good at all.decoration very tatty bathroom cramped with only a shower and a tiny sink whole room in desperate need of refurbishment and no view at all

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have just stayed at the St Nicholas Lodge Hotel in Scarborough. This is the second time I have stopped and have thoroughly enjoyed it. The owner whose name is Dorothy is lovely woman who goes out of her way to make her guests feel special and wanted and there is nothing she won't do to make your stay enjoyable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to St. Nicholas Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Nicholas Lodge

Also Known As:
St. Nicholas Hotel Scarborough
St. Nicholas Hotel
Address: 15 St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Nicholas Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your St. Nicholas Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Nicholas Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.