We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 182 Scarborough B&Bs / inns

The Chessington

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Crescent, Scarborough YO11 2PP, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Chessington to your Saves list
The Chessington
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
83%
Ranked #104 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
catfriendly_2 Derbyshire
  • Overview
  • Reviews (30)
  • Photos (1)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
6
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel which is a B&B many times before. Kate & Adrian who run this are excellent hosts. It is ideally placed for all amenities ie shops, beach, walks and railway station. The view from the front over the park is beautiful. Parking is round the crescent with permit parking obtained from the hotel. This hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed with 2 friends for 1 night. We had a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the park. It was a nice size and the bathroom was clean and tidy. The beds were a bit rickety but comfy and the decor was a little dated. The staff were all very friendly and very helpful. Breakfast had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scunthorpe
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not brand new but with traditional charm. Staff I met were all very friendly and checking in took only seconds. Room was small but not cramped. Breakfast was substantial, in scope and quantity. I think you would struggle to find anything to compare for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights and had a front room at the top. The hotel was obviously a bit classy in its time but is now showing its age. It was hot but there was no ventilation through the staircase or passages which left it all having a musty feel. Parking was fine with the £3 tickets. The location is the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As many reviews have said, it's a traditional style of hotel, quite dated, but charming. The female owner was very friendly. Lovely location on the crescent. We got a parking permit that covered us for more than 12 hours but we were lucky to get a space. Our room however was quite disappointing. We had a family room at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KateChessington, Owner at The Chessington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I would like to take the opportunity of responding to some of your points, Firstly, I cannot stress enough how we take any negative comment seriously, and any problem which occurs during a guests visit, we would deal with at the time of there stay.... More

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

just returned from the chessington hotel stayed for one night, I would recommend this hotel we stayed in room 2 and had everything we needed coffee, tea, hot chocolate packet of cookies the room was clean and we had garden views, the landlady is very friendly we bought a parking ticket from her for £3 we arrived 12.30ish and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We have stayed here before and wanted to book a front room for 4 nights. The man on the phone was very off in his attitude and wouldn't let me reserve a room at the front. His attitude was "Listen lovey, I'm not prepared to guarantee you a front room if you book as I might get someone who wants... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KateChessington, Manager at The Chessington, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, despite not staying with us, I am sorry you didn't get the response from us you wanted, but the reason we have a policy of guests not being able to book a particular room, is because we only have 4 rooms overlooking the front and if we promise a certain... More

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is an attractive hotel set in a crescent of similar buildings overlooking a small park. It is conveniently placed for the railway station and shopping area and not too far from the beach. My room was pleasantly old fashioned but with all the facilities you need for a couple of overnight stays. The excellent breakfast was freshly cooked to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Stayed here March 14-16th weather was not bad, stayed in room 1 which was a little small, but clean and cosy, had everything in it for a weekend stay, shampoo/shower/soap etc., tea/coffee etc., only do B & B but that was very good plenty of choice, fresh cooked to order! Unfortunately no lift so steps to climb, but would still... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Billingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I have been staying here for a few years now and always look forward to coming back. Everyone is really friendly and make you feel at home. The rooms are comfortable (front rooms have a breath-taking early morning view) and very clean and breakfast is always good and tasty! I look forward to my next visit (pity you are not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Chessington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Chessington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chessington

Address: The Crescent, Scarborough YO11 2PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chessington 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Chessington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Scarborough with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
20

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Chessington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer