We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 Scarborough hotels

Bay Norbreck Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bay Norbreck Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKS FROM JUST £8!!!
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Scarborough
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    97
    48
    24
    25
See reviews for
22
143
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (239)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Firstly the good points, this is a nice Hotel at almost the highest point in Scarborough, it is worth having a sea view over the North Bay in the summer season, the food was very good no complaints, the entrainment in the evening was excellent much better than other Bay Hotels, included excursions were good and interesting. The Bad points,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this hotel is in the process being refurbished just back from long weekend 10 to 13 oct weather was great prebooked parking space no problem room adequate food was pretty good and unlike previous reviews was always hot entertainment was ok and manageress went out of her way to help with everything all in all a very good weekend

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
scotlandwilfred
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i would give this hotel a o ratting the food was cold and it was sent back every day and our 7 year old god son eats more than we got for 2 of us .we got a dish with 3 veg in we measured them one night and it was one pudding spoon off potato's and the same for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to right you comments following your recent stay. I apologise for any disruption caused during the refurbishment f the Restaurant which I am please to say is now finished and looking wonderful. I will ensure the comments you have made are discussed at our next management meeting and will investigate the issues you noted... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is a little tired but the food was as usual for Shearings/Bay hotels. There is no hotel parking - you do get given a voucher to street park but can end up walking quite a distance from the hotel. No newsagents near either Otherwise not a bad weekend

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi SueK thanks for taking the time to add your review of your recent weekend. We have limited hotel parking it is true which is all bookable in advance and as you say plenty of street parking thereafter. The nearest newsagent is a 5 minute walk and we do offer to have newspapers delivered for you if you order with... More

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Me and my partner stayed and had a quiet couple of days here. The scenery was superb and the rooms of comfort. We found the night entertainment to be pleasing and most of the staff appealing and pleasant. Whom was the girl on bar with pinky purple coloured hair. Will she be still with you in the upcoming months she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Despite the inclement weather, namely the thick fog outside, we were greeted warmly at reception by Louise. Our bedroom was clean, tidy and airy. Noe from Maderia ensured this daily. He also was our efficient waiter every evening. The food was hot, varied and delicious. The entertainment was of a highest standard. Really enjoyable and catered for all tastes. Credit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Janet B what a week we had with the fog! at least it was clearer inland for the excursions. It’s lovely to read your comments about myself and my team I will make sure they all get passed on. I hope to see you again sometime hopefully you’ll have better weather. More

Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a 5 day Shearings break. We were waiting at our joining point from 7.40 am in the morning for our feeder coach which eventually arrived nearly 2 hours late! The driver just said that he had been given the incorrect route. When we did arrive at Stretton it was to be greeted by dirty looks and rude... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Janus274 you are another guest who had to put up with the fog during your stay and it’s good to see it didn’t dampen your spirits. With regards to the comments you have made about your travel I will ensure these get passed to the correct department at our head office for review. It’s lovely to... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel room looks tired ... Old TV with 6 channels (we are now in the age of free view) one window that opened. Badly in need of freshening up. Very rushed at meal times ... Wife had plate taken while still eating. Minor issues but needs addressing ...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to read you were disappointed with your break. The TV’s are in the process of being replaced with full freeview sets although as you say we still have some rooms with the old style sets. We also have a selection of bedrooms refurbished each year and have the restaurant and reception being done just next week. I hope you... More

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

I had no high expectations of this hotel.- It was an economy holiday and you get what you pay for. It has a beautiful situation high on the cliffs overlooking North Bay to the front and views of South Bay to the rear. I was on a Shearings 4 night break and it was all that I expected. My room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Barbara F and thanks for writing your review of the hotel and your break with your friends. Sorry you didn’t enjoy the food as much as you would have hoped our chef does create all his own soups from fresh and it’s nice to see you did enjoy these, we will look at our other menu items to see... More

LINCOLNSHIRE
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I wrote the following review last year in August. We returned the same time this year and again it was pretty much the same,except we looked over the North Bay this time.Our bathroom was a good size and had recently been refurbished. The room was clean and towels changed daily, We stayed for a 3 night weekend in August. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you return and thanks again for the comments you made. It’s nice you find the hotel homely, we like our guests to feel comfortable and at home when they stay with us. Maybe you won’t wait until next August and we shall see you sooner. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 92

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay