We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 Scarborough hotels

Bay Norbreck Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bay Norbreck Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£10 A NIGHT OFFER
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Scarborough
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    97
    46
    24
    24
See reviews for
21
142
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (236)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (59)
All months
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is a little tired but the food was as usual for Shearings/Bay hotels. There is no hotel parking - you do get given a voucher to street park but can end up walking quite a distance from the hotel. No newsagents near either Otherwise not a bad weekend

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Me and my partner stayed and had a quiet couple of days here. The scenery was superb and the rooms of comfort. We found the night entertainment to be pleasing and most of the staff appealing and pleasant. Whom was the girl on bar with pinky purple coloured hair. Will she be still with you in the upcoming months she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite the inclement weather, namely the thick fog outside, we were greeted warmly at reception by Louise. Our bedroom was clean, tidy and airy. Noe from Maderia ensured this daily. He also was our efficient waiter every evening. The food was hot, varied and delicious. The entertainment was of a highest standard. Really enjoyable and catered for all tastes. Credit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Janet B what a week we had with the fog! at least it was clearer inland for the excursions. It’s lovely to read your comments about myself and my team I will make sure they all get passed on. I hope to see you again sometime hopefully you’ll have better weather. More

Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a 5 day Shearings break. We were waiting at our joining point from 7.40 am in the morning for our feeder coach which eventually arrived nearly 2 hours late! The driver just said that he had been given the incorrect route. When we did arrive at Stretton it was to be greeted by dirty looks and rude... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Janus274 you are another guest who had to put up with the fog during your stay and it’s good to see it didn’t dampen your spirits. With regards to the comments you have made about your travel I will ensure these get passed to the correct department at our head office for review. It’s lovely to... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel room looks tired ... Old TV with 6 channels (we are now in the age of free view) one window that opened. Badly in need of freshening up. Very rushed at meal times ... Wife had plate taken while still eating. Minor issues but needs addressing ...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to read you were disappointed with your break. The TV’s are in the process of being replaced with full freeview sets although as you say we still have some rooms with the old style sets. We also have a selection of bedrooms refurbished each year and have the restaurant and reception being done just next week. I hope you... More

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had no high expectations of this hotel.- It was an economy holiday and you get what you pay for. It has a beautiful situation high on the cliffs overlooking North Bay to the front and views of South Bay to the rear. I was on a Shearings 4 night break and it was all that I expected. My room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Barbara F and thanks for writing your review of the hotel and your break with your friends. Sorry you didn’t enjoy the food as much as you would have hoped our chef does create all his own soups from fresh and it’s nice to see you did enjoy these, we will look at our other menu items to see... More

LINCOLNSHIRE
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wrote the following review last year in August. We returned the same time this year and again it was pretty much the same,except we looked over the North Bay this time.Our bathroom was a good size and had recently been refurbished. The room was clean and towels changed daily, We stayed for a 3 night weekend in August. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

It was lovely to see you return and thanks again for the comments you made. It’s nice you find the hotel homely, we like our guests to feel comfortable and at home when they stay with us. Maybe you won’t wait until next August and we shall see you sooner. More

Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stopped this bank holiday week - end had a great time weather was hot food good put on 5ibs very good entertainment made lots of new friends won at the bingo,Staff were all great see you soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

It’s so good to hear you had a great Bank Holiday Weekend with us, it makes a change to have some good weather as you can almost guarantee rain when you have an extra day off! The staff were so pleased to read your comments too and we all look forward to seeing you again. More

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in a bedroom that seemed like a relic from the past. Old fashioned television which only received a few channels, scruffy decor and a shower that only dribbled water and then was only just Luke warm. Breakfast is only served until 9.00 am even on Sundays so no rest there unless you wanted to forgo breakfast.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments and observations about your recent stay. You may have read in past replies we continually refurbish a selection of rooms each year replacing televisions with fully available freeview sets as we go. We are also planned to have the restaurant and reception area refurbished in a few weeks time. Our location... More

Solihull
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this place as part of a walking group for a long weekend. I had a single room, which was small but it had everything I needed; comfortable bed, plenty of storage, TV, tea and coffee and a roomy ensuite. Our package included room, breakfast and a three course dinner with coffee. The food was more than adequate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Colette and thanks for your review. Having chatted to some members of your group it was evident that a good time was had by all and you picked a really good weekend for all your walking. I do hope we can welcome you all back in the future maybe I could join you on one of your treks . More

Do you own or manage Bay Norbreck Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 92

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Bay Norbreck Hotel