We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Norbreck Hotel

Hotel website
Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Special Offer
BREAKS STARTING FROM £109
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
SHEENA M Halifax, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

284 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    57
    117
    56
    28
    26
See reviews for
24
176
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (284)
  • Mar-May only
    (87)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and my husband have just returned home after a lovely 3 day break at the norbreck , the rooms were very clean and comfortable , and the dining room and reception were very welcoming .the food was delicious with a very good selection ,and the bar and entertainment was great ,an all round, lovely break I would deffinatly recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Sheena M for your review. It is lovely to read you had such a good time with us and I will pass all you comments on to my team. I hope to be able to welcome you again. More 

Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped at this hotel over the weekend and had a great sea veiw bedroom but I think you need new beds my husband and I both came home with bad backs. The dinning room had been decorated and new tables and chairs some staff changes and maybe not for the best one was rushing round spilling food whipping your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to read you were not satisfied with your break on this occasion. I will look into the matters you have commented on and take action where needed. We are replacing beds in the hotel throughout the year and have more refurbishment planned for November. I hope this will not put you off booking again with us. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I wasnt sure what to expect from this hotel as id seen some horrible reviews but I can happily say it doesn't deserve a single one, it is quite obvious that bay hotels are doing their best to bring this hotel up to date and I have nothing but praise for them. The room looked out over the church and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Sophes1988 for the review of your break and what a great photo you have attached to it. The seating at the front of the hotel does offer a great place to relax and watch the world pass by on the North Bay of Scarborough, even if you do end up drinking a little wine! I will pass your... More 

Brierley Hill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a last minute booking (well 48hrs before) to coincide with an open air concert at Dalby Forest. I didn't know what to expect because every other hotel and B&B i'd tried were all full. We paid £95 for a double room, but the view alone from the hotel was priceless. We didn't really spend long in the room/hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Louise, what a great weekend you chose to come and visit the area. The weather was fantastic and I do hope you enjoyed the concert at Dalby Forest. I will pass you comments onto our housekeeping team with regards to the items you mentioned in your room. I look forward to welcoming you again. More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a hotel run by Shearings, and unfortunately the customers get in the way of the running of the hotel and the running of the company. I have just stayed at this 'hotel' from the 22nd to the 26th of June. I have to far to many things to complain about that you would think I was making it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. Your complaints were dealt with using the options we had available during your stay. All information was passed onto our customer care team regarding the comments you made during your stay. More 

Travelers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

My Wife and I stayed 25 - 28 May, We stayed in room 301 as we had paid extra for a sea view, unfortunately we were directly opposite the lift which was being re-installed. We understood that when booking that the lift would be out of service but were not told that our room would be affected by the loud... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for making your comments through this medium along with those made at the hotel. Following your advice to the fire service we did have an inspection by them which came back as satisfactory with no issues arising. The lift works are now complete and I can only apologise that this disrupted your stay with us. More 

llandudno
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Visited this hotel two weeks ago, apart from the lift inoperative had a great stay. I have had some poor stays with Shearings but this hotel ranks alonside the best, the sea view room was excellent kept immaculately clean by the staff, the meals were very good and adequate, the staff were all very helpful including the front counter staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks Peter for your review in particular he wonderful comments you have made about the team of staff I have working here. The hotel is situated a little way from the town centre with a good taxi service available. During Scholl holidays there is a tour bus operating in Scarborough which picks up and drops off at the foot of... More 

england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Excellent holiday at the Norbreck Hotel. The service was excellent The meals up to a great standard and the Staff could not do enough for us.We had a room overlooking the sea and it was great to see The Bay.We always like going to Bay Hotel it really caters for the more mature crowd.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. I hope you enjoy many more holidays with Bay Hotels. More 

Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

hotel needs lick of paint here and there.rooms very good ,just been up dated,very clean .Breakfast and evening meals very good,service excellent.Evening entertainment excellent.Stayed for 3 days and would have no hesitation in re- visiting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write your comments. It is nice to read all the positive comments you have made and i am happy my team of staff made such a good impression. Hopefully you will make a return visit soon. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

This is obviously a very old building but every effort is being made to keep it up to scratch.During our visit a complete new lift was being installed,This was not good for us but will be of great benefit in the future.Needs a lick of paint here and there on the staircases but the rooms and common areas were spotless.Good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The lift refurbishment is well underway and we hope to be completed and back up and running before the end of June. A new menu for the summer has recently been introduced with some great new dishes and we will shortly be progressing with the painting of the corridors. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (103)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 stars 2,119 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#13 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough
Premier Inn Scarborough
#9 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 stars 1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Back to top