We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 27 Scarborough hotels

Bay Norbreck Hotel

Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
  • Overview
  • Reviews (221)
  • Photos (64)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (94)
  • Location
  • More
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #20 of 27 hotels in Scarborough
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    92
    41
    23
    23
See reviews for
20
137
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel 21-25 July. We were self drive and booked parking..which i would highly recommend. Room was nice but hot..only tiny window to open,other was screwed shut. Food at evening meal was nothing special..nicest food was summer salad..which i had 3 times.Chole, the barstaff was lovely as was Louise, the manager. Best night was our last night,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ludlow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we recently stay at the norbreck on arrival we were attented to promptly and our rooms allocated and when we we asked about parking we were told we could purchase a voucher which was valid for all our stay at a nominal price a good start our room was clean and comfortable and a nice sea view the dining room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Mazer and thanks for your review. It’s good to see you enjoyed your stay and were able to appreciate the wonderful views we have from your room and the restaurant. I will make sure all your comments get passed onto the staff. Our entertainments team varies throughout the year as we try to offer something for everyone and Sunday... More

Poole
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the norbreck hotel Scarborough on the 21st June for 8 days with shearing a,the hotel was nice,the room was clean and comfortable the staff was very helpful and efficient,but what let the hotel down was the food served at the evening meal,the vegetables were cold and not very appetising,we found we were eating salads every night due... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review William and for the lovely comments you made about the staff and hotel in general. I am sorry you felt let down by the vegetables being served, I will investigate your comments with the Kitchen. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future. More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
98 hotel reviews
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed with my wife for a week on a Shearing's Holiday super deal. Hotel is in a super position overlooking the North Bay. Quite steep up from promenade and harbour and so could be a problem to less agile if to do much walking. Room was not large, but of sufficient size for our needs. Beds were only 2'6" and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Peter Edwards and thanks for the review. It is good to see you enjoyed your stay and that our team of contactors didn’t cause you much inconvenience during your stay. As you say, they did try their best to keep areas as clean as they could and cause as little disruption as possible. Scarborough is a lovely resort and... More

Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The main reason for going to Scarborough was to visit Castle Howard, so a cheap two night stay suited our needs. What a pleasant suprise, very comfortable room, very good evening meal and a breakfast that set you up for the day ahead. In conversation, Chef Wayne heard that I have an intolerance to green vegetables and made a point... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Tony. It’s lovely to read you enjoyed your stay. Wayne is a great chef who works hard for those with dietary needs so they can have as much choice as everyone else at meal times, as do the rest of the kitchen team. I was not aware customers had attended the restaurant dressed as you described as we do... More

Sleaford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Booked this hotel on line £99 for 3 nights 27 April.On arrival first impressions are not good. You pull up the ramp to reception and then wonder where you park to unload your cases.There are about 12 spaces and all have names on for those who have booked and paid.I pulled into one of these spaces or you block the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to read your review and am sorry that you did not find the hotel as you would have liked it. We have had a quarter of the rooms refurbished in the past 2 years with another 8 rooms booked to be completed in June this year. The age and structure of the building does limit the... More

Arnside
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel has been pleasantly refreshed in appearance since our last stay and our room was very clean and comfortable. The highlight of our stay was the entertainment provided by Daniel Defoe whose professional, personable and extremely talented performance never fails to please. His vocal quality and range of choice of material to suit a mixed audience is remarkable. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Great to see you back again Janice and thank you for writing your review. It’s good to read you noted the refurbished rooms and that our entertainment program is still as good as ever. I have one of Daniels CD’s myself and agree he has a great voice. I do look forward to seeing Chris Fields appearing, he has such... More

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The dinner the first evening was awful, but subsequent meals were fine. The room was adequate and clean, and the bathroom with shower in bath was very good. We paid extra for room with a sea view, which was expensive after seeing the size of room and window. The evening entertainment was good, and overall the break was fun and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, It’s good to see you had an enjoyable break overall. Sorry you didn’t enjoy your first meal with us and found the charge for the sea view expensive. Our entertainments team is great and they really work hard to give our guests the best time they can as do the... More

Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Went with my wife, daughter and Granddaughter on a Shearing's 4 day break. Very good journey with an excellent driver called Paul. Hotel impressive with position on the cliff by the castle. Very pleasant welcome and well informed before we left the coach. All the staff were delightful with a first rate manager. Lovely dining room with views over North... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Geoffrey G thank you for taking the time to write your review, I’m glad you enjoyed your weekend break with us. We are in the process of updating our bedrooms and have 8 more planned for later this year. It’s great to read you appreciated myself and the other staff and that you enjoyed your food and entertainment as... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

second stay at this hotel room adequate but no shower . just a plastic tap attachment. food was good staff friendly. love the location and view from the room. would stay again. great value. we were able to park in hotel car park for a small fee

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Travelhaze it’s nice to see you came back to visit we do have 2 rooms at the hotel which have yet to have showers installed and I am sorry if this detracted from the enjoyment of your break. Please mention this on booking your next visit and we can avoid putting you in one of these... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bay Norbreck Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
92

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Bay Norbreck Hotel to your Saves list