We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal York & Faulkner Hotel

#11 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AZ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

229 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    122
    72
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
41
105
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (229)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Seagulls and sound of waves breaking ensures you know you are at the seaside. Car parking a bit of a mystery and needs to be clearly stated i.e. if you want a space in our car park, move your car NOW. An excellent breakfast saw us through the rest of the day until we ate at night at the wedding.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Staffs
Level Contributor
98 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The outlaws were staying here and we had a meal with them one evening. 4 courses and coffee, choice on all courses. The meal was excellent. The prices of drinks was not extortionate. Had coffee in lounge area following the meal, you could order tea if required.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent meal with us. Thank you for your review. More 

Alresford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent 5 days at this hotel, which is situated on the Esplanade, easy walking distance into the town. A very welcoming hotel, with great staff. Food at breakfast and dinner was varied, good quality and well served. Rooms comfortable/clean but a bit dated. Would certainly recommend and visit again if in the area. Sea gulls are noisy but local council... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your time here with us and found the hotel welcoming and the staff great. Thank you for your review. More 

Hampshiere.U.K.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All Staff went out of there way to make our stay as good as possible. Good food and served on Hot Plates [ as requested ] had a room on the third floor. and found the ceiling a bit low in our room [ I am 6.3 inches tall.] visited others rooms and found them in very good order and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is very much appreciated thank you. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you visit with a coach party expect to be allocated inferior rooms, our was attic with minute unusable shower. You will also be told when you will dine and which strangers will share your tablle. No options , no choice. Restaurant staff efficient and friedlly. Reception staff sometimes curt and dismissive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review

We were sorry to read that you felt your room was inferior and that your shower was unusable. We do wish you had discussed any such fault with us at the time of your stay and allowed us to endeavour to rectify such a problem. Unfortunately, one of the only caveats for those guests travelling with a coach party, is... More 

Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel and booked 3 double rooms for ourselves plus my 2 daughters with partners. Having paid a total of almost £1700 for 3 nights half board we were nothing short of astonished upon arrival to discover basically a very slightly up market coach trip hotel with difficult and limited parking, tired décor, a 1950,s style reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review

We were sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay at the hotel and apologise that the style and standards did not meet your expectations. Our charges of £91.00 per person in July, the high season, include dinner, breakfast and afternoon tea. In our experience, rates at four star Sidmouth hotels are considerably higher than this. We... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

We went this last weekend to join friends who were already in Sidmouth. My partner and I checked in at the hotel by a really lovely lady on reception. Checkin was really quick and the first impressions were the hotel was very nice, good old fashioned English style. We went off to park the car at the rear and then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our charm. More 

Lynton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

met friends at the hotel, we had a nice room overlooking the sea there is a games room with a snooker table and different lounges one with Wi-Fi, the service was good and we were impressed with the menu and food, would recommend,

Was this review helpful? Yes
ryfadmin, Manager at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you and your friends had a relaxing time. More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

First time stay with 3 other adults, two of whom who were more elderly. Old fashioned courtesy and service from all staff, comfortable rooms nicely finished. Choice of lounges was great to enjoy afternoon tea. Inclusive package really good value for money and really felt like every need had been catered for; quality and choice of food in restaurant excellent.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ryfadmin, Manager at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review. Its always lovely to hear that guests have enjoyed their time here with us, we certainly look forward to welcoming you back next year. Thank you. More 

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

The best location in Sidmouth overlooking the sea and with the quaint shops on the door step. The welcome was very warm from the helpful staff and the food was great and incredible value. Free parking onsite. A very relaxing weekend break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ryfadmin, Manager at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay