We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff

Hotel website
Manor Road, Sidmouth EX10 8RU, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    128
    45
    21
    5
See reviews for
34
199
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (307)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were in one of the new motel-style courtyard rooms, which was on the ground floor, so had no view. However the cars in front were shielded by shrubs and there was a pleasant seating area at the end of the row. We couldn't fault our room, which was spacious, nicely furnished (with masses of storage space) and immaculately clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Milton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a great location slightly elevated and on the outskirts of the town with lovely sea views. The hotel building however is a mess, it's obviously been extended several times and inside is like a rabbit warren with narrow passageways all over the place. The gardens are very nice and extremely well kept. We stayed three nights... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kiwi
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We arrived after a 36 hour trip from NZ. The room was ready, clean, over loaded with furniture and in a back block with no view. However we could not eat in the restaurant as we were told it was full. Not a great weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This newly refurbished hotel is situated in a prime position with coastal views. However, unless your room is situated on one of the highest floors the sea view is interrupted by tall domestic properties with Elizabethan style tall chimneys. Motel style terraced bedrooms have been added outside of the main building and if you unlucky enough to be allocated one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
...always travelling.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Driving rain as we walked along the promenade but all thoughts of cold damp weather disappeared as we got back to our courtyard room at the hotel! A warming drink then relax before going for a welcoming devon cream tea, excellent. As the break was intended to be a lazy relaxing time we went to the hotel restaurant for dinner.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leek, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Whenever we've visited Devon, we've usually stayed either in the Dartmoor area or near Torquay. This was our first visit to Sidmouth. We were enroute to Kingswear on our short break to Devon, but decided at last minute to visit Sidmouth, having never been before. It's a quintessentially British seaside resort, having mainly more mature visitors, but we were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chalfont St Giles, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second visit to the Sidmouth Harbour Hotel and we were made welcome on our arrival. We had one of the ground floor Club rooms which is in a separate block from the main building. Whilst it was tucked in the corner of the courtyard and perhaps lacked a bit of light, we knew beforehand that we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor and I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the food to be of an excellent standard. I am glad to hear that you found that your room (one of the new courtyard rooms ) to be furnished to a... More 

WEST COUNTRY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A disappointing stay in many ways.The Courtyard Rooms are situated in the wrong place and the view is of parked cars or the back of the hotel,its kitchen and the kitchen chimney.Not what you expect in a Harbour Hotel,The room itself was large but over furnished and although free gin and sherry were provided there were no sherry glasses and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on this website and I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. As you are probably aware the hotel is going through a total refurbishment program during which time all of the points that you have raised will be addressed. Thank you for... More 

Swindon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Superb hotel and facilities also the location is ideal for a stay in Sidmouth. I was only there for one night however the staff, room and food was faultless! The hotel has parking and easy access to the town centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on this website and I am really please to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the food and the staff to be faultless. I look forward to welcoming you back for a retune visit in the not too distant future. Thank you and kind regards Ken... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Chose the hotel from doing an internet search and was very pleased with the result. Stayed in the newly refurbished courtyard rooms and even though there were some minor defects the room was large, well equipped and modern. The free gin or sherry drink in the room was a first for us. We dined in the restaurant in the evening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on this website and I am glad to hear that you had a lovely stay in one of our new courtyard rooms. I am glad that your were able to spend your wedding anniversary with us and the birthday gift was a token gesture and I hope that your wife... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay