We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Ballater hotels

The Deeside Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 - 15 Victoria Road, Ballater AB35 5RA, Scotland
Hotel amenities
The Deeside Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Deeside Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ballater
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Jaimelaurelslater Leeds, United Kingdom
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    105
    73
    42
    32
See reviews for
49
207
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (336)
  • Mar-May only
    (97)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (134)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my partner stayed here over the weekend (a surprise birthday trip for my 24th birthday and our 4th year anniversary). We had such a pleasant stay I felt it necessary to pass on the good favour! We drove from the North of England and it was expected this should take around 6 hours to do - however due... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed again at the Deeside, early December. Bitterly cold outside, frost , snow and gale force winds! Still a warm welcome in the bar and the fillet steak remains outstandingly good! The chef is excellent and again we had a great meal, way better than one might expect! I was disappointed that my room which, whilst huge, was not as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanna W, General Manager at The Deeside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and yes it was a very cold day when you came. This time of year we always put the heating on for all our arrivals in the morning so that the rooms are nice and cosy by check in time - but it looks like... More 

Ballachulish, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding and i must say that the place is great. Staff, service, and rooms are great. It is a bit old and creaky however we didnt mind as it adds character. we definately recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanna W, General Manager at The Deeside Inn, responded to this review

Very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will come and see us again soon. Best wishes, Joanna More 

Crieff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife & I stayed at the Deeside Inn last week on the way up north for a funeral. We had booked with Easy Breaks for two nights. This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel and it keeps getting better! The staff are wonderful and nothing too much bother. The six course taster menu brilliant! A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanna W, General Manager at The Deeside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to right a review of your recent stay. I was sorry that the circumstances of your visit were not happier. Thank you for your kind comments we are pleased that you were comfortable. We will look forward to you returning again under happier circumstances. Best wishes, Joanna More 

bonnyrigg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Looking at previous reviews I was not looking forward to our stay but as soon as I arrived the lady at reception was so professional and helpful. Our room no 3 was very clean and spacious. We went for a walk around the small but lovely town with shops that sell unusual gifts. On our return the same lady asked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanna W, General Manager at The Deeside Inn, responded to this review

Ahh... so that was your husband - our chef told me about your husband going to the kitchen door to say an enthusiastic thank you he was very delighted. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your dinners. I hope that you will come back and see us again sometime soon. Best wishes, joanna More 

Tayport, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a horrendous trip from Fife to Ballater on Friday 14th November 2014, (Due to atrocious weather), we arrived at The Deeside Inn to be greeted with a warm, cheery welcome. After settling in to our room we went to the lovely lounge, with roaring log fire, to meet up with the rest of our family (8 people in total)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joanna W, General Manager at The Deeside Inn, responded to this review

First of all, I hope your father in law is feeling much improved now. I am really touched that your family have been so generous, first your mother in law's lovely flowers and letters and then you take the time to write such a great review - when I know you have more important things on your minds. So a... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a Sunday afternoon lunch at the Deeside Inn and really enjoyed the food. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a limited lunch menu available but the good was enjoyable and not too expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanna W, General Manager at The Deeside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent Sunday lunch at The Deeside Inn. I am pleased that you enjoyed it and found it value for money. Come and see us again soon. Best wishes, Joanna More 

Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We arrived Friday 14th November, It was pouring rain but luckily we got parked at door, the reception staff were very friendly, the hotel is what you would expect, very old looking, it was also very cold, we did ask if fires (1 in each room, lounge and foyer) would be going on they said yes, we have yet to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Stopped by for a night as we toured the area visiting castles and the area. It is perfectly placed for Balmoral Castle which is just a short drive away. Its situated in a quiet little village, just off the main street near a park and a car park so there is plenty of off street car parking. The room is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanna W, General Manager at The Deeside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay on TripAdvisor. It was a very nice review and the description you gave will give prospective guests a good idea of what to expect. I hope you enjoyed your castles tour. Balmoral will open again in April so let us know if you would like to come back then.... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

After a long drive our booking was no where to be found. Glad I had printed a copy of the confirmation and taken it with me. A mutually agreeable arrangement was made after which everythng went well and we had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is in a great location. Joanna has lovely staff who are very accomodating. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanna W, General Manager at The Deeside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent trip. It sounds like you were deserving of a good break and I hope you recharged the batteries. Thank you for your kind comments on my staff - I am very fortunate to have such a lovely and thoughtful team. Your comments about the upgrading are well taken and I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Deeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Deeside Inn

Address: 13 - 15 Victoria Road, Ballater AB35 5RA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Ballater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Deeside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Deeside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Deeside Hotel Ballater
The Deeside Inn Ballater, Scotland

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay