We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Bedford hotels

Embankment Hotel

The Embankment, Bedford MK40 3PD, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Embankment Hotel to your Saves list
Embankment Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
73%
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Bedford
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Radiantkitty Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    49
    23
    13
    12
See reviews for
25
79
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was my 2nd time visit for lunch and again it was very dissapointing. Horrible sandwiches, we didn't receive what we ordered, and the service was not so good. There was no apology and we are defenitly not going back!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this review

Steve This review is very vague indeed. I am sorry you did not enjoy your sandwiches with us and you felt we were not apologetic. Please could you contact me with more details of your visit. Many thanks Jonathan Jonathan.taylor@peachpubs.com More

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed with a friend the day before my wedding, and the staff were great at helping with all the little things, that make a difference. Food is great, riverside view great, staff are all friendly and helpful, and the hotel rooms are clean, comfortable and stylish. Great value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this review

Kitty Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We hope the wedding was a success and it was a pleasure to look after you. Kind regards Jonathan More

Flitwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Walked in on Saturday late afternoon and got a table. Staff were very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The bar area had a good atmosphere and restaurant area offered a quieter environment. Food was a little pricey but worth it - I had the lamb sharer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this review

The lamb sharers is one of our favourite dishes too. We are pleased you enjoyed your dinner!! Kind regards Jonathan More

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a weekend break in Bedford and chose The Embankment Hotel. We had a very enjoyable stay and although we had a room at the side of the hotel it was clean and comfortable. The bathroom looked as though it had been recently decorated and the shower was super. Breakfast was lovely with a big choice of items on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Gary Thank you very much for you review. I am pleased you had a enjoyable and comfortable stay. Please be sure to say hello next time you are in town Best wishes Jonathan More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My husband and I had a lovely room looking out onto the river. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, nicely decorated and very clean, with a huge bed. We ate in the restaurant which was very busy but we didn't have to wait and the meal was delicious. The breakfast was cooked to order... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this review

Liz thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. Sounds like you know where to choose next time you are in town!! We are happy you loved it! See you soon. Jonathan More

Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had previously eaten in the pub and when we were in the area again decided to stay at the pub. We stayed in the river view room with our daughter (who stayed on a perfectly comfortable sofa bed). Our large bed was comfortable had reading lights and White Company bedding! Even though we were above the outdoor seating area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this review

I am really pleased you had such a great stay with us Jackie. You know where to choose next time you are in town!! See you soon. Jonathan More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

On a quick trip into town we thought we would find somewhere to grab something to eat and have been meaning to visit here many times. Lovely exterior and inside was beautifully presented too. Was brilliant as there was plenty of room for my pram too. The extensive menu was hard to choose from but thought we'd try the steak... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. We are really glad you loved the pub so much. It wont be long before it gets cold again so we will see you in the autumn! Kind regards Jonathan More

Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I had a really nice pint of Charles Wells Eagle IPA two weeks ago in a pub in Salford village in Beds. Last night I had the same beer at the Embankmen Hotel and it was sour. This establishment is not the only offender.(The staff were efficient on what was a busy Saturday night). .It is getting to the stage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your beer while you visited. We have recently been given a full audit by Charles wells themselves who are happy with the beer we serve. Please pop back in to say hello and I will personally buy you a pint to show you that your experience was a... More

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The best time to go to the Embankment Hotel is on a summer after one or early evening. I have spent a few afternoons this summer sitting outside , the tables and chairs are comfortable and there are good sun canopies. The service is good and we have enjoyed a glass of win end a sharing platter of bread, vegetable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this review

Max Thank you for your kind review. We agree there really is no better spot in Bedford on a summers evening. See you next time. Jonathan More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We have just stayed here during the busiest weekend because it was the Bedford river festival which only happens every 2 years. The hotel was very very busy however the staff were great nothing was a problem. The room absolutely immaculate. Very enjoyable stay and for future trips will definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SwanGM, General Manager at Embankment Hotel, responded to this review

Lisa Many thanks for your kind comments. I hope you had a fantastic time at the river festival. We certainly did. Best wishes Jonathan More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Embankment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Embankment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embankment Hotel

Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 3PD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Embankment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embankment Hotel Bedford

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bedford with
any amenities