We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Bedford hotels

Bedford Swan Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bedford Swan Hotel to your Saves list
Bedford Swan Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity Hotels.com
and 6 more sites!
70%
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Jean B Fareham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

675 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    192
    93
    72
    43
See reviews for
118
210
34
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Dined with friends at the Swan for a 50th Birthday celebration on Easter Saturday. Starters were fine but as they were cold, I was not expecting any issues. Main courses however were disappointing. My Cod was dry and curled up at the edges the two accompanying florets of cauliflower were also dry and over cooked. My wife had the chicken,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

From the first moment I entered the Swan I was carried back in time to the days when courtesy and customer care were the perceived normality and not a speciality service. The staff were polite and helpful. My room was extremely comfortable with a wonderful river view; what a joy it was to watch so many people of all ages... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I dined at the Swan on Easter Saturday with members of my family and the table was booked BEFORE reading the reviews on Trip Advisor! Needless to say I was very skeptical about what would greet me after reading so many negatives! BUT I was very pleasantly surprised....... the "new" menu was interesting with a great range of starters and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent dining experience. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit and your comments regarding the individuals mentioned have been shared with the team. More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wanted to have a mini break with a spa treatment. Decided on the Bedford Swan Hotel... Tried to check in 15 minutes early - but told room wasn't ready, fair enough! Came back 15 minutes later to a long que of people trying to checkin...room still not ready... We had a couples massage booked in for 3pm so wanted to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Ok.... me and my partner decided to stay at the Bedford Swan Hotel on Sunday 20th April 2014 for 1 night.... originally had a standard double room but paid for the upgrade to the suite. we was overall very disappointed with the hotel. The pictures do not give a true reflection of the hotel, it was outdated, the Jacuzzi never... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your review. As you wrote to us directly only yesterday and company policy is to ensure all responses go out within 48 hours it is a shame we were not given the opportunity to reply to you personally and instead I find myself responding in a public capacity. The room you were upgraded to has a... More

Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our wedding on 23rd March 2014 was absolutely perfect. All the staff were brilliant and ever so friend. From the planning of the wedding with their own wedding planner Georgia Coomes to the master of ceremonies Charlie everybody was there helpband couldn't do enough to help us and our guests. The whole day went as planned and was perfect for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Congratulations and thank you for choosing The Bedford Swan as the venue for your recent wedding. Many thanks for sharing your five star review on Tripadvisor and special thanks have been passed on to both Georgia and Charlie. We hope to see you again soon. More

Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Ok, so 5 people went here to have afternoon tea. First off i went with someone who has trouble walking, which is why we came through the car park entrance to the Hotel. We were meeting the rest of our party, at the main entrance someone went there after we asked about were the table was and then we decided... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was being treated (for my birthday) to a 3pm afternoon tea at the Swan Hotel. Although I'm a local I've never eaten at The Swan before but it's a well known local "posh" hotel and I was looking forward to it. The waitress was jolly and amenable, she seemed slightly out of her depth but was charming. We placed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review and bringing this to our attention. It is very disappointing to hear you were so dissatisfied with our scones which usually receive such positive feedback. This has been shared with our Head Chef to be addressed as a matter of urgency. I do hope you will consider returning to make use of the voucher... More

Alcorcon, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Delicious sandwiches, fantastic scones and cakes, all hand-made. Lovely service from the staff and incredible location and atmosphere. I can not recommend it enough. Reason enough to come back to Bedford.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your five star feedback on Tripadvisor. We are very proud of our locally renowned Afternoon Tea so this is a pleasure to read. We look forward to welcoming you again in future. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife had to go to Bedford for her graduation so we decided to book into the swan, we got a good rate on a suite with breakfast and dinner included. As it was also our anniversary while away I booked some spa treatment for both of us. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff, we made our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DominicMills, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for sharing your delightful five star feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in future. More

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ENJOY: Our stunning roman bath inspired swimming pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massages, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.