We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Bedford hotels

Bedford Swan Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Hotel amenities
Bedford Swan Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bedford Swan Hotel to your Saves list
69%
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Bedford
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Gary M
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    218
    108
    82
    49
See reviews for
139
244
39
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (779)
  • Mar-May only
    (196)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (215)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (193)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (175)
All months
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Enjoyed a lovely afternoon in the terrace with my Mother and sister , well presented afternoon tea was delicious! And the open sandwiches were also good ( the bread was a little dry , leading me to believe they may have been pre prepared) If I had a criticism it would be no table service ! But will not alow... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 2 nights and had a great stay. Room was nice with river views. Wedding was on so parking which you do pay for was at a premium! Food was excellent. Only complaints are that in this day and age where we try and promote all things British i was very disappointed to see : A) No English... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Markj71731, Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. On the other hand, I am disappointed to read your comments regarding the hotel not supporting UK industry. Here at the Bedford Swan Hotel, many of our nominated suppliers are actually based in the Bedfordshire region. While some of our... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having never been to the Bedford swan hotel before I have to say my first experience here was incredible. I was met promptly on arrival by Amy who sat us and took our drinks order, she gave us just the right amount of time to select our options. Although not a huge menu it had everything you could want in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Lynam1988, Thank you for such a fantastic review. We were delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful dining experience. We are very lucky to have such a dedicated and professional team here at the hotel and I will be sure to pass on your kind remarks to Adam, Dan & Amy. We are currently in the process... More

Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and a friend went to The Swan for a catch up dinner. We were greeted by Amy, she was very welcoming and constantly smiling throughout our visit! The food was exceptional and the presentation was devine! I had the chicken with the sweetcorn bits and bobs, I recommend this to everyone! Hats off to the chef Adam Potten! Overall... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Zoe-Jade F, Thank you for such a great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal and that Amy ensured your dining experience went so well. Adam Potten is our new Executive Head Chef and he is certainly cooking up a storm in the kitchen with his new mouth watering dishes. Watch this space as we are currently... More

Bedford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had booked a spa day at the hotel followed by afternoon tea... Apart from the jacuzzi not working we couldn't fault it. On arrival, staff were very friendly. We started with a swim, followed by a couple of treatments... The staff were lovely. A very relaxing a friendly environment. I'm just recovering from a chest infection and have a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Heather B, Thank you for taking the time to share your spa day experience on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to read that one of our team went above and beyond the call of duty to assist you when you were feeling under the weather. I was also happy to read that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea. We put a... More

London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is situated in a beautiful building right on the riverfront in the centre of Bedford. It's an old coaching in and it has been tastefully transformed into a hotel. The receptionist was helpful and friendly and the lounge and other communal areas are clean and beautifully decorated. Our room was on the third (top) floor. For the price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello r0sainglesa, Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read that you really liked the decor of the hotel. It is a wonderful property steeped in rich history and heritage and we are very proud of it. With regard to the issue you encountered with your bedroom, please accept my apologies on this. We do operate a number... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A "soiled" dressing gown in the room made us question the thoroughness of housekeeping. The breakfast was cold and the speed of clearing tables in the terrace bar was poor. Reception sent us back and forth to the car with confusing advice about parking. Otherwise a nice stay but not as good as expected for the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello paulanddiane69, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am genuinely disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. Please be assured that this is not our regular standard of service. I would be grateful if you accorded me the opportunity to discuss your experience with you. My email is gearoid.pyne@bedfordswanhotel.co.uk Kind Regards, Gearoid Pyne Head... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a lovely little room located just off the breakfast bar, the heating was top class. The decor was also sublime the coat hangers and glasses of boxes really gave it the room a lift. We had a lovely strol on the roof top terrace. All in all a great stay for a very reasonable price. Negatives - one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Dave S, Thank you for review. I was delighted to read that you were impressed with the quality of the furnishings in your room. Your comments regarding the mugs, remote and light switches are definitely food for thought. I can’t comment on the guest in Room 189 but can say that it is unfortunate that you were put off... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had one of the luxury rooms and it was lovely, clean tidy and the bed was comfy. We only had breakfast so can't comment on rest of the food but breakfast was brilliant, lots of choices, good food and lots of helpful staff. Forgot there was a pool so didn't bring appropriate attire and as such can't comment on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Alimeli, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your breakfast. Breakfast is the start of the day and we like to ensure all our guests start off on the right foot for their day ahead. With regards to parking, we charge a nominal fee... More

Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Swan for a hen weekend and contrary to the reviews here we had a wonderful time. We had a two course lunch prior to going for our treatments and all the staff I met were polite and pleasant, in the restaurant and the spa. We met up again for drinks on the lovely terrace which overlooks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Irene H, I was delighted to read that you all really enjoyed your Hen Night stay. We strive to give the best service possible and you have written what words could not say. We really appreciate the kind review and are delighted in the knowledge that you will be returning. Best of luck with the wedding. Warmest Regards, Gearoid... More

Do you own or manage Bedford Swan Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

113 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay