We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bedford Swan Hotel

4.0 of 5 The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bedford Swan Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bedford Swan Hotel
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    223
    110
    83
    49
See reviews for
141
250
40
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (799)
  • Mar-May only
    (196)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (215)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (213)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (175)
All months
Biggleswade, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We was gifted a surprise overnight stay on our wedding night and the hotel didn't disappoint was excellent on arrival we were offered a state room which overlooked the river which we gladly accepted and it was fab properly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in and the morning breakfast buffet was brilliant plenty of choice, My favourite bit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked a 1 night stop, went for the Executive room which overlooked (a flat roof) and river. The hotel is very nice inside and the room clean and well presented, being in the original side of the building there was noise from the rooms on both sides, including creaky floors. The Lounge menu was good but the staff were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Bedford Swan for the first time last December; returned in the new year... mean to stay again this December! Gorgeous hotel. Fabulous to look at, spectacular scenery, friendly and inviting atmosphere/staff, delicious food (dinner and breakfast)... and a spa! Excellent all round. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone. Sumptuous.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thelma Y, Your review title sums it all up for me – “Sumptuous”. Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. It really is reassuring for all of us here at the hotel when we receive such excellent feedback. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the entire team who I know will be... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Discovered upon arrival that you had to pay for parking (£5), which wasn't mentioned when I made telephone booking. Hotel looks boring from car park but interior was a pleasant surprise. Busy bustling reception area with pleasant efficient staff. Lovely large room with usual essentials and one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in for sometime. Room overlooked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jenny B, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I’m glad to read that you found our team to be pleasant and helpful. They are a very dedicated bunch and it is always great for morale when they receive comments of this nature. Our beds are indeed very comfortable; as we chose the best... More

SE London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for one night in a luxury room facing the river. Apart from 2 members of staff being on personal calls and ignoring us for a couple of minutes on check in, the rest of the stay was excellent. Room was clean and spacious, food and bar was fine and the view really nice from the room. Comfy beds,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello SandS777, Thank you for your review. I’m delighted to read that you found your room to be so well appointed and enjoyed using the Spa. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Sandra, our Accommodation Manager and Angela, our Spa Manager and their respective teams who I know will really appreciate them. With regards to your... More

London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overnight stay greatly enhanced by first class dinner in River Restaurant at the Swan. Great veggie options and superb fish and wine. Presentation very sophisticated and service from Ricardo was impeccable.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello justart, Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience with the Tripadvisor Community. We take a great deal of pride in the standard of food, wine and service in our AA Rosette awarded River Room Restaurant. So when we receive such positive feedback as yours, it does wonders for staff morale and for this I thank... More

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited The Swan on Monday 13Th October to use our Afternoon Tea gift voucher. The service was excellent and the quality of food was brilliant. A glass of bubbly made it special. Our two waitresses were Tabitha and Yvette, very professional, efficient and friendly. No rush, we were able to sit and chat enjoying the atmosphere on a vert... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Noreen B, Thank you for such a lovely Review. I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea. We take a lot of pride in our Afternoon Tea offering and it is really rewarding when we receive such positive feedback. I will be sure to pass on your positive feedback to both Tabatha & Yvette who I know... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family recently used the Swan as the location for a family wake and the service that we received from everyone in the hotel was highly commendable during what was obviously a difficult day for us all. The reception and service staff couldn't have done anything more for us and made us all feel very comfortable during the day. In... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello LinsAndDuncan, On behalf of the entire team here, please accept my sincere sympathies on your recent loss. Losing a loved one is always a difficult experience and I’m pleased to read that our team were able to attend to your needs in a compassionate, respectful and unobtrusive manner. I will be sure to pass on your comments to Andrea... More

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

‎Second time at this riverside hotel. It maintains its high quality. Our room had two single beds side by side each with its own duvet and two flatter pillows instead of the mountainous ones some hotels supply which leave me sleeping on a folded towel! The window opened but there was also air con and heating controlled from a wall... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Christine C, Wow!! What a fantastic and comprehensive review. I’m delighted to read that you liked your bedroom. We have appointed all of our rooms to a high 4* standard and it is so reassuring that you have appreciated the work put in. With regards to your dining experiences at both Dinner & Breakfast, it is wonderful to receive... More

Essex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

liked the outside bar, with the umbrella heaters. The staff were accommodating when I was disappointed with our room. Good breakfast. The room looks lush in the photos, but tired in real life. Old fashioned bathrooms with grey grey between the tiles. We had an upgraded room, but it didn't feel like it. We eat in the restaurant in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gearoid P, Head of Operations at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello HamishEssex, I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. With regard to your comments on the room you stayed in, our rooms were only renovated at a cost of £4m just two years ago; so it is disappointing that you found them to be “tired”. In fact we generally receive excellent feedback on... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (154)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay