We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Carlisle hotels

Crown & Mitre Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   English St, Carlisle CA3 8HZ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Crown & Mitre Hotel to your Saves list
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
68%
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Carlisle
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
DianeJudge12 Prenton, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (408)
  • Photos (85)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (103)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    156
    72
    40
    25
See reviews for
61
153
23
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prenton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we stayed here again in july for our 4th wedding anniversary, once again had a wonderful stay in room we book every year :-) the room as been renovated to a very high standard and looks even more amazing than it did before, so there was scaffolding outside but this was no big deal, it is there for the purpose... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Have to agree with other reviews, first impressions were not good but despite it's tired and in need of updating decor, I did quite enjoy my stay. The food in the bar was very good, ate there for two of the three nights. Breakfast was very nice, and the staff were attentive and helpful. Had a problem with the loo... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sheena S, Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff work very hard to ensure that every guest is satisfied and happy during their stay, I will pass on your kind comments to the rest of the team who will also be pleased to hear your review. We... More

Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife, 11-year-old son and I stayed here for two nights on the way from Bedfordshire to Scotland, and then for another night on the way back home. I think we all enjoyed it. We liked its city-centre location and appreciated being able to park our car on-site. The bar food was good. We had fun each day swimming in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Garry L, Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed their stay and would return to the hotel. The hotel is going through a refurbishment at the moment and we are working on improving the areas that you have mentioned. Hopefully on your next visit you will be able to see... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here on two separate nights and the public areas are absolutely lovely and very art deco in style however the rooms themselves are grim. It's not that their unclean it's just that they are a bit shabby and could be cleaner. Everything in the rooms really needs updating. Food was excellent in the restaurant and as room service.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alexandra P, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I take all feedback on board to ensure that we can provide the best service possible. As you probably noticed on your visit that the hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment, at the moment we are currently working on the front of the hotel and... More

alloa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed recently on a visit to Carlisle for the racing. Had read reviews so knew "roughly" what to expect.what we were unaware of was the frontage being covered by scaffolding and netting and whistling workmen passing our window like a scene from Spiderman !. Only negative from this was our inability to open our curtains at any time to enjoy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HappytravellerAlloa, Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you would return to the Crown and Mitre Hotel. I am sorry that the scaffolding was a bit of an inconvenience but I am glad that the staff and everything else made up for this. I will make... More

preston
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
77 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having previously stayed at the Hallmark Hotel by the train station when we've stayed in Carlisle, hubby and I decided to try the Crown & Mitre as a 'special' treat for our birthdays. Unfortunately when we approached, we saw all the front of the hotel covered by scaffolding. Not a good sign, but it didn't interfere with our stay at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Welltraveled200, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay but I am also disappointed to read that you did not find your stay to be anything special. We have scaffolding up on the front of the building as we are restoring its front elevation, I am pleased that this... More

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed a night here. Excellent service, food and position. Room could have been a bit bigger, but was clean and comfortable. Would recommend this to friends and will certainly stay here again. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear McKelvie, Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear that you had an excellent stay with us. At the Crown and Mitre we try very hard to satisfy each guest and provide the best service that we can and reviews like yours let me know that we are succeeding at this. Thank you again for your review... More

Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We returned to this hotel in July at the invitation of Mr Crossley the manager after a disappointing stay October 2013. Our October visit had seen us changing rooms for various reasons of which some have been listed by other Tripadvisors. Our most recent visit was the experience we expected from a Peel Hotel. The room was spacious and offered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diboo2317, Thank you very much for writing this review of your second stay at the hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that it reached your expectations. We do take all comments and feedback on board to try and improve the hotel and its services. I am glad that you chose... More

Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a stopover on the way home, giving us a day of Carlisle sightseeing, which we enjoyed. However, everything seemed to go wrong - but please read the positives below as well as the negatives. A glitch in the booking website meant I had to finish the booking by phone - but received no confirmation, which I was told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen B, Thank you for your review of the hotel and for putting the positives of your experience on this review too. The reception staff should check the rate and what the guests have booked upon check in and I am sorry that it was not spotted on your arrival by the receptionist or yourself. I am glad, however,... More

United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with 3 friends for one night. The staff at check in were friendly and efficient, as were all the staff we met, including the night porter. The hotel has an air of faded grandeur but is currently undergoing a make over. The rooms were spotlessly clean and perfectly adequate if rather dated but as previously mentioned the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Romc25, Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback that we get and take it all on board. I am pleased that you found the staff to be helpful and pleasant, I will make sure I pass that comment on. Regarding the food at breakfast, I am glad that you found the selection and amount to be plentiful.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Crown & Mitre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Crown & Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown & Mitre Hotel

Address: English St, Carlisle CA3 8HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown & Mitre Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Crown & Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown And Mitre Hotel
Crown Mitre Hotel

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Carlisle with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
98

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Crown & Mitre Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer