We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crown & Mitre Hotel

English St, Carlisle CA3 8HZ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Add Photo

550 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    166
    212
    91
    47
    34
See reviews for
74
216
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (550)
  • Mar-May only
    (140)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (147)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (125)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (138)
All months
Cork
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Clean, old style hotel with nice staff. The breakfast is very poor but the restaurant is very nice. The bar is too quiet, the pint is not bad. The pool allows 3 or 4 swim strokes from end to end and the changing rooms are very tight. Location is perfect for the middle of Carlisle and all modes of transport... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here on a Saturday night for an event held in the city centre which was rite outside the hotel so it was a perfect location. The hotel has a car park but is very small so arrive early to get a space. Check in was nice and easy and the receptionist was very pleasant. I had booked a double... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice hotel good location,although finding car park can be tricky.Check in was friendly,room in the annexe was spacious and spotlessly clean.Food in the restaurant was very good and portions were large,staff were friendly and efficient.Staff in the bar were also very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian_gibson42, Thank you for your review, I am glad that you both had a good stay with us. The car park can be slightly difficult to find as it has a separate postcode to the front of the hotel. The car park is located at the back of the hotel, the postcode is CA3 8HB which will take you... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely, clean and modern hotel in the centre of Carlisle, the hotel bar had friendly staff and their food bar prices were very reasonable. We stayed out of the back of the hotel in the annexe but it wasn't far and it had a lift. The room was lovely clean and comfortable, would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Julie B, Thank you for your great review, I am really pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I hope that you will return to the hotel again soon. More 

Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We cycled the Hadrian's wall ..and after a long day we chosen what seemed to be the best hotel in town (on a Monday night - hotel was far away from being full!) ...this is true from the outside! Room 149....probably the worst room from the whole hotel last room at the end of a tiny hall on the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Regine A, Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and found your room to be too small. The room that you stayed in is smaller than some of our other rooms but I have never received complaints about it before. I am sure that if you had mentioned this... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel nice room’s great stay apart from when we were leaving after our WEDDING night I had several rooms booked including other guests from the party amounting to a lot of money We spent lots of money in the outside restaurant known as the square and more. When we came to check out the manager accused us of stealing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robin M, After reading your review I have spoken to the Manager that was on duty during your stay and it was in fact the hotel that had called the police. When the police had arrived they were unable to prove that you had taken the curtain as they could not find it. However, the curtains were there before... More 

St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here numerous times in recent months. The hotel has some very good staff especially the young ladies waiting on in peace and plenty which is an excellent value for money way to spend dinner. The rooms are a touch hit and miss, I stayed in the main body and the annexe, I would go for the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Loz604, Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you have enjoyed your recent stays with us and that you have also enjoyed your evening meals in our Peace and Plenty Restaurant. The hotel is going through a refurbishment and we are trying to get all the bedrooms completed as soon as possible and many of them are... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 4 nights with work and enjoyed my stay. I'll get the one critisicm out the way first- arriving at 8pm Monday night the car park was full so had to nip round to an expensive p+d two minutes walk away. Managed to get access to the hotel car park on the Tuesday but I was boxed in every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alfa1M, Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. As we are a city centre hotel our car park can be a little small, we do however try and fit as many cars in as we can and ask that all guests leave their keys at reception so guests don't have... More 

Hythe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an elderly building but in decent condition internally. My room was OK, well-appointed and not too small, and the TV was a reasonable size with a good selection of Sky channels. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very pleasant. I'd stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bert-Coules, Thank you for your review, I am happy that you had a pleasant stay with us. I hope that you will choose to stay in the hotel again in the future. More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a standard priced booking of D.B+B "Wine and Dine" but we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a superior room----which it really was! There are some access problems to the hotel car park,but a quick call brought a member of staff who climbed into our car and guided us through the city. The upgrade gave us an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Ken T, Thank you very much for such a good review. I am glad that you were able to find our car park and a member of staff was able to help. The car park has a separate postcode which is CA3 8HB that will take you on to Blackfriars Street where the car park is situated. Thank... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay