We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 64 Carlisle B&Bs / inns

Warwick Hall

3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Warwick-on-Eden, Carlisle CA4 8PG, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Warwick Hall to your Saves list
Warwick Hall
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
90%
Ranked #25 of 64 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Adrian P Gloucester, United Kingdom
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    24
    3
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
67
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location to break on the way to Scotland. Team were very attentive and made me and all guests very welcome. Beautiful setting for breakfast looking out across the river. My room was comfortable and spacious. I'll be planning to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have just spent four nights in this beautiful house. Our rooms were stunning and very comfortable, as well as being spotlessly clean. We had numerous soft towels and fluffy robes as well as soap and body lotion. The situation is stunning with lovely grounds, walks and lovely walled gardens. The river flowing by is so beautiful, peaceful and tranquil.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Brunswick
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Warwick Hall in August of this year. We were travelling and were going to be late arriving but our hostess was very gracious and welcoming when we arrived later than planned. The grounds were gorgeous and so nicely set up. We had a huge room and as we were a family of 4, the beds were nicely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our whole experience of this hotel was perfect. We had a great welcome. Our room was very comfortable with superb bed and pillows, quality towels and bath robes. It was tastefully decorated and was spotlessly clean. The views from our room and other parts of the hotel were stunning. The breakfast was of the highest quality and included lovely touches... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Valowner, General Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review

Well, this is very nice of you! Thank you so much! You are just the kind of guests we like to see - and it certainly feels good when someone goes to the trouble of writing in to share a good experience. Do please come again! Kind regards, Val More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very disappointed with the experience. At £17 a head I expected a lot more considering we had visited another tea room for the same price which far exceeded all expectations. The sandwiches were dry. The scones were lovely though. A random course of potted shrimp was served on an oatcake, which didn't really follow the scones we had just eaten... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Valowner, General Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review

What can I say? I'm almost always here - I wonder why you didn't ask to speak to the management. Or ask lovely Jack - the most obliging of young men - for two smaller tea pots? To all the world out there - if you don't tell us, we can't fix it! By the way, how did you like... More

St.Helens
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from an amazing two night stay at Warwick Hall. We stayed in the River Suite which has fantastic views over the river, the bath was the largest we had ever seen & the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in. We were made so welcome by Val the owner & the staff were really friendly.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valowner, General Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your visit to us - we do try hard - and it means a lot when guests are kind enough to give us a pat on the back. I hope you'll be back when next you find yourselves in this part of the world - you're the kind of people we like! Many thanks for... More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited here for afternoon tea with a friend on a Saturday just after 2pm. They advertise they are open until 5pm. Prime afternoon tea one would think. Hmmm. All that was on offer was one scone. There was half of a carrot and orange cake and half of a lemon drizzle cake. That was it. We plumped for a slice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valowner, General Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review

I don't think this person understood the Tea Room has been closed for the winter. My sign writer man went on holiday just as I needed him most to create new signs (Tea Room Closed!) I think we were just trying to be nice and offer what we had on hand to someone who had come by hoping for a... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here 15th August. Wonderful old building set in beautiful grounds on a spectacular bend in the river. Ooozes charm and sophistication. It was almost like going to stay with a wealthy Aunt & Uncle in the countryside. My room was super - clean, well furnished with quality period features, The bed was the most comfortable that I have ever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valowner, General Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review

Now you're the sort of guest we like! If only all the world was as generous and kind with their praise. It makes it feel v. worthwhile to go to lots of trouble to get things right when someone like you is so appreciative. Please come right back! And let me know who you are when you do. Many thanks... More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

we called in after seing the sign marvolous place frendly dog glorious weather met the manager val asked if we were ok i wish you would do evening meals it would be spectacular thank you i think your doing a grand job

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valowner, General Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review

Oh, Thank You!! How nice of you! You can come back anytime! Your wish re dinner has been granted - we're now open for dinner. Must be booked!!!! We've closed the Tea Room because many of our young helpers are off to much more exciting times as they start Uni. We will continue to offer Afternoon Tea - both plain... More

Staveley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Called in today with my partner just had a pot of tea. What a lovely relaxing place . It was nice to have the company of your lovely pointer dog who was sat quietly in the sun near us. I live out of the area now but will call back for a spot of lunch next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valowner, General Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review

Thank for writing this. Our lovely Boots does live the life of Riley, doesn't she? Kind visitors making a fuss of her - long naps on the lawn in front of the terrace - the occasional scrumping of a bit of leftover bacon - a perfect dog life! Good thing Nick runs her around enough to keep her trim! Kind... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Warwick Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Warwick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Hall

Address: Warwick-on-Eden, Carlisle CA4 8PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warwick Hall 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Warwick Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hall Hotel Carlisle

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Carlisle with
any amenities