We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Carlisle Central

Cecil Street, Carlisle 1NL, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge Carlisle Central
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is excellently situated but is at best a little basic. However it is clean and presentable . A little expensive for what you get unless you book way in advance. Breakfast is OK but unlimited. The TV in the room is tiny. Beds are comfy. No parking. Not the best but far from the worst in town.

Helpful?
Thank singaporefinn1967
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was 'welcomed' by a girl who's name I did not note who could not speak properly due to having her mouth full of food and even when asked to repeat herself, could not be understood. The room was cold. I was disturbed in the night by loud noise from girls returning presumably from a hen night out. They were... More 

Helpful?
Thank 16bel
TravelodgeUK, Karen from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Carlisle Central, responded to this review

Many thanks for submitting your review. We understand that your overall experience was not exceptional and we do apologise for this. We’ll be sure to pass your valuable feedback directly to our colleagues in our hotel as this is the best way for us to improve the service we offer.Thank you again for your review. More 

Travelers are raving about these Carlisle hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the second time in 10 days we stopped at this hotel. This time we asked for and were given a room on the third floor which was a lot quieter than the previous room on the second floor amongst the contractors which was he'll.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Q968AEjohns
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a great night Saturday 9th Jan in the Caledonian pub cheap beers 🍻 sports on tv and friendly staff,went on to Deja vu next door, fantastic music,60s70s80s music 🎶 warm welcome, only open 🚪 Friday Saturday. Nights I heard but heaven To your ears music,close to good restaurants' Travelodge hotel,vue cinema 🎦 weather spoons,and rail station had a fantastic... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ronald w
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I would have given 2 stars but as its a travelodge I know what to expect. After checking in I took the stairs up to my room. Which were absolutely filthy and clearly hadn't been cleaned in weeks. Not a first good impression. Room was a good size. However suffered from the usual travelodge problems- only 2 plug sockets of... More 

Helpful?
Thank PMaccca
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Carlisle Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear of your experience, in such instances we would suggest to let our reception team know so that they can reallocate your room or fix the issues you have. In any case we would like to thank you and apologise for your last stay with us and we hope to be... More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were flooded out and have spent the last 4 weeks in the Travelodge and we cannot praise the staff highly enough, they have looked after us really well. I know this is an unusual event but we felt the staff deserved praise.

Helpful?
Thank jimmac57
Maryport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

This hotel is a great city centre base for anyone we alway stay here good clean and warm rooms tea/coffee facility shower was great too staff were very good just ask and they will help bed was so comfy we didn't won't to get up lol pillow were spot on clean white towels we are back next week and in... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Terri S
TravelodgeUK, Karen from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Carlisle Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the location of the Hotel and that your overall experience was a positive one. Feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments will be forwarded to the Hotel Manager. Thank you once again and we look forward to... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

We were not impressed during our recent stay at Carlisle Central. Joseph did not great us in a particularly welcoming manner, did not seem interested in his guests and lacked an air of professionalism. Sadly the standards of cleanliness we encountered left a lot to be desired. The towels in the shower room had seen better days, were rather worn... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank bigal692015
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Carlisle Central, responded to this review

Thank you very much for submitting your review. Detailed feedback like yours is very important to us and we have passed your comments onto the hotel manager as cleanliness and room service are the basics of our promise to our customers and this is far from the high standards we strive to provide. Please accept our sincerest apologies and we... More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

Stayed one night en route to Scotland. Very central location, ideal for the restaurants and pubs in the area, especially Wetherspoons for breakfast. Arrived in the afternoon on a very cold and windy day. Bedroom was hot and had to turn the heating down. Everything including the bathroom was spotlessly clean. Great value and would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank 2010mustang
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Carlisle Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with regards to your stay at our Carlisle Travelodge. We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with the location of the Hotel and that your overall experience was a positive one. We have forwarded a copy of your invaluable feedback to the hotel manager for you. Thank... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

Abit apprehensive before coming due to floods in the area, but can safely say brilliant weekend. Hotel clean, central and friendly no faults there, even better two weatherspoon pubs across the road for brekki. Well done Carlisle.

Helpful?
Thank jonane
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Carlisle Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased to learn that your overall experience was a positive one. Feedback is invaluable and a copy of your comments will be forwarded to the Hotel Manager. Thank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#9 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#12 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#15 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#14 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay