We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brook Red Lion Hotel

4.0 of 5 High Street, Colchester CO1 1DJ, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Brook Red Lion Hotel
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    37
    38
    32
    53
See reviews for
20
91
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (200)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff member was pleasant & the food was quite nice but as the gift package bought for us was £49 it was certainly not as good as we expected. Presentation was lacking too as cutlery was mismatched & the champagne glasses were more like sherry schooners!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucca, Toscana, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night on our way to Harwich for a cruise. The room was very small and bathroom needed updating. There are lots of stairs in the hotel and no assistance for carrying up several large bags up and down several floors. The staff was helpful. We ate breakfast in the morning but were unimpressed with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to post a review of your stay . Whilst I am sorry that on this occasion the Hotel did not meet with your expectations I am pleased to read that my team were friendly and welcoming . As a historic Grade 1 Listed Tudor building ,The Brook Red Lion Hotel is full of beamed... More

maldon essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were given a tea for two gift card and chose to go the Brook Red Lion Hotel in Colchester as winter is drawing in and its not too far to travel. hat a welcome surprise we had. From the initial greeting by our waitress to the very last minute we were treated superbly. Really nice fresh made sandwiches, cakes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing to visit us and have Afternoon Tea .I am delighted that you not only loved the Hotel but that the sandwiches, cakes and scones made by Chef and his team were enjoyed by you both .It is always very pleasing for me to learn that the staff were so friendly and welcoming and I... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We first visited the Red Lion 13 years ago when we stayed on our honeymoon night. We always meant to come back for a meal ,but never got round to it until now. One thing is for sure, we wont be leaving it that long again!! The food, service and the manager were first class. I would say though that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for returning to the Red Lion and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent meal in our Parliament restaurant . I will , of course , be very happy to pass your kind words on to Chef so that he can share them with his team . The pork belly happens to be... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked here as central to Colchester, not cheap but not expensive at £60. So the room tired decor, tired sockets and switches, huge stain on the chair. Already feeling let down and over charged. THE SHOWER, it's like it's on life support running from dribble to trickle and back, shower curtain stained brown it's so old, enamel on the bath... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with the hotel following your recent visit to Colchester. Brook Hotels are proud to be the owners and custodians of such a beautiful and historic grade 1 listed building and we believe the decor reflects its rich heritage . We do, of course, welcome all comments and criticisms and regularly replace... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The building was fantastic and had shed loads of character, but the place was let down overall the tired nature of the place. The bath had holes in the side and bathroom overall was very shoddy. The bar was very basic and breakfast was dire. On the positive side the bed was very comfortable and the staff were very helpful.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased to read that you appreciated both the history and character of this Grade 1 listed building. Your views on our current decor are appreciated and I hope that you will accept my apologies for the problems you have noted in the bathroom. I have asked my General Manager to assess and repair any damage immediately. I am... More

Oegstgeest
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Brook Red Lion when visiting the University of Essex. I had a (small) single room. It was OK, but limited in comfort. The bathroom -- and the shower, in particular -- was in need of renovation. The hotel building is definitely quaint. The breakfast ("included") was among the worst I ever experienced: if you are not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us and I am pleased that you appreciated the delightful character and charm of our beautiful and historic building . I am sorry that you were not entirely happy with the single room you stayed in but we do have a schedule that should see more of our... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here last night with a breakfast in the morning. The amount we were asked to pay kept varying from 91, 93 and 95. The room was very small and only a basic double so very expensive. The staff were pleasant but there didnt seem enough of them. In the evening it took 20 mins to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you were not happy with your recent stay with us and can only apologise for the noise from our other guests and the apparent confusion regarding the charge to be made for your stay. I have asked Mr Vyas the General Manager to contact you personally to discuss your feedback with you personally to resolve... More

grimsby
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We stayed here overnight at the beginning of October, it was supposed to be a nice overnight stay for my mum's birthday and to meet up with my son who was working in Colchester. We had 2 rooms, one for me and my husband and one for my mum and brother. Our room, although comfortable, was full of cobwebs hanging... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Vejle
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

We took a short trip to Colchester on the next to last DFDS ferry from Esjberg to Harwich then the bus to the Red lion hotel. The Hotel is in the very centre of the city good for shopping and eating. The Hotel is from 1400 date wise, there is no lift etc so you need to be fit to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DUmmat, Director at Brook Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased that you enjoyed your short break in Colchester and that you found the Hotel’s history interesting and conveniently located for exploring the surrounding areas. I am sorry if you experienced any issues with the efficiency of the Hot water supply to your room during your visit and I have asked maintenance to check room 27 for the... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Brook Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Red Lion Hotel

Address: High Street, Colchester CO1 1DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Red Lion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Brook Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Colchester
Colchester Red Lion
Brook Red Lion Hotel Colchester, Essex

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay