We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 43 Colchester B&Bs / inns

The Railway Sleeper

172 Bergholt Road, Colchester CO4 5AJ, England
Hotel amenities
The Railway Sleeper
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Railway Sleeper to your Saves list
Ranked #11 of 43 Colchester B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014
Andrew F Ipswich, United Kingdom
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    12
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
17
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (42)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

This has been my third stay and there have been some decorative improvements and even more facilities supplied in the room. I found all you would expect in a room from a 3-4 star hotel including dressing gown for less than the price of an Economy Travel Inn. Although it is self check in I have met the hosts and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rugby
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

This is a self check in hotel near Colchester. The check in process is very simple as they send you the door code by text about and hour before you check in and everything is explained to you by email. Colchester centre is about 15 mins by foot, but there's a shop, an Asda (with Café) and several Pubs including... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kim D, Manager at The Railway Sleeper, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback and your great comments which we very much appreciate. We can see you have written a number of reviews at places you have stayed at so you are obviously a well seasoned traveller. We are always pleased to have accurate and fair comments which not only help us as a business but greatly assist other... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

An amazing gem of a small hotel. Did not expect too much due to it being rated as a budget hotel but I was astounded to find everything you could wish for and more in a hotel room. A small fridge, a microwave, a torch, dressing gowns, iron and ironing board plus tea and hot drink making facilities. En suite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kim D, Manager at The Railway Sleeper, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are budget but try and walk the customer trail as much as possible to ensure everyone have what they need for a pleasant stay. Reviews like yours make us even more bespoke than our reputation is already. Thank you once again and we hope to... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

An absolutely lovely place to stay. Very clean, very good location and very well-priced. 9.5/10. Excellent. EDIT: I just wanted to add....this was one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed; it was comparable to a 4/5 star hotel. The whole thing was lovely. I would recommend to family/friends without a doubt.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kim D, Manager at The Railway Sleeper, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your excellent feed back. It makes us feel that it all has been worth it when accurate feed back such as yours has been given Many thanks K Lilley More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I've been to quite a few b&b's over the year's but this was a first. You don't actually get to interact with anyone its all done online and over the phone. The room was excellent ( I thought the fridge and the shared microwave was a nice touch ) albeit a little on the small side. That apart couldn't fault... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kim D, General Manager at The Railway Sleeper, responded to this review

Thankyou for posting a review regarding your recent stay. We do listen to guest comments whether good or bad to see where we can improve. We are very pleased at the many positive comments you paid us and like so many other guests found our all round offering to their liking. As you state, we are primarily a self service... More

Catania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Wrote an amazing review for this hotel because it truly is a great value for money find...my review was declined because of my use of a non profane abreviation...shame cos the hotel was fantastic only Tripadvisor let me down...still recommend this place highly though..enjoy...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kim D, General Manager at The Railway Sleeper, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We are very appreciative of your comments and that you rated us as excellent value for money. We are sorry that your original review was not published by Trip Advisor and do hope if you are in the area again you will look to stay... More

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Have stayed on a couple of occasions once with friends and then on my own and found facilities more than adequate and hosts agreeable hence second stay. Great location for the areas of Colchester I needed to get to so will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Essex
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

really good stay.. great value. Owners were lovely and very helpful..wifi really fast!!...room very clean...I didn't really need to interact with anyone..but when i did it was excellent. Room was clean..great power shower

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in various places and this has to be the best ever close to town central location near to railway station buses and many local service Easy to Book and mr and mrs Payne are most help full Beds are firm and comfortable and the shower the most powerfull I've come across had to turn it down Also dog... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Nice sized rooms, lots of electrical sockets and appliances, first class breakfast and extremely clean. Very friendly staff. highly approve of self check in. Reasonably priced. A much better stay than other establishments.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Railway Sleeper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Railway Sleeper

Address: 172 Bergholt Road, Colchester CO4 5AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Railway Sleeper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Railway Sleeper Colchester, Essex

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay