We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown Hotel

Hotel website
Drummond Road, Skegness PE25 3AB, England
Special Deal
Free Breakfast on Mondays
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Crown Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

97 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    39
    25
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
26
36
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (97)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our family room was a good size, clean and bright. We didn't eat here but had a drink in the bar. It's a 15 minute walk from the centre straight down Drummond road. If it's raining or you don't want to walk the hotel can arrange taxis. A 5 seater cost us £4.50... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me my partner and 6yr old daughter arrived early we headed to the bar and was greeted by a lovely lady, our room was ready before 2pm which was great it was spacious and clean the beds were lovely and comfortable, the staff you can not fault very polite just a few things that let it down on our first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked twin room, it was very small. Room hadn't been cleaned, thick layer of dust on skirting boards & on top of telly. Wall paper peeling off walls, cobwebs in bathroom, light in bathroom was so dim we couldn't see much, shower curtain was dirty & stained. But beds were very comfortable & large & clean towels. You will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for your taking the time to leave feedback. I am sorry that your stay did not exceed expectations. This is our goal and we are sorry on this occasion we have not achieved this. Your feedback is very helpful and it will help us improve. I will get our manager to look into the housekeeping issues you have... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked the Crown because it was cheap and the photos looked nice. Unbeknown to us the breakfast did not come cheap - £25 for a family of 4 - making it not a cheap place as it would have been almost £100 a night for the room for B&B! Luckily we got directed to a more reasonable place down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William M, Director at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your taking the time to leave feedback. We are glad your children enjoyed their time at the Crown, but equally saddened to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We generally get really good comments on our breakfast and think our prices are in-line with what others are charging. We do feel that we offer good value... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let's begin with the highlights. Staff are friendly and helpful. Can't fault the breakfast service. Served promptly in an immaculately set out room and the food is superb, with staff happy to accommodate variations from the set menu. Nice bar serving superb food. Anyone staying in skegness that is putting up with eating the usual fish and chips etc is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
William M, Director at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. We have a great team at the Crown, all eager to please and make your stay great. I am glad that you enjoyed the food, but I am sorry that the reception team did not inform you of the issue with hot water that day. The plumbing yes it has been a... More 

Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Crown is a dated and tired place ,however having said that the room was comfortable ,the place was clean ,the staff are very friendly and the breakfasts and evening meals are very tasty indeed.Amy who was on reception when we arrived and in the dining room for breakfast time was exceptional in all she did she is an asset... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. We are happy that overall you enjoyed your stay and have taken the time to leave feedback. We have a great team at the Crown, all eager to please and put the customer's satisfaction above everything, I am so proud of them. We are working on the hotel to make it better... More 

staffordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the second time we've stayed here and got put in the same room! Still not been updated but we understand that not every room can be done at the same time, The room itself is spacious, with 2 bedrooms and really comfy beds! We had a couple of little hiccups at check in time but these were sorted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
robandamy30, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thank you for taking the time to write a great review and giving us 5/5. The girls are delight with the comments and we look forward to your return. Thank you for choosing the Crown. More 

MIDLANDS UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Some poor reviews undermined our confidence in choice of this hotel. On arrival it looked quite tired outside, the lift was snail-paced, and the corridor areas did look worn. But the work is going into the rooms - ours was new throughout, clean, tidy. Breakfast was very good - no surprises. Overall very good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Thank you for your kind words and constructive feedback. The next time the lift maintenance company are in, we will ask them if they can improve the speed. Glad you liked your room and breakfast; they say it’s the most important meal of the day. I will pass your comments to the team. I hope that you will stay with... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So bad as almost beyond belief at some £75 for the night. Lady serving breakfast was charming but ...... Where to start Whole place totally run down and dilapidated. Bedroom doors unpainted plywood. Furnishings as from a house clearance shop in the back streets from 50 or 60s. Curtains falling off rails Virtually no electric sockets and none by bed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
William M, Director at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. On behalf of our team, I would like to apologise for not meeting your high standards. It is important to us that all guess are happy and have a good experience when staying with us as is normally the case. On this occasion we have failed and I am sorry for... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just stayed one night in a superior double room on 2nd floor. The room was really clean with new bed, new bathroom, great TV, and it was airy and spacious, overlooking the back of the hotel. We ate in the bar and were not disappointed - great food - even 2 for £10 if you want it. Breakfast was of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
William M, Director, at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and feedback. We are all really glad you enjoyed your stay and have taken the time to leave 5 out of 5. That’s brilliant, thank you. We have a great team at the Crown, all eager to please, I am so proud of them. Glad also that you liked the food. I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN North Shore Hotel and Golf Club
0.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 26 in Skegness
3.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
1.2 mi away
Merrydale
Merrydale
#23 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
BEST WESTERN Vine Hotel
#10 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
2.2 mi away
Southview Park Hotel - Park Resorts
0.0 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay