We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sun Hotel

18 - 19, North Parade, Skegness PE25 2UB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sun Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
The Sun Hotel
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    51
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
31
84
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (184)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just been on a national holiday three day break to Skegness, staying at this 'hotel'. On arrival we were informed the lift was out of order, some people said they'd had emails informing them of this fact but we hadn't. However the staff did offer to carry up luggage if required. Our room was on the second floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
carlisle
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were informed the week before that the lift was broken, so I contacted the hotel and asked for a low floor, they were very helpful and we were placed on the ground floor at the back of the hotel, lovely quiet room and comfortable. (room 23) We had to get used to deciding what we wanted for dinner at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My mum and l spent a 5 day holiday at the Sun Hotel,it was our first time in Skegness and at the Sun Hotel.Our room was very comfortable and clean with a great sea view.The meals were very good and always hot.The Staff were helpful and friendly.We really enjoyed our stay and would go back again,would highly recommend hotel.Also caledonian... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival at this "hotel" we were given our key at the front desk and as the lift wasn,t working had to carry our luggage up to 2nd floor the room was clean enough but the on suite was a joke, it measured 2mtrs by 1mtr and had a shower cubicle you couldn,t bend down in, it had no shelf... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Billingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I could not find any fault with this hotel from arriving we were welcomed by friendly staff the rooms were immaculate the food was very good and hot it is a lovely small hotel on Skegness front very handy for shops bars and entertainment a bus stop is only a few yards away 10 mins up the road theres butlins,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sunhotelskegness, General Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, Firstly I would like to thank you for all the lovely comments you have made about this hotel and its staff, We really do try to make every customers holiday individual and special. We look forward to you returning to us in the future! All the Best! Dean More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

on booking asked for a ground floor flat because of my mams health problems and walking gave us a top floor flat which she had to climb 3 flights of stairs with crutche's staff weren't helpfull, food was average,never stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunhotelskegness, General Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, You booked your holiday through National Holidays coach tours, you claim to of asked for a ground floor upon booking but upon reviewing our passenger list from National their was no requests against your booking, Secondly National informed every passenger that the lift was not working and you had the option... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First of all, I would say that I stand by my comments from 2 years ago which were not overly complimentary but not totally critical, hence the return visit. However, the hotel is very much improved in many aspects. The accommodation was clean and comfortable with a spacious bathroom ( no shower in this particular room). The staff were more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sunhotelskegness, General Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, Firstly I would like to thank you for your comments regarding us improving from your last visit, We have worked hard to achieve high standard of customer service and experience, Our food is constantly being review to maintain high standards. Once again thank you, we look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Sleaford
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I booked a 'Deluxe double' with a king size bed via Booking.com we received a 'petite double' (room 6) with a standard bed. Despite this the room was adequate and clean; the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, the entertainment for the evening was so loud in our room that we could not even hear the TV and ,as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sunhotelskegness, General Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, Firstly, Thank you for your comments on our room cleanliness and comfortable beds, also for our Breakfast and service. Secondly, I have looked into your booking and you received the room you booked which was a Deluxe double room with a double bed (not king size) as stated on booking.com, Us... More 

midlands, uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here last night, for 1 night, with my husband. We arrived at 6pm, were greeted and handed our key's and we went up to our room (room 7) The room was Lovely! The bed was huge! Very impressed. We ended up going out and about for a few drinks in the town and came back about 10:30pm. We went... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sunhotelskegness, General Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, I am glad to here that you were satisfied with your room and breakfast. I am truly sorry for the experience you had with one of our cleaners, I can assure you that the issue has been dealt with and will not repeat. We respect everyone's privacy and understand how this... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

We decided to pay a little more for the Castle View suite and although we didnt see the other rooms our room was well worth the money. It is in fact 2 large rooms one with a very comfortable king size bed , balcony and sea view ( directly over looking the Arnold Palmer mini golf course if you know... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sunhotelskegness, General Manager at The Sun Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, I am pleased to hear you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our new suite, This is new to 2015 and is progressing well, We hope to be welcoming you back to us soon. Kind regards, Dean More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay