We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Skegness accommodations

The Monsell Hotel

2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE23 5BQ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Monsell Hotel to your Saves list
The Monsell Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
80%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Sasha S Nottingham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    4
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Room was a nice size for a b & b (although they call it a hotel) clean but work needed to it made some things look shabby e.g. grouting in shower not great. Carpets, curtains, bedding so old fashioned desparately in need of modernisation - could then be a really nice b & b. Despite our concerns for it being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Me and 3 friends stayed at the Monsell last night and we had no regrets about our booking. Devon, the manager, showed us how to go about the place with keys etc.... And provided a service that was second to none. The rooms were clean, comfortable and included various creature comforts. Collectively, we would happily recommend this hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just stayed the one night at Monsell but was welcomed with a smile from the reception staff who showed us how to use key fob and what to do if no one was on reception. The room was very spacious with a nice sofa bed on top (which was a nice surprise), we booked a Superior Room. Tea, coffee, sugar,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for kind review we are glad you found the Monsell to be clean and comfortable. We always like nice guests staying and hope you will come back and see us again some timex. More

Leicestershire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

i stayed here with my friend friday night, we booked the room friday afternoon over the phone, the lady we spoke to was extremely friendly and patient with us (we were driving whilst booking the room and signal was not great on my mobile). when we arrived we had a great welcome to the place, we got showed how to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Rebecca Thank you taking the time to write your lovely review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay at the Monsell and that you consider it an excellent place to stay. We hope you will come back and stay with us again soonx More

Brighton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

My mum and I recently stayed here over the may bank holiday, we were greeted by the manager, to be told that our room wasn't ready yet, so had to wait for about 15 mins, Devon (the manager) couldn't recommend anywhere for a meal, apart from yate's (she's in her 60's) so not somewhere id take her !! During the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, in response to your comments we would like to point out that check in is at 4pm and is well advertised on all websites. Unfortunately we do not have time to find all our guest's suitable restaurants especially as we offer evening meals in our Hotel and we would... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed here with my partner this weekend. It's located about two minutes from the Clock Tower and although it's that close it was really quiet and peaceful at night. We were welcomed by Devon, what a great bloke, really friendly and funny man that made us feel welcome instantly. The rooms were clean and quite large, really bright andThe... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your brilliant review, we are really pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we hope you will be able to come back and stay with us again in the near future x More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The people at The Monsell hotel really know howto look after their guests. There are cheaper places to stay in Skeggy,there are more expensive ones too, but they`d have to be exceptional to out do the welcome you get here at The Monsell. It`s not the classiest of places I`ve stopped in but the bed was comfortable, the food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your very good review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your kind comments. We hope you will be able to come back and visit us again soonx. More

Corby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Just returned from the Monsell. Welcomed by Devon and he showed us how to use key fob and what we needed to do if no one was on reception. We were shown to our room by Devon which was very spacious, we booked a Superior Room which was on the top floor. Tea, coffee, milk & biscuits supplied. Loved the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Hi thank you for your lovely review, we are very happy you had such a pleasant stay with us. We are looking forward to your return visit later in the year x More

Scotland, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed for one night on a Saturday. We were greeted on arrival and shown to our rooms which were very spacious and clean with a large TV. We were looking forward to a cup of tea when we got in that night but there was no milk and no-one around to ask for any! We were awoken at 3.30am... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments and review, we are very happy that you consider the Monsell Hotel to have very spacious and clean rooms. We are sorry on odd occasions some guests do wake up some guests and this does appear to have happen on your visit. The hotel has been fully sound proofed for guests comfort, we have... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel its absolutely beautiful, spacious and very welcoming,all staff are very friendly the hotel is in a tidy condition one of the best places i have stayed EVER!! we booked into the hotel as a rest point from a long drive and left feeling more relaxed than ever, we are staying between all hotels as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are so happy you had such a lovely stay with us and we appreciate your comments. You would be very welcome to return whenever you wish. and we look forward to seeing you again.x More

Been to The Monsell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monsell Hotel

Address: 2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE23 5BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty lodging in Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We extend a warm welcome to all our guests staying at the Monsell Hotel. We are an adult only hotel offering a friendly service in a quiet residential area of Skegness. We hope you will enjoy the relaxed tranquil environment of our Adult only accommodation. We are situated within a 5 minute walk from the beach, promenade, shops and many local attractions. Skegness coach and train stations are only a ten minute walk away. All our bedrooms are fully en-suite with free Wi-fi and flat screen TV. Our bedrooms are newly decorated and furnished and have been designed with your comfort in mind. Free tea and coffee facilities are available in all rooms. We have a large separate dining room and offer an option of a full English breakfast. The Monsell has a key fob door entry system and a large car park. We also have a large comfortable lounge with TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Monsell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Monsell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines