We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Skegness accommodations

The Monsell Hotel

2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE23 5BQ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Monsell Hotel to your Saves list
The Monsell Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
69%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
samantha C London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (57)
  • Photos (10)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (19)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    7
    10
    1
    5
See reviews for
1
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Wonderful stay at the special hotel we return to skegness every year normally to the same hotel but this year it was unavailable so we have to find somewhere at the last moment, so i a came across the monsell hotel we will return to this hotel it is clean and spacious the staff are friendly they even carry your... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What a great hotel, after reading some of the other reviews we was unsure what to expect, we where there for three nights" hotel quiet in lovely location " perfect for our needs room was very clean helpful manager lady, hotel was full but we was not disturbed by any other guests we have booked to stay again on our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alison229, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you for your excellent review, we are so pleased you had a fantastic holiday and everything was to your satisfaction during your stay. Thank you for again for staying at the Monsell Hotel and we very much look forward to you seeing you both again in September. Kind regards, Alison More and more guests are now booking... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First impressions of this "hotel" were not that bad. Seemed nice, young lad I spoke to on check in was very polite and cheerful, room was not massive, but not small either. Bathroom seemed to be built into a cupboard, with the sink outside? Strange. But at least it is en-suite. The only "Edwardian" features I could see were the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, With reference to your second review of your stay at the Monsell, please see our response to your first review under Hostel Hotel. Under the terms and conditions of trip advisor you are NOT allowed to copy and paste reviews you have already made and this review is nearly word for word to that YOU put on earlier. Thanks... More

East Anglia, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for about a just over a week during our trip to lincolnshire. The hotel is great and looks grand , with many historical features. It’s location is superb, located close to skegness town and local restaurants Plus it has very good staff which is not all that common these days. room was large and clean with comfy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Albert, Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you feel the hotel is great and looks grand with many historical features. We are glad you liked the location and liked our staff and found the bed comfy and the rooms large and clean. Thanks again for staying with us and see you again soon. Kind regards Alison... More

Essex
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

According to the literature this is an "adults only" hotel, but apart from the guests, I don't recall seeing any adults, although the lad who checked us in was very polite and friendly, and while he did say "anything you need" just ask, he did not introduce himself. The room, on the top floor was clean and spacious, although the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review and the photos, for saying you would stay again and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for pointing out our high quality rooms and the fact the Hotel was quiet and peaceful, however some of your photos you put on are pointing towards a neighbouring hotel, ie the one with bin... More

Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Appalling attitude of Manageress, to quote "I don't like people", rude on arrival, unavailable, scruffy unclean lady, unhelpful and extremely unfriendly! Very basic room, NO food available, although advertised on bookings.com; would NEVER stay again!! Terrible management.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carole We have checked our records and can't find a record of your stay at the M\onsell however thank you for your review. You say the Manageress was rude and scruffy but was never there strange. You also say no food was available as advertised on Booking.com and we ask everyone to check booking.com and read through the wording... More

Eastwood, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a great stay although the weather was not as good as it could have been ranger with hotel it was clean and spacious the rooms were more than adequate for a need and a starter i will always always there to help us if we needed them we would definitely set this hotel again

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kim, Thank you for your excellent review, we are so pleased you had a great time and enjoyed your holiday despite the weather and also happy you consider the hotel to be in a great location. Thank you for your comments on our rooms being spacious and clean and our staff always being there to help and you would... More

Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

happy with our stay nice location and decorated to a high standered very clean and nice manager abby was helpful when i lost my keys and helped me find them again would have liked a lift but luckerly they moved me to the ground floor thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Milly, Thank you for your lovely review, and we are very pleased you consider the Monsell to be in a great location and decorated to a high standard. We are so pleased you consider our staff to be helpful and we are happy Abby helped find your keys for you. Thank you for booking again and we will see... More

York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a young man with a smile on his face and was obviously happy in his work we were pleased at the reception we received and the room was clean and tidy we had a 3 night stay and enjoyed every minute of it we will definitely return to this hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sylvia, Thank you for your excellent review. We are happy that our staff looked after you well and you found your room to be clean and tidy. We are always grateful to our guests for taking the time to write us a review and we enjoy having nice people stay with us. It was lovely talking to you on... More

west yorks
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for the weekend. Rooms basic although it said superior it wasn't. Big stain on carpet. Room was a good size. We just went to meet friends go out enjoy ourselves so used for sleep and shower so it mainly did it's job. It was quiet when we were there and good parking and excellent location We had issues... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, as you stated I was not at the Hotel during your visit and we have the Manager and Staff living at the Hotel. We are pleased you found the room to be a good size and a beautiful building. We apologise for the stain on the carpet unfortunately we are unable to change... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Monsell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Monsell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monsell Hotel

Address: 2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE23 5BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Monsell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Skegness with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We extend a warm welcome to all our guests staying at the Monsell Hotel. We are an adult only hotel offering a friendly service in a quiet residential area of Skegness. We hope you will enjoy the relaxed tranquil environment of our Adult only accommodation. We are situated within a 5 minute walk from the beach, promenade, shops and many local attractions. Skegness coach and train stations are only a ten minute walk away. All our bedrooms are fully en-suite with free Wi-fi and flat screen TV. Our bedrooms are newly decorated and furnished and have been designed with your comfort in mind. Free tea and coffee facilities are available in all rooms. We have a large separate dining room and offer an option of a full English breakfast. The Monsell has a key fob door entry system and a large car park. We also have a large comfortable lounge with TV. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Monsell Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer