We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Monsell Hotel

2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE23 5BQ, England
Hotel amenities
The Monsell Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
chardenvalentine
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    11
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
2
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (59)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

after reading some of the bad reviews on here I was a bit dubious about our stay at the monsell hotel but I need not have worried. our double ensuite room was spacious and comfortable the bedding was nice and clean too. one small quibble would be there was quite a few cob webs that had been missed on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Pleasent staff on check in, showed to room by young lad who was more than helpful. Room clean, bed comfy. Perfect for the night. No noise problems at all. Situated about two mins from clock tower and all skeggys attractions

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stef Thank you for your excellent review, we are really pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that everything in the room was satisfactory to you. We are also glad you found the location to be ideal and that you had no noise issues. We enjoy having nice guests stay at the Monsell and hope... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014 via mobile

We had a great weekend the staff are friendly and welcoming. We only had one complaint which wasn't down to the hotel but from the previous guest which was dealt with straight away. Would definitely recommend and would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Heidi Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you had a great weekend and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Thank you for recommending us and we hope you will come back and stay with us in the near future. Thanks again for staying at the Monsell Hotel. Kind regards Alison Owner More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We had a warm welcome from the staff and they were most helpfull.The hotel is only about 5 minutes from the shops and about ten from the sea front the rooms were very clean and they also had Wifi good parking spaces at the hotel would stop there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a good review. We are so glad our staff were helpful and you liked the location and car park. We have just had fibre optics installed so we are pleased the wi-fi was good. We hope you will come and stay with us again in the future... More 

Hinckley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We were visiting our Daughter and her young family at Butlin's for the day and planned to drive home that evening; however, as I had the following day off work, we decided to book a hotel for the night and return home the following morning. I think we booked the Monsell Hotel on Bookings.com; it was good value for money... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review, we are pleased you consider our rooms to be value for money and you liked the location too. Our beds have memory foam mattress so we are very pleased you found it comfortable and you liked the room facilities. Our staff do a good job of keeping the hotel clean and we... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I stayed there with some friends, a party of seven all together 3 couples and one female (me) on there own in a room. On the morning of departure i awoke to find a male member of staff had unlocked my door and entered my room. It was 8am he said it was 12pm and my friends had already left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

This review is false and nothing with to do with the Monsell Hotel. Notice it was made from a mobile by someone not known to us and there are no details of stay. We do not take groups and have had no single ladies stay at our hotel. Kind regards Alison Owner More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Gonna get slated by the owners for this but this hotel was poor. No memory foam mattress as advertised , shower was dangerous went from cold to boiling hot then back again no chance for a shower, WiFi does not work on the top floor out of range.Paper thin walls heard neighbours come back in the early hours and invite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Yes Thank you for your review, all our Superior rooms do have memory foam mattress but you did not state which room you had. The showers are electric so there is always hot water and we do supply full instructions in the welcome book in all rooms. Some areas of the Hotel are difficult to receive Wi-Fi which is... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

A lovely quiet hotel, staff are welcoming and friendly, rooms are clean, clean white sheets and towels, walking distance to beach, Restuants, shops and amusements. Everything works in the room, and free parking

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ana and Jay Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review. We are so glad you found our staff welcoming and friendly, rooms, the bed and towels clean, walking distance to the beach, restaurants etc and free parking. We are also happy that you found everything to be satisfactory in your room. We hope you... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

First impressions of this "hotel" were not that bad. Seemed nice, young lad I spoke to on check in was very polite and cheerful, room was not massive, but not small either. Bathroom seemed to be built into a cupboard, with the sink outside? Strange. But at least it is en-suite. The only "Edwardian" features I could see were the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review and the photos, for saying you would stay again and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for pointing out our high quality rooms and the fact the Hotel was quiet and peaceful, however some of your photos you put on are pointing towards a neighbouring hotel, ie the one with bin... More 

Essex
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

According to the literature this is an "adults only" hotel, but apart from the guests, I don't recall seeing any adults, although the lad who checked us in was very polite and friendly, and while he did say "anything you need" just ask, he did not introduce himself. The room, on the top floor was clean and spacious, although the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review and the photos, for saying you would stay again and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for pointing out our high quality rooms and the fact the Hotel was quiet and peaceful, however some of your photos you put on are pointing towards a neighbouring hotel, ie the one with bin... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question