We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Monsell Hotel

2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE23 5BQ, England
Hotel amenities
The Monsell Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
kaz f Holme Lacy, United Kingdom
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    12
    12
    2
    11
See reviews for
3
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (73)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Holme Lacy, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We totally enjoyed our stay at the Monsell hotel after arriving slightly earlier than normal the reception Manager open the door and willingly showed us our room even though we arrived 2 hours early the room was spick and span not a drop of dust anywhere we had a great enjoyable stay and would definitely stay there again we recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us an excellent review. We always do our best to accommodate our guests which includes early check in if needed for a particular reason and we could do this for you. . We are pleased you found your room to be very clean, you had an enjoyable stay and would... More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a great little hotel. We couldn't fault it. Our room was nice with a nice view. The staff were lovely. we had breakfast out which was good and perfectly made . Room was clean. Loved everything Wifi was fast and reliable. We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your brilliant review, we are very glad you had such a good stay with us. Our staff work very hard to make sure our guests have an enjoyable stay and we thank you for your nice comments. We are glad you found the free wi-fi satisfactory and you loved your stay. We look forward to... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Precisely what you expect and want in a seaside hotel with exceptionally friendly and efficient staff and excellent hotel. Great location too, near beach and town pubs great service large room and clean

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your excellent review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, liked the location of our hotel and you found the service good and the room clean. We appreciate our guests taking the time to write us a review. We would welcome you to come back too stay again and thank you for staying at the... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Average b&b. Staff were polite and friendly. Room was very basic. For what we paid for the room it was value for money. We stayed here in November 2014 and I don't think they had the heating on as it was quite cold. If on a budget and wanted to stay in Skegness then yes I would recommend this b&b.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your good review, we are glad you found our staff to be polite and friendly and that you consider our rooms value for money. I can confirm the radiators would of been on in November but we are sorry if you were cold however there is a note in the booklet in rooms that state... More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here as two couples in may and were extremely Happy with everything. The location is perfect for whatever you plan on doing with bars, shopping and the beach just a short walk away. The staff and owners were fantastic and simply a joy to stay with, very accommodating and friendly. The rooms were a good size with all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your excellent review, we are pleased you liked the location of the hotel and had another pleasant stay with us. We are also pleased you found your rooms to be clean and spacious and our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to seeing you again in August and thank you for your... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a great hotel only paid £20 each nice staff large room and very very clean will defo stay again well impressed with the service and value cumfy bed best stay we have had in skeg for years thanks you

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us an excellent review. We appreciate you taking the time to do this. We are very pleased you found the hotel to be nice and very clean, good value for money, good service and the bed was comfy for you. We look forward to seeing you again later in the... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There was nobody on reception at any times we came in, told one of the staff that the fag thing outside was all smokey as someone didn't put there fag out properly in it and I didn't get a thanks and they didn't even sort the problem and it stunk. You could hear everything the people upstairs was saying the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, we would like to remind all guests we have cameras over the front door and reception, outside and hallways. Our receptionist acknowledged there was a cigarette butt burning in the metal cigarette dispenser outside which is what it is provided for, hence her undue concern when you complained bitterly, we had a lot... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was very friendly and really quite and very helpful even helped me to set up wi fi on my computer as I didn't know how to do this. The room was really spacious and very clean will stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your excellent review, we are pleased you had a lovely stay and that our staff helped you and your room was clean and spacious. We would welcome you to come back and stay with us again and appreciate you taking the time to write this review. Thanks again for staying at the Monsell Hotel. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was noisy throughout the night, I didn't understand why I have to leave at 10 when I came in at 3 afternoon it been 19 hours I thought I can leave min at 12 :/ also is disgusting that sink is in room where you supposed to sleep, shower isn't working properly, it smells in room also the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review check in as in most hotels in Skegness is at an allocated time and check out times are standard too. Our check in is 3pm but we do allow guests to check in early if the room is ready or they can leave their car and bags and come back at 3pm.This information... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was extremely disappointed with our stay I up graded to a superior room and there was nothing superior about it the towels where dirty luckily I had packed my own, the carpet looked like it had never seen a Hoover, there was dust and cob webs all over the place I wouldn't walk around without any shoes on as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, we gave you a free upgrade from our cheapest smallest double for £19.50 pppn to a superior room to enable you to have a lovely spacious room. We are sorry you had a towel with a stain on it and the bath mat was not changed. We are in the process of upgrading... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay