We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Skegness accommodations

The Monsell Hotel

2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE23 5BQ, England
Hotel amenities
The Monsell Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Monsell Hotel to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014
Heidi T
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    10
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
2
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We had a great weekend the staff are friendly and welcoming. We only had one complaint which wasn't down to the hotel but from the previous guest which was dealt with straight away. Would definitely recommend and would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Heidi Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you had a great weekend and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Thank you for recommending us and we hope you will come back and stay with us in the near future. Thanks again for staying at the Monsell Hotel. Kind regards Alison Owner More

Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

A warm welcome from the staff and free high speed wifi very impressed. Beautiful view from our bedroom large screen tv and a quiet weekend exactly what we're looking for thank you for a brilliant time :)....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue, Thank you for taking the time to write us an excellent review, we like having nice people staying with us and we are pleased our staff were pleasant towards you and you had good wi-fi. We note you stayed in one of our large superior rooms which have a big TV and we are pleased you had a... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We had a warm welcome from the staff and they were most helpfull.The hotel is only about 5 minutes from the shops and about ten from the sea front the rooms were very clean and they also had Wifi good parking spaces at the hotel would stop there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a good review. We are so glad our staff were helpful and you liked the location and car park. We have just had fibre optics installed so we are pleased the wi-fi was good. We hope you will come and stay with us again in the future... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

We have stayed in many hotels in skegness when visiting the attractions or our friends , we normally trawl through the hotel listing on various websites before choosing a different hotel every time but the first time we stayed at this hotel we knew we had found a hotel we'd like to return too , which is exactly what we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for your excellent review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your second stay with us and it is always a pleasure to have returning guests. We welcome nice people staying at the Monsell and look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Alison, Owner More

Hinckley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We were visiting our Daughter and her young family at Butlin's for the day and planned to drive home that evening; however, as I had the following day off work, we decided to book a hotel for the night and return home the following morning. I think we booked the Monsell Hotel on Bookings.com; it was good value for money... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review, we are pleased you consider our rooms to be value for money and you liked the location too. Our beds have memory foam mattress so we are very pleased you found it comfortable and you liked the room facilities. Our staff do a good job of keeping the hotel clean and we... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

I stayed there with some friends, a party of seven all together 3 couples and one female (me) on there own in a room. On the morning of departure i awoke to find a male member of staff had unlocked my door and entered my room. It was 8am he said it was 12pm and my friends had already left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

This review is false and nothing with to do with the Monsell Hotel. Notice it was made from a mobile by someone not known to us and there are no details of stay. We do not take groups and have had no single ladies stay at our hotel. Kind regards Alison Owner More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Gonna get slated by the owners for this but this hotel was poor. No memory foam mattress as advertised , shower was dangerous went from cold to boiling hot then back again no chance for a shower, WiFi does not work on the top floor out of range.Paper thin walls heard neighbours come back in the early hours and invite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Yes Thank you for your review, all our Superior rooms do have memory foam mattress but you did not state which room you had. The showers are electric so there is always hot water and we do supply full instructions in the welcome book in all rooms. Some areas of the Hotel are difficult to receive Wi-Fi which is... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

A lovely quiet hotel, staff are welcoming and friendly, rooms are clean, clean white sheets and towels, walking distance to beach, Restuants, shops and amusements. Everything works in the room, and free parking

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ana and Jay Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review. We are so glad you found our staff welcoming and friendly, rooms, the bed and towels clean, walking distance to the beach, restaurants etc and free parking. We are also happy that you found everything to be satisfactory in your room. We hope you... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

First impressions of this "hotel" were not that bad. Seemed nice, young lad I spoke to on check in was very polite and cheerful, room was not massive, but not small either. Bathroom seemed to be built into a cupboard, with the sink outside? Strange. But at least it is en-suite. The only "Edwardian" features I could see were the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review and the photos, for saying you would stay again and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for pointing out our high quality rooms and the fact the Hotel was quiet and peaceful, however some of your photos you put on are pointing towards a neighbouring hotel, ie the one with bin... More

Essex
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

According to the literature this is an "adults only" hotel, but apart from the guests, I don't recall seeing any adults, although the lad who checked us in was very polite and friendly, and while he did say "anything you need" just ask, he did not introduce himself. The room, on the top floor was clean and spacious, although the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison229, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review and the photos, for saying you would stay again and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks also for pointing out our high quality rooms and the fact the Hotel was quiet and peaceful, however some of your photos you put on are pointing towards a neighbouring hotel, ie the one with bin... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Monsell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monsell Hotel

Address: 2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE23 5BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Skegness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Monsell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Monsell Hotel

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby