We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Monsell Hotel

2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE23 5BQ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Monsell Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015

Not a bad word to say for the money we paid. Easy to find, walking distance to town Plenty of parking for the cars Greeted on arrival and shown to room Room was clean and bed comfy - only issue we had was the shower going hot then cold but this was soon sorted for us Dont listen to all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Broadsheet27
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your taking the time to do this review and we do appreciate you staying at the hotel and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. As you know the Monsell hotel is situated close to beach and town centre of Skegness and is a purpose built... More 

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015 via mobile

Writing this review whilst having a mini break in Skegness the room is clean and tidy . The beds are so comfy . The check in was swift we arrived early but left our bags with no issues . The shower is good . No issues would come again thank you Staff friendly ignore negative reviews we had a good... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank amyfromlincoln
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give GENUINE reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for the night on 11th sept,when getting to the hotel no car park space so had to park on road.the hotel is very dated and needs a good clean.marks all over the walls when walking to room and there was a smell as you walked in.room was not to bad could be nicer our room was next to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Clare B
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review, we do appreciate you taking the time to do this and we have looked into the problems and grievances that you have had at the hotel. We have a car park for six to eight cars we do say in out welcome pack spaces can't be reserved but there is alos free parking... More 

Travelers are raving about these Skegness hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015 via mobile

When arriving to the hotel staff was great at letting me leave car to park on grounds before checking in. When returned and showed to my room i wish i could go home. On the carpet it had red stains near the drawers. There was holes and screws left in the wall which could of been filled. The curtains was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Leannebrunning
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review, we do appreciate you taking the time to do this and we have looked into the problems and grievances that you have had at the hotel. The curtains are new fully lined just a little long, the hot tap is running perfectly and the door frame is in perfect order but does require... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

Room was clean, fresh towels and tea/coffe replaced once during my 3 night stay with more available on request from reception. Nothing too much for the staff, they are happy to help. Bench available for smokers and car parking on site. Really recommend and would stay again. Location was perfect, the beach and town 5 minute walk away,

Helpful?
1 Thank Tasha G
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give GENUINE reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2015

Never again please don't go Had 4nights there walked into room & i wanted to cry bedding not changed curtains hanging off rail dirty towels left on back of bathroom door not been hoovered no communication with staff as you don't see them only when you book in very noisy had no sleep at all

Helpful?
3 Thank Sonya H
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to do this review, we have looked into the things you have mentioned but unfortunately did not find anything whatsoever as regards to the problems and services that you have mentioned your room was cleaned and checked before arrival and serviced and cleaned daily. If you have a problem in future... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015 via mobile

Iv been to a lot of hotels and this one was by far a waste of money and the worst one. The service was shocking and no one cared to help you or show you what's what the room was extremely Dirty and spider infested. The bedding wasn't clean and the room had no heating also the shower was to... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to do this review, we have looked into the things you have mentioned but unfortunately did not find anything whatsoever as regards to the problems and services that you have mentioned., the showers are a standard size. If you have a problem in future with a Hotel please go down to... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

We were a little hesitant after seeing the reviews but needless to say we had a wonderful time in this super Hotel it was clean and spacious room the bedding was soft and fresh and the staff could not have been nicer even carrying my bags for me would definitely stay in this hotel again next time even bringing my... More 

Helpful?
Thank den s
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give GENUINE reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again... More 

derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

Well where shall i start? Booked in for 1 night on 13 Aug 2015 room 13. I was told when i booked online that it was a 4star Hotel.Personally, i would give it a 4D rating= Dull Dingy Dated and Depressing.This is far more accurate,it lacks both character or style,there is no inter-action between owners and guests,and i have experienced... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank mrmartyn1
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to do this review, we have looked into the things you have mentioned but unfortunately did not find anything whatsoever as regards to the problems and services that you have mentioned. However, In response to some of your comments - You booked our smallest cheapest room at £19.50 pppn (£39 total... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015

me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights, hoping we'd booked somewhere cheap and cheerful for working matters. we wasn't at all pleased with our stay. the staff were rude and didn't seem to have a clue what they was doing. a sheet of paper was left in our room to say that it had been serviced, if this... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank hannahyates97
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review, we do appreciate you taking the time to do this and we have looked into the problems and grievances that you have had at the hotel. Where as some of the things you mention we have sorted out, other things we did not find a problem with. We hope you enjoyed the rest... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.6 mi away
Merrydale
Merrydale
#25 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#9 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#20 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#6 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#27 of 92 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Carmelle Hotel
Carmelle Hotel
#61 of 92 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay