We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Monsell Hotel

2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE23 5BQ, England
Hotel amenities
The Monsell Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
maxbill great britain
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    38
    12
    13
    3
    13
See reviews for
6
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we left a day early just so we didn't have to spend another night. The rooms were fine however, clean and tidy and looked new. Bathroom was fine but shower door didn't quite close properly. Staff were less than bothered about anything and no one came to clean our rooms at all. Rug was stapled to the floor which we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, we consider the price you paid of £21 pppn with a free upgrade from small double to superior double very good value and we are pleased you found this room to be clean and tidy and we will have a look at that shower door. Our hotel has a 24 hour door security... More 

great britain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Didn't find the mould in the bathroom and crack in the shower nice. Apart from that was an average stay for a couple of nights. Nothing special about the place to make it worth coming back but not the worst place ive stayed either

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we are pleased you had a pleasant stay, we have checked all our bathrooms and can't find one with a crack in the shower would you be kind enough to contact us and let us know which room you stayed in so we can rectify the problem. Thank you for staying at the... More 

Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Incredible vacation and a lovely stay in this very nice hotel we stay 3 nights and found the hotel to be more than satisfactory for our needs very clean and very helpful staff there was a small incident one morning when a window was broken by a vandal but the staff handled the situation very well and we were reassured... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your excellent review on your recent stay with us. We are pleased you liked the location, your room and you found our staff to be helpful and it is good to know you would recommend us. Thank you too for your understanding about the vandal and we hope you will come back and stay again... More 

Manchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I don't know how this place qualifies as a B&B. Not only did they NOT serve food but the room we were given was absolutely VILE. Bathroom was so grimy we were afraid to use the shower...and so didn't. We slept ontop of the bedding in our clothes as the sheets was grubby and had hairs on it. I appreciate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We advise all our guests to check the wording before making a booking and also to check the email confirmation from the hotel which is sent to the guest which confirms you booked room only with no breakfast. We can also verify your room was cleaned before your arrival and checked but we apologise for the shower it... More 

Travelers are raving about these Skegness hotels

Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just come back from Skegness, having completed the Loros bike ride from Leicester to Skegness, which was wonderful, however our stay was tarnished by our stay at The Monsell Hotel. The room was not very clean with cobwebs, dust and a not very clean sink and smelt musty. The walls were very thin and we could hear people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your note you left on our Reception desk regarding the smashed windows. This was a very unfortunate incident for us and our guests that happened in the early hours of Sunday morning. The vandals also smashed the charity shop window down the road and two windows of another hotel and if you google you will... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Warm and welcoming hotel with a pleasant atmosphere generously proportioned room with a large screen tv and a nice view out the window would definitely return in the near future thanks for the nice weekend

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your excellent review we are pleased you found the Monsell to be warm and welcoming and you liked the room with large TV. We always like having lovely people stay with us and hope you will find time to come back and stay with us again soon. Thanks again for staying at the Monsell Hotel. More 

Holme Lacy, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

We totally enjoyed our stay at the Monsell hotel after arriving slightly earlier than normal the reception Manager open the door and willingly showed us our room even though we arrived 2 hours early the room was spick and span not a drop of dust anywhere we had a great enjoyable stay and would definitely stay there again we recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us an excellent review. We always do our best to accommodate our guests which includes early check in if needed for a particular reason and we could do this for you. . We are pleased you found your room to be very clean, you had an enjoyable stay and would... More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

This is a great little hotel. We couldn't fault it. Our room was nice with a nice view. The staff were lovely. we had breakfast out which was good and perfectly made . Room was clean. Loved everything Wifi was fast and reliable. We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your brilliant review, we are very glad you had such a good stay with us. Our staff work very hard to make sure our guests have an enjoyable stay and we thank you for your nice comments. We are glad you found the free wi-fi satisfactory and you loved your stay. We look forward to... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Precisely what you expect and want in a seaside hotel with exceptionally friendly and efficient staff and excellent hotel. Great location too, near beach and town pubs great service large room and clean

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your excellent review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, liked the location of our hotel and you found the service good and the room clean. We appreciate our guests taking the time to write us a review. We would welcome you to come back too stay again and thank you for staying at the... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Average b&b. Staff were polite and friendly. Room was very basic. For what we paid for the room it was value for money. We stayed here in November 2014 and I don't think they had the heating on as it was quite cold. If on a budget and wanted to stay in Skegness then yes I would recommend this b&b.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your good review, we are glad you found our staff to be polite and friendly and that you consider our rooms value for money. I can confirm the radiators would of been on in November but we are sorry if you were cold however there is a note in the booklet in rooms that state... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay