We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Monsell Hotel

2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE23 5BQ, England
Hotel amenities
The Monsell Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Hollie L
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    38
    14
    13
    3
    15
See reviews for
6
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After planning a nice weekend break for my girlfriend for her birthday we booked the monsell hotel. Well,looks can be deceiving. The pictures show the hotel being clean and tidy. When walking in reception to check in I was greeted by the lovely sight of the receptionist arguing with a young gentlemen. Then on entering the room,greeted by a stale... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests Thank you for your pictures of your paper cup and saucer, your tablets and the toilet after you used it. The other two pictures of the tops of the very tall store cupboards on each landing have now been cleaned. The room was cleaned before your arrival and when you arrived back at midnight the light bulb was... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The welcoming man was very polite and told us everything we needed to know including door access and times. The room was clean and the TV had great freeview. Location was great, although it was raining so we did drive to go out for dinner rather than walk. All in all, lovely evening and stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give GENUINE reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again... More 

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found the room both clean, comfortable and all the amenities required, shower was lovely and hot, street was quiet when wanting to sleep, don't really know what people are complaining about. The only reason I marked it 4 instead of 5 is because there isn't a breakfast option. Other than that it's perfect and worth more than we paid.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your perfect review, it is refreshing to have a nice genuine review from a lovely guest such as yourself. We welcome you back at the Monsell whenever you wish and we thank you for staying with us at the Monsell Hotel. More 

Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this hotel a week before our arrival, the hotel cost £46 in total, I booked over the telephone and I had to pay £23 by debit card and £23 on arrival, we arrived yesterday about 5.30pm, from the outside it looked a complete dive but we thought we would give it the benefit of the doubt! Well where... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is standard practice for guests to have to pay a deposit if they do not have enough money in their account to pay the full amount on card at time booking, the balance is then due in cash on arrival, that is our policy and you were advised of this when you booked. Why do you consider... More 

Travelers are raving about these Skegness hotels

Rugby, United Kingdom
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we left a day early just so we didn't have to spend another night. The rooms were fine however, clean and tidy and looked new. Bathroom was fine but shower door didn't quite close properly. Staff were less than bothered about anything and no one came to clean our rooms at all. Rug was stapled to the floor which we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, we consider the price you paid of £21 pppn with a free upgrade from small double to superior double very good value and we are pleased you found this room to be clean and tidy and we will have a look at that shower door. Our hotel has a 24 hour door security... More 

great britain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

Didn't find the mould in the bathroom and crack in the shower nice. Apart from that was an average stay for a couple of nights. Nothing special about the place to make it worth coming back but not the worst place ive stayed either

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we are pleased you had a pleasant stay, we have checked all our bathrooms and can't find one with a crack in the shower would you be kind enough to contact us and let us know which room you stayed in so we can rectify the problem. Thank you for staying at the... More 

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Incredible vacation and a lovely stay in this very nice hotel we stay 3 nights and found the hotel to be more than satisfactory for our needs very clean and very helpful staff there was a small incident one morning when a window was broken by a vandal but the staff handled the situation very well and we were reassured... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your excellent review on your recent stay with us. We are pleased you liked the location, your room and you found our staff to be helpful and it is good to know you would recommend us. Thank you too for your understanding about the vandal and we hope you will come back and stay again... More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

I don't know how this place qualifies as a B&B. Not only did they NOT serve food but the room we were given was absolutely VILE. Bathroom was so grimy we were afraid to use the shower...and so didn't. We slept ontop of the bedding in our clothes as the sheets was grubby and had hairs on it. I appreciate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We advise all our guests to check the wording before making a booking and also to check the email confirmation from the hotel which is sent to the guest which confirms you booked room only with no breakfast. We can also verify your room was cleaned before your arrival and checked but we apologise for the shower it... More 

Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015

We have just come back from Skegness, having completed the Loros bike ride from Leicester to Skegness, which was wonderful, however our stay was tarnished by our stay at The Monsell Hotel. The room was not very clean with cobwebs, dust and a not very clean sink and smelt musty. The walls were very thin and we could hear people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Owner at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your note you left on our Reception desk regarding the smashed windows. This was a very unfortunate incident for us and our guests that happened in the early hours of Sunday morning. The vandals also smashed the charity shop window down the road and two windows of another hotel and if you google you will... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

Warm and welcoming hotel with a pleasant atmosphere generously proportioned room with a large screen tv and a nice view out the window would definitely return in the near future thanks for the nice weekend

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your excellent review we are pleased you found the Monsell to be warm and welcoming and you liked the room with large TV. We always like having lovely people stay with us and hope you will find time to come back and stay with us again soon. Thanks again for staying at the Monsell Hotel. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.6 mi away
Merrydale
Merrydale
#22 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#16 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#9 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 26 in Skegness
3.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coasters Hotel & Apartments
0.9 mi away
Southwold Hotel
Southwold Hotel
#32 of 91 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay