We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Monsell Hotel

2 Firbeck Avenue, Skegness PE23 5BQ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Monsell Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    39
    15
    14
    4
    21
See reviews for
7
60
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (93)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Iv been to a lot of hotels and this one was by far a waste of money and the worst one. The service was shocking and no one cared to help you or show you what's what the room was extremely Dirty and spider infested. The bedding wasn't clean and the room had no heating also the shower was to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to do this review, we have looked into the things you have mentioned but unfortunately did not find anything whatsoever as regards to the problems and services that you have mentioned., the showers are a standard size. If you have a problem in future with a Hotel please go down to... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a little hesitant after seeing the reviews but needless to say we had a wonderful time in this super Hotel it was clean and spacious room the bedding was soft and fresh and the staff could not have been nicer even carrying my bags for me would definitely stay in this hotel again next time even bringing my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give GENUINE reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you again... More 

derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well where shall i start? Booked in for 1 night on 13 Aug 2015 room 13. I was told when i booked online that it was a 4star Hotel.Personally, i would give it a 4D rating= Dull Dingy Dated and Depressing.This is far more accurate,it lacks both character or style,there is no inter-action between owners and guests,and i have experienced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to do this review, we have looked into the things you have mentioned but unfortunately did not find anything whatsoever as regards to the problems and services that you have mentioned. However, In response to some of your comments - You booked our smallest cheapest room at £19.50 pppn (£39 total... More 

Travelers are raving about these Skegness hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights, hoping we'd booked somewhere cheap and cheerful for working matters. we wasn't at all pleased with our stay. the staff were rude and didn't seem to have a clue what they was doing. a sheet of paper was left in our room to say that it had been serviced, if this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review, we do appreciate you taking the time to do this and we have looked into the problems and grievances that you have had at the hotel. Where as some of the things you mention we have sorted out, other things we did not find a problem with. We hope you enjoyed the rest... More 

Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked one night stay 11th/12th Aug. We were allocated room 8, Left cases in room and went out for evening meal, arriving back latish we found hairs on bedding and duvet, found a member of staff and asked for the bedding to be changed which they did. we then started to check the rest of the room,I wish we hadn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review, we do appreciate you taking the time to do this and we have looked into the problems and grievances that you have had at the hotel. Where as some of the things you mention we have sorted out, other things we did not find a problem with. We hope you enjoyed the rest... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On arrival we was greeted by Dean who was polite friendly and helpful and cared a great deal about the job in hand, our room was also ready by 12 noon instead of 3PM which was great, all the staff were very polite friendly and welcoming and we were asked in the mornings if our nights in the room were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your superior review, we are so pleased you had a good comfy stay and our staff were polite and friendly, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give GENUINE reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well picked a busy weekend for this so right price for a trip .led me to this hotel, what to say, general inside the vacuum cleaner or the cleaner got the sack Decoration well there's pins around the window reveals to keep the wall paper in place. Curtains hanging of hooks . Furniture all out of charity shops . The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to do this review, we have looked into the things you have mentioned but unfortunately did not find anything whatsoever as regards to the problems and services that you have mentioned. Also as for your very rude comment about our furniture it does not come from charity shops it is all... More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in The Monsell with my boyfriend, our first little holiday away from home. Found the hotel to be nice and pleasant and quiet, staff were friendly and showed us around and how to use the door/key fob system. When we got to our room it appeared basic but was suited to the price we paid. All facility's were nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your very good review, it is so nice to have real genuine nice guests like yourself give GENUINE reviews. We really enjoyed your company at the Monsell Hotel and we welcome you back any time you wish as it was a pleasure having you stay at the Monsell Hotel and we hope to see you... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and i stayed at this place for 3 nights,it was our first time away together and the Monsell hotel looked fine online and suited our budget. The outside of the place was ok but the nets looked really dirty and didnt even match,lol. We rang the bell and a young lad opened the door,didn,t know if he was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review, we do appreciate you taking the time to do this and we have looked into the problems and grievances that you have had at the hotel. Smoking in all hotels is strictly against the law and your wife was smoking out the window which is why you apologised and paid the fine and... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed on the 31st July for one night and honestly, I have never been more horrified. I walked in to a polite lady at the desk who checked us in and then suddenly when we went to pay the other half of our room, we were told there and then that we had to pay by cash. We had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheMonsell, Manager at The Monsell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your second review which we have responded to already below. Thanks again for staying at the Monsell Hotel. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Skegness hotels
0.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#20 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merrydale
Merrydale
#23 of 26 in Skegness
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Eastleigh
The Eastleigh
#8 of 26 in Skegness
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 26 in Skegness
3.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coasters Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel Skegness
Grosvenor Hotel Skegness
#53 of 92 in Skegness
3.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay