We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Stamford hotels

The Bull & Swan

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High St, St Martin's, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Hotel amenities
The Bull & Swan

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com Priceline.com
89%
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Helen V Peterborough, United Kingdom
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    51
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
16
104
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A fantastic hotel and a very enjoyable stay. We got married in Stamford on 29 March. I checked in in the early evening on 28/03 and got a warm welcome and help with my luggage.I had room number 2 all to myself and it was great: the most comfortable hotel bed ever, furniture and decor with character and a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post us your feedback and congratulations from everybody here on your recent nuptials. Tom and the rest of the team are thrilled you had such a great stay. Best of luck in the future and we all look forward to seeing you back at The Bull & Swan very soon More

Suffolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely character Hotel in a perfect location to access all that Stamford has to offer. It has a lovely laid back feel to with staff being helpful throughout the whole stay. The food is great and locally sourced and plenty of wines to choose from. It's just a great place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

We are indeed blessed with a fantastic location, just off the A1 but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Stamford life, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all the team including Chef who will be thrilled to read that you enjoyed the food during your stay. More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights last week. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The bedroom, number 6, was huge and the bathroom was lovely. The stairs are steep, which may be problem if you have a disability, but the staff were so helpful with our bags. We ate there one night. Lovely dining room and food. Breakfast excellent.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, unfortunately we are stuck with our very old staircase however I am pleased to read that we had somebody available to assist you with your luggage. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future More

Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm reviewing the room Nr. 3 which was described as "slightly smaller" than other rooms. This room is supposed to be a double room. I'm pregnant (late stage)  and my stay was just a nightmare. Almost impossible to sleep there for two adults. The room is too noisy during the day because is probably over the kitchen. The pillows are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

I am truly sorry that you didn’t enjoy your recent stay with us, Room three is indeed as advertised the smaller of our rooms which is also reflected in the rate which we charge. I am also some what saddened that you didn’t mention any of your issues during your four night stay, this would have given us the opportunity... More

lincoln, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We just stayed one night here to attend a local theatre production. Everything about it was perfect, hotel room was spacious and very comfortable. We had dinner and breakfast which was everything we could have asked for - the food was well presented and delicious. The staff, especially Tom, were just so approachable, polite and helpful. We will definitely be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

What a fantastic review thank you, I will be sure to put this in our staff room so that everybody gets the chance to read your extremely kind words, We all look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future, and I will be sure to hold back room 1 for yourselves More

Huddersfield
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed for the weekend with friends and we were not disappointed. Everything about the hotel was good - my room was spacious with a large VERY comfortable bed that was even better as I had this all to myself. The pillows and bedding were of the highest quality. The roll top bath was in the room with the toilet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

What a lovely review, I am so pleased to read that we hit all the right notes during your stay, the whole team will be thrilled to read that their hard work has paid off More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

The bull and swan exceeded all expectations from the moment we walked through the door. We went to check in at the bar which was a very relaxed atmosphere, immidetly making us feel at home. The getlman that checked us in couldn't have done more for us, we had rang the night before to get a table In the restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

I’m glad to see that we helped to make your recent Valentines stay one to remember, your room was indeed the smaller of the ones we offer, but still contains all of our quirky little extras that grace all of our rooms and I’m pleased to see that these were enjoyed by yourselves. I will pass on your kind words... More

Leeds
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very impressed when we stayed at the Bull & Swan last week. Our room was spacious, recently decorated, but still had plenty of historic features that gave character to the room. Appreciated the excellent coffee, tea and biscuits included. Freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast always a good sign, and the cooked breakfast that followed was very good. Staff were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

What a fantastic review, thank you! It was a pleasure to have you stay with us for a few days, all the staff pass on their regards and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have stayed in Stamford many times but this was the first time at the Bull and Swan. We arrived tired and saddened by a visit to an elderly relative, a long drive away and were immediately cheered up by a friendly greeting and shown to the very comfortable Stag room. Our dinner, eaten in the cosy bar, was delicious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again next time you are on your way back from visiting your father-in-law. More

European city break traveller
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bull and Swan over the Christmas break. Stayed in the Wild Horse Room with roll top bath and huge walk in shower. Unusual layout of the room... the toilet and bathroom were in separate rooms across a small landing, I enjoyed the quirkiness of it but my boyfriend wasn't so sure and it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

I’m glad that you enjoyed your festive break with us, everybody has been working so hard over this period and it will give them a huge lift to read such lovely reviews like yours. More

Been to The Bull & Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull & Swan

Also Known As:
The Bull & Swan Hotel
The Bull And Swan
The Bull & Swan Hotel Stamford
Bull And Swan Stamford
Address: High St, St Martin's, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull & Swan 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bull & Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull & Swan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Bull & Swan to your Saves list