We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Stamford hotels

The Bull & Swan

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High St, St Martin's, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Bull & Swan to your Saves list
The Bull & Swan
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
89%
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
MoneypennyEngland England
  • Overview
  • Reviews (184)
  • Photos (59)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (54)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    57
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
17
115
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in Room 1 (Ram) for one night and had a very pleasant stay. Our room was lovely - very large with a big comfortable bed, attractively decorated and imaginatively furnished. The bathroom was also large and had a free standing, roll-top bath and separate shower cubicle. The room was quite hot as the hotel is not air conditioned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night as we were going to the battle proms concert at Burghley House. Ideal situation and in walking distance of the concert... rooms dated and dark but comfortable... i just wish they would have one mattress on a double bed and not 2 singles made up as one...very narrow entrance to the car park...but accessible...... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post us your honest feedback from your stay with us. I’m sorry to read that there were a number of flaws during your stay; we pride ourselves on our breakfast offerings and the feedback we get, so I am extremely disappointed that we seem to of let you down in this area, I... More

Melbourne
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
74 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights. A small hotel right in the heart of Stamford. Our room was spacious and well set out, bathroom adequate. The only issue we had was the room did get stuffy, no air con just a fan. The bedding was a doona without a sheet so you either slept with a heavy doona over you or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the whole team who work tirelessly to make sure that every guests stay is as enjoyable as your own. We are currently looking into various air conditioning options that will make a huge difference in the future and I would love to see you again to experience this. More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My visit here was superb! This is a throw back to the coach house days with a modern touch, eat atmosphere, lovely staff and great choice of beer. Our room, with it's warped floors and old furniture was a real pleasure to stay in. My only regret is that we didn't take the dogs, who would have been welcomed not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review, I’m glad everything was to your liking. I hope to see you again in the near future; dogs included who will certainly be made welcome at The Bull & Swan. More

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Travelling from London, I arrived at the dead of night and couldn't have got a kinder or warmer welcome from the night porter, who I'd managed to get hold of via the sister hotel The William Cecil, just up the street, to let him know I'd be there about 1.30am. Shown straight to my room, it was clear it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest feedback and apologies that you missed your alarm call due to your unplugged phone, I do hope you made your conference in good time. I’m happy to read that you enjoyed the many quirky touches which we include in all of our rooms to help create that personal touch you mention. I look forward to... More

Newcastle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed last November, apologies for not reviewing sooner. Stayed in the ram room, excellent, lovely room, great bathroom with walk in shower and roll top bath. Very clean. Great service in the bar and restaurant. Ate there for lunch and dinner all not notch. Gods breakfast particularly the full English but rather small kipper portion! Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

I’m very happy to read that you found the time to share such great feedback, it seems you had a fantastic break and I will be sure to let the whole team know they did a sterling job. More

Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed for three nights in June 2014. We had a lovely room in the old style, very beautifully decorated. The bed was very comfortable and hugh, the biggest we have seen in England. The only small complaint we have about the room was that it became noisy in the evenings because of the bar below. Except for that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share you very kind words with us regarding your recent stay, I really do hope to welcome you back next time you are in England More

Leeds, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Totally forgot to write a review for this place. Stayed just before Christmas and was a perfect location within this old village. Nearby stately home has loads of open park to walk dog and village full of nice shops and eateries. The pub is great with loads of space for diners and socialisers and the food was excellent. Staff were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sunshine Coast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Compared with other establishments in the area, the Bull and Swan represents excellent value. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, the ambience hard to beat and the food excellent. Situated in the heart of town, with its own parking at the rear, this is an Inn of character with an interesting history.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind review, I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay in our fantastic location; I hope to see you again next time you are in the area. More

London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed for one night in Room 1, a large spacious room with decent facilities although some of the décor is perhaps a little sub-par. We could have absolutely no complaints about the service and food (we ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel and really enjoyed both) and had no problems at all with noise despite our room facing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I’m sure the entire kitchen team will be buoyed by your kind words regarding the food you had during your stay. I’m also pleased to see that you weren’t disturbed by any noise from the road. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Bull & Swan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Bull & Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull & Swan

Address: High St, St Martin's, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull & Swan 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Bull & Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull And Swan
The Bull & Swan Hotel Stamford
Bull And Swan Stamford

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Stamford with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
7

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bull & Swan staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer