We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Stamford hotels

The Bull & Swan

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High St, St Martin's, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Bull & Swan to your Saves list
The Bull & Swan
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
89%
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Candis T Fareham, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (183)
  • Photos (59)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (53)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    56
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
17
114
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for one night as we were going to the battle proms concert at Burghley House. Ideal situation and in walking distance of the concert... rooms dated and dark but comfortable... i just wish they would have one mattress on a double bed and not 2 singles made up as one...very narrow entrance to the car park...but accessible...... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
73 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights. A small hotel right in the heart of Stamford. Our room was spacious and well set out, bathroom adequate. The only issue we had was the room did get stuffy, no air con just a fan. The bedding was a doona without a sheet so you either slept with a heavy doona over you or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My visit here was superb! This is a throw back to the coach house days with a modern touch, eat atmosphere, lovely staff and great choice of beer. Our room, with it's warped floors and old furniture was a real pleasure to stay in. My only regret is that we didn't take the dogs, who would have been welcomed not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Travelling from London, I arrived at the dead of night and couldn't have got a kinder or warmer welcome from the night porter, who I'd managed to get hold of via the sister hotel The William Cecil, just up the street, to let him know I'd be there about 1.30am. Shown straight to my room, it was clear it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed last November, apologies for not reviewing sooner. Stayed in the ram room, excellent, lovely room, great bathroom with walk in shower and roll top bath. Very clean. Great service in the bar and restaurant. Ate there for lunch and dinner all not notch. Gods breakfast particularly the full English but rather small kipper portion! Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

I’m very happy to read that you found the time to share such great feedback, it seems you had a fantastic break and I will be sure to let the whole team know they did a sterling job. More

Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for three nights in June 2014. We had a lovely room in the old style, very beautifully decorated. The bed was very comfortable and hugh, the biggest we have seen in England. The only small complaint we have about the room was that it became noisy in the evenings because of the bar below. Except for that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share you very kind words with us regarding your recent stay, I really do hope to welcome you back next time you are in England More

Leeds, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Totally forgot to write a review for this place. Stayed just before Christmas and was a perfect location within this old village. Nearby stately home has loads of open park to walk dog and village full of nice shops and eateries. The pub is great with loads of space for diners and socialisers and the food was excellent. Staff were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sunshine Coast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Compared with other establishments in the area, the Bull and Swan represents excellent value. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, the ambience hard to beat and the food excellent. Situated in the heart of town, with its own parking at the rear, this is an Inn of character with an interesting history.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for such a kind review, I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay in our fantastic location; I hope to see you again next time you are in the area. More

London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed for one night in Room 1, a large spacious room with decent facilities although some of the décor is perhaps a little sub-par. We could have absolutely no complaints about the service and food (we ate dinner and breakfast at the hotel and really enjoyed both) and had no problems at all with noise despite our room facing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I’m sure the entire kitchen team will be buoyed by your kind words regarding the food you had during your stay. I’m also pleased to see that you weren’t disturbed by any noise from the road. More

Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed there for one night at the end of May whilst on a pilgrimage to Stamford to visit watchmaker Robert Loomes. Had Room 1. Big and comfortable and full of character. The staff were friendly and attentive (which is not always the case when traveling alone) and the food fantastic. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James C, Manager at The Bull & Swan, responded to this review

I’m glad to read that you enjoyed your recent trip to Stamford. We like to pride ourselves on great customer service whether you are travelling solo or part of a large group. We hope to see you again during your next ‘pilgrimage’ to Stamford More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Bull & Swan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Bull & Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull & Swan

Address: High St, St Martin's, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull & Swan 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Bull & Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull And Swan
The Bull & Swan Hotel Stamford
Bull And Swan Stamford

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
7

See which rooms travelers prefer