We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Stamford hotels

The William Cecil at Stamford

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The William Cecil at Stamford to your Saves list
The William Cecil at Stamford
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
83%
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Tora858 London, England, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (283)
  • Photos (81)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (111)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

283 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    100
    33
    11
    3
See reviews for
39
162
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed two nights at The William Cecil. The service on all counts was excellent, unobtrusive but attentive and it is a beautiful place. I stayed in Tijou while my mother was in Sarah Hoggins. In respect of Tijou, the windows are high up and double glazed so it was hard to get a breath of air on what turned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your very constructive and helpful review. Whilst it was unseasonably hot when you stayed, I do accept that maybe we should have done more to try and cool our bedrooms. Your suggestion of portable aircon units is a very good one and we will certainly look into it next time we have a similar spell of weather. More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed for one night recently for a friends wedding. On arrival we parked in the large and easily accessible car park and made our way to reception where we were met by extremely helpful staff who quickly booked us in and directed us to out room, I can't remember the name of the room but it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you had a such an enjoyable stay albeit a tad disappointed to hear that your meal in the restaurant wasn't exactly how you like it. We do offer 'simpler' fare on our bar menu including a truly scrumptious sirloin steak with onion rings, chips & a lovely peppercorn or béarnaise sauce. More

bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our second visit to the William Cecil and we chose to stay in a Chic room this time as we found the Classic rather small. Our room Bacchus, number 18 was at the rear of the hotel overlooking a flat roof. The very large bed was extremely comfortable and this was a definite plus about the room, together... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind and helpful review. We are hoping to add further chairs to many of our bedrooms later this year so you should no longer need to request this during your next visit. More

London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

At all costs avoid 'stretch the upholsterer' room 23. It is disgraceful that the hotel dares to let this room. Undoubtedly the worst room in the hotel no doubt for servants of old and unfortunates of new I had the worst night sleep ever!! Whilst I appreciate I was informed room had limited head height at 5' 8" I felt... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Despite us informing you prior to arrival that you were in a small room with a low ceiling, I'm sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to expectations. At the time of your visit we were experiencing unseasonably hot weather but I do accept that we should have provided a fan in... More

Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We held our wedding at The William Cecil in June. After plenty of venue visiting and researching we came across a true gem in The William Cecil. We were looking for somewhere that could host our very personal, intimate and relaxed wedding. Full of ideas we made an appointment with Vicki and after looking around and going through how our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

What a cracking review! Thank you so much for your kind words. The whole team we're delighted to look after you and your guests and are so pleased to see that their hard work was very much appreciated. Congratulations and best wishes to both of you from everyone at the William Cecil. More

Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am not easily pleased when it comes to hotels but I have to say that I have absolutely no complaints about the William Cecil. I had a very spacious comfortable room on the ground floor at the back with of course an en suite bathroom with bath and shower but, to my surprise, an en suite garden as well!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. We're delighted that you got to experience all aspects of the hotel. We're proud as punch that you've decided to return to us again next year. Maybe you could dine at our little sister, the Bull and Swan next time you're with us... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I only stayed one night but had a really great stay. The hotel is in walking distance of both Stamford and Burghley House (a lovely walk through the grounds). My room was commodious and comfortable and there were quirky and interesting pictures and objects all around. The service was excellent with lots of choice for breakfast. I hope to return... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

We too hope you return soon! It was a real pleasure to host you whilst in Stamford. The whole team are very grateful for your kind comments. More

London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My hubby and I spent 2 nights at the William Cecil celebrating our anniversary and had a really fantastic time. The staff couldn’t have been more welcoming and helpful - they even went as far as giving us a courtesy call prior to our late arrival to offer cold plates of food to be sent to our room in case... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were so pleased to hear that you were spending your anniversary with us so I'm delighted you had such a pleasant stay. I'm afraid we're not really a slippers kind of place, but we do provide lovely fluffy bathrobes in all our luxury rooms. More

Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The William Cecil is ideally situated within walking distance of Stamford town centre. The delightful staff certainly lived up to the aims of the Group to which the hotel belongs to provide quality customer service. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed for just two nights and were sorry our stay was so short. The hotel building is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. It's a real pleasure to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. I will make sure I pass on your lovely comments to our team. More

London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at the William Cecil. Everything was perfect from the booking procedure, the welcome when we arrived and the upgraded room which we paid for was really comfortable, spacious and well maintained. We also had the benefit of French windows which opened onto a lovely garden which was like our own private space. The hotel was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and pleased as punch to hear that we were recommended by your friends who live locally. We hope you'll choose to stay with us again, next time you're in Stamford. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The William Cecil at Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The William Cecil at Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William Cecil at Stamford

Address: St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The William Cecil at Stamford 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The William Cecil at Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The William Cecil At Stamford Hotel Stamford

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
27

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer