We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The William Cecil at Stamford

4.0 of 5 St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The William Cecil at Stamford
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The William Cecil at Stamford
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    114
    39
    11
    3
See reviews for
42
197
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (337)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (115)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (76)
All months
Westbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at The William Cecil on 22nd and 23rd August '14. As the weather was warm, we were a little concerned with the heat, having read previous reviews regarding this hotel. The room was at the top of the building and was indeed on the warm side. We talked to reception about this and within minutes an air cooling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and i have recently returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel which is listed as 4 star. Our experience was mixed albeit we would consider staying again. Firstly the positives. The Hotel is very attractive and on the edge of town next to the Burleigh house estate and its very pleasant grounds. The staff were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having had an unfortunate experience during my last visit to the William Cecil, management extended an invitation to return and give them another chance. My trip this time was flawless and a complete pleasure from start to finish. A genuine warm and professional welcome, a fantastic room 'queen of palmera' with a stunning bathroom and all the little extras you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first trip to Stamford and we loved it. The hotel was lovely. We had one of the chic bedrooms which was nice and spacious. There was everything we needed in the room including a decent hairdryer. The biscuits were particularly nice and could have eaten my husbands as well as mine. We had an evening meal the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay but disappointed the beef didn't live up to expectations. I've chatted with our kitchen team about this to ensure we look at increasing our portion sizes. Sam is extremely grateful for your kind comments and we all hope to see you again very soon. More 

Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 1 night for my husband's birthday we were upgraded to a luxury room.Restaurant had a nice selection of food and wine staff very professional in all areas of this hotel.Some of the area's of the hotel could do with a little TLC looking slightly shabby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted you had such an enjoyable stay. We were extremely busy during December so by our own admission some areas of the hotel were in need of some TLC. We've been very busy during January putting this right so we are well on the way to ensuring the that the hotel looks pin sharp... More 

Wiltshire, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights in room five whilst visiting friends and family in the area. First impression of the room was it was rather shabby chic with some areas (bathroom paint peeling, stains on carpet and Ill fitting blinds) far more shabby than chic. We had a lot of noise coming from the kitchen including a fair amount of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry the bedroom didn't live up to your expectations and that our offer of another room was declined. We very much hope you will give us another try so that we can have the opportunity to make amends. More 

Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very much looking forward to our stay at The William Cecil as we have eaten there many times and always been very pleased. The price of our room was the same as what we have paid at The George & Hambleton Hall, 2 local hotels to this one, therefore, we were expecting great things. There was no sofa... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It's a shame you didn't raise any of your concerns during your stay to make us aware of the prevailing issues as we would have gone out of our way to rectify things for you. I'm sorry that your sleep was disturbed by other guests and that fellow diners in the restaurant were also too... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Superb building,great location and wonderful contemporary rooms.Excellent restaurant and selection of fine food and wine. Friendly professional staff and excellent facilities would definitely return but for longer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Wow, thank you for such a wonderful review! We're delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to having an extended break with us very soon. More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights for a friends wedding . first night was awful as the room was like a prison with a little window just below the cieling that you can't even see out ! I wouldn't even pay £30 for this room ! The hotel were kind enough to move us the next night and wow!!!!! What a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you didn't like your first room but glad to hear that we were able to resolve this so that you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to see you again soon More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed after the New Year for the weekend, lovely room with a very comfortable bed. Tea and coffee facilities in the room. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was great with a large selection of choice. We did not eat in the restaurant but had drinks in the bar which was comfortable and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. I'm delighted you had such an enjoyable stay but sad to hear you were a little cold in our residents lounge. Although we don't have a real fire in this room we do always have a roaring fire in the bar, which has plenty of comfortable seating to enjoy a book or a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The William Cecil at Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William Cecil at Stamford

Address: St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The William Cecil at Stamford 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The William Cecil at Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The William Cecil At Stamford Hotel Stamford

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay