We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Stamford hotels

The William Cecil at Stamford

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The William Cecil at Stamford to your Saves list
The William Cecil at Stamford
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
83%
Ranked #3 of 8 hotels in Stamford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
AndiEpton-Smith Peterborough, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (293)
  • Photos (81)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (114)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

293 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    102
    34
    11
    3
See reviews for
40
167
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Juliet and the staff hosted our wedding perfectly. Everything ran very smoothly and we had a memorable day. The food was very tasty and extremely well presented. The grounds are beautiful and very kept. Overall the hotel and restaurant are to a very high standard and we look forward to returning for a meal in the near future

Was this review helpful? Yes
England
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is an excellent hotel with exceptional staff. Our room was large and bright and well appointed. The service could not have been better. All the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and valued. We throughly enjoyed our stay. Just two negative points, the portions could be a little more generous at breakfast and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
england
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a night this August on a last minute booking. Both my wife and I really enjoyed the place. Our room was large and had a huge bed and bathroom. As reviewers say the rooms at the front face onto a moderately busy road and so there is road noise but we slept with the window open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quimper, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasant hotel downtown, quiet with nice decoration. Very good breakfast, and comfortable bedrooms. Avoid bedrooms close to main road otherwise you will loose your morning dreams! Hotel is well located with multiple restaurant and nice walks

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay More

Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The William Cecil is a thoroughly good hotel across a range of criteria; it is a lovely old building, it is positioned superbly on the edge of Stamford, its staffs are friendly, welcoming and efficient, and it has a huge car park - always a bonus for weary travellers who are spared the trials of parking searches. It is also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest and helpful review. I would agree that our duvets are not suitable for very hot weather and I very much hope to have this resolved by next summer. We've already addressed the issue with the voile in your bathroom and I can only apologise for the poor quality of eggs at breakfast. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at William Cecil for one night. The hotel is located about 10mins walk from the town centre. The building itself is old but well maintained. Our room was spacious and had all the necessary amenities. The receptionist was kind enough to bring forward the check-in time so we had enough time to prepare for a wedding we attended.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Great review, thank you. You must make sure you visit us again soon so that you can experience one of our other lovely bedrooms. More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This beautiful hotel is on the outskirts of Stamford but still an easy walk to the Meadow & the centre of town. The room we had was amazing. It was a deluxe room & was huge with an enormous bathroom complete with claw foot bath. The breakfast in the morning was lovely with great choices of hot & cold food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We're delighted you had such a great stay and very much hope you will return to Stamford soon. More

Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at the William Cecil Hotel at about 5pm were checked-in quickly and shown to our room. The double room we were given was in the roof of the building up numerous staircases the last being extremely steep and narrow not great for an aged couple. The next problem was the heat in the room, it was unbelievable, we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you found your bedroom on our top floor too hot during your stay. Whilst we are not able to install air-conditioning in our rooms due to the age and configuration of our building, I do accept that we need to find a solution to this problem when we experience very hot weather.... More

Front Royal
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you are looking for an overnight stay in Stamford I cannot rate the William Cecil highly enough. In our extensive travel experience we have never received such attentive service as we did here. From checking in to having a drink in the bar to dinner and breakfast and finally to checking out we could not find a single thing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind words. The team work extremely hard to make sure every guest leaves happy so they'll be delighted to read your review. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've just returned from a one-night stay at The William Cecil hotel; it was my first time there and I was not disappointed. The staff could not have been more helpful and the grounds and hotel itself are splendid. The purpose for our stay was to attend the Burghley House Film Festival, which was also an excellent event (made even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PaulBrn, Manager at The William Cecil at Stamford, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. Make sure you don't wait until next year's film festival to visit us again! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The William Cecil at Stamford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The William Cecil at Stamford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William Cecil at Stamford

Address: St Martins, Stamford PE9 2LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Stamford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The William Cecil at Stamford 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The William Cecil at Stamford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The William Cecil At Stamford Hotel Stamford

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Stamford with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
27

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The William Cecil at Stamford staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer