We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 53 Taunton B&Bs / inns

Culmhead House

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Culmhead, Taunton TA3 7DU, England
Hotel amenities
Culmhead House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Culmhead House to your Saves list
79%
Ranked #33 of 53 Taunton B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
bob b
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    6
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
11
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on a Saturday night whilst on business in the area. Lovely old country house with great walks in lovely grounds. We had the Beech suite. Bed and breakfast. Good value for two bedrooms full kitchen, lounge and bathroom. Excellent breakfast choices available and presented very well. Cooked English breakfast was a little disappointing in terms of quality and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. The bathroom was in fact booked in to be re-done the week after your stay and I should have explained this. Also I apologise for the fact you didn't manage to connect to the Wi-Fi. I didn't realise this and would have offered you the use of our hall to connect to BT broadband which... More

London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a group of 3 people in one of the apartments and it was perfect for our needs; spacious, clean and comfortable with a large kitchen complete with very nice tea and biscuits! The breakfast served by the wonderfully friendly owner was the best you could imagine: fresh strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. I hope we can welcome you back again one day! More

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Six members (plus two three year olds) of our family descended on Culmhead House for half term week. Our welcome was warm and friendly, the owners very helpful. Our accommodation was clean, comfortable and the kitchens well equipped. We stayed in 'Beech' and 'Mimosa' a delightful time had by all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Glad you had such a great time. We hope you can visit again in the holidays and the children can chase the "free range" chickens about! More

London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Having visited Culmhead House previously, and explored much of the surrounding areas, we were delighted to re-visit as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The weather was much better this time, so we were able to explore the grounds in great detail and make friends with the alpacas / pigs / doves properly! The breakfast is top notch and I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from the Culmhead.i spent 2 nights their and all i can say is that the place was stunning and the room was terrific . Mrs Rodgers was a fantastic host , who really went out of her way for me . I had car trouble and was stranded in nearby Wellington , she dropped everything and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us despite the problems you had with your car. S R was delighted to help you . We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More

Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The photos on the website looked very inviting, so we were suprised on arrival to see the house in such a state of disrepair. The porch housed a dirty great birdcage which had droppings and feathers everywhere which had obviously not been cleaned up for months.Not a good first impression. Going up the staircase which was full of dust and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

We are sorry that your experience was not to your liking. We do our best to ensure the rooms are clean and tidy for our guests. I see that you have picked up on a few areas that need to be looked into from our side. Thank you and we will ensure that these areas are attended to. You do... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Beech apartment was spacious, fully equipped and set in beautiful countryside. However, the bathroom and kitchen are very outdated. There was no hot water in either the kitchen or bathroom sink (used a kettle to heat water when washing dishes). There was only one lightbulb in the bathroom, the other three were not functioning. These were small things but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughts on your stay in our home. Your comments have been noted. I apologise for the fact that the hot water was not turned on for you, however had you told us we could have flicked the immersion on for you. I understand the shower was working as it is heated separately. Once again we thank... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Extremely welcoming and friendly people me and my better half had lovely stay in the mimosa suite which was like a home from home, very well equipped with everything we could have needed and with amazing views and would highly recommend to our friends to stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to you returning in the future. More

York, Maine
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A very lovely apartment, well equipped and fantastic surroundings. We loved the alpacas and so did our little 18 month old son...and the trampoline and pigs! Susan was a kind host, cot and highchair provided and we had a very comfortable night's stay. The breakfast was top class, lovely Dorset cereals, a full English if you wanted and fresh pastries.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your return and lets hope you get some nice weather to enjoy the grounds in . Regards More

Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The location, food, service and ambience is of the highest standard. The proprietors are charming and interesting people and couldn't have done more to make us feel at home. We unreservedly recommend Culmhead House.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tim r, Owner at Culmhead House, responded to this review

Thank you Andy N. We look forward to welcoming you again to our establishment in the near future. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Culmhead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culmhead House

Address: Culmhead, Taunton TA3 7DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Culmhead House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Culmhead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culmhead House Taunton, Somerset

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay