We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brookfield House

4.0 of 5 16 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 4EQ, England
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brookfield House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Brookfield House
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    35
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
54
17
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (154)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Ipswich Suffolk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

An acceptionally lovely Guest House with both Contempory and Vintage Decor. Very good quality of service, welcoming and excellent menu and food. Very good value all round. Would definitely recommend it to anyine

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear Christine, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review which we very much appreciate. It was so nice to hear you found your accommodation comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us at Brookfield House. We will look forward to welcoming you back again should you need to visit Taunton in the near... More

Worcester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stopped here for one night, and at the end of a busy week wanted somewhere clean and comfortable. Well, we were not disappointed. Brookfield House is spotless. The en-suite was gleaming. The bed was so comfy we were in danger of missing breakfast, which would have been a disaster as the breakfast was second to none! There was a... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear Jo, Thank you very much for writing such a lovely positive review regarding your recent stay with us at Brookfield House, which is most appreciated. We were so pleased to hear you found your accommodation comfortable and enjoyed your breakfast which is always so important. We will of course, look forward to welcoming you both back again should you... More

UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for one night whilst on business. I was late checking in, so it really was a flying visit. A positive experience on the whole, the host was very friendly, the room was clean and comfy, with very fast free wifi, and I had a nice breakfast the next morning. I must admit though, that it felt like... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay with us at Brookfield House. We were pleased to hear you found your accommodation comfortable and the WiFi fast as this is always an important factor for guests. We do take on board your comments regarding décor and as always, this is an... More

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was the cleanest B&B we have ever stayed in, and the room was lovely - TWO armchairs, a king-sized comfy bed, spotless deep pile carpet and views over the garden. Free Wi-fi, a comprehensive menu for the evening meal ()n the end we wished we'd opted for this instead of going out) and Ian couldn't do enough to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear Vanessa, Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a lovely review which we very much appreciate. We were so pleased to hear you found your room comfortable and you enjoyed your stay with us at Brookfield House. We have taken on board your comments regarding the heating and try to adjust this according to... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having paid for one of the large rooms, we thought there had been some mistake when we opened the door to one of the tiniest 2-person bedrooms we've ever stayed in. It probably wouldn't have been an issue if we were staying just one night, but for 3 nights it was really inadequate - virtually no drawer space, a tiny... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We were so sorry to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Brookfield House and can only apologise that your stay with us was not as comfortable as you would have liked. It is also so unfortunate you did not bring this to our attention when you first arrived as we would have been pleased... More

Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night on our way home from Cornwall. Picked Brookfield House after searching on Trip Advisor , everything I had read was so true, cleanliness was faultless, lovely shower room & comfortable bed. Breakfast was good & plenty of choice. Would stay again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear Pam, We were very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit with us at Brookfield House and found your accommodation comfortable during your stay. We would also like to say thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review which is very much appreciated. We will look forward to welcoming you back again in... More

chester uk
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have never been in a room so clean .The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.The breakfast was good as well with a good choice The host was every attentive .We will stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for kindly taking the time to give us such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay with us a Brookfield House. We were so pleased to hear you found your accommodation comfortable and we will look forward very much to welcoming you back again in the near future. Best wishes Jill & Ian More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely clean room with luxury toiletries :D Very big, comfortable bed Lovely tea & coffee making facilities Breakfast was superb, loads of choice from the buffet side and on the menu Will be coming back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear Emma, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review regarding your recent stay with us at Brookfield House. We were pleased to hear you found your accommodation comfortable and we will look forward to welcoming you both back again in the near future. Best wishes Jill & Ian More

West Lothian
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We used trip advior to choose our b and b for a one nignt stay on our way south west..we were not disappointed. ?.a lovely welcome, upgraded room which was veth welcome and a fantastic breakfast all added up to a lovely stop off on route south. Thank you very much. Nb..your recomme dation for dinner at the Wine and... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Baird, Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a lovey review regarding your recent stay at Brookfield House. We are so pleased you enjoyed your one night stay and found your accommodation comfortable. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back should you be passing through Taunton again in the near future.... More

Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We always have a lovely stay with Jill and Ian. We go every 2 years when we meet up with family. Rooms so comfortable and the food is second to none with content and variety. Jill remembers that I love a really ripe banana and it's always there for me. Thank you Jill. I would happily recommend the guest house... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jill and Ian R, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review

Dear Jo, Thank you kindly for taking the time to give us such a lovely review about your recent stay with us at Brookfield House. It is always a pleasure to be able to accommodate and welcome you both back on your visits to Taunton. We will look very much forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Brookfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield House

Address: 16 Wellington Road, Taunton TA1 4EQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brookfield House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Brookfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield Hotel Taunton
Brookfield House Taunton, Somerset

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay