We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mount Somerset Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Lower Henlade, Taunton TA3 5NB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Why TripAdvisor?
  • Lowest prices from 200+ sites
  • 1.5 million hotels and accommodations
  • 225 million reviews and opinions
Save
You added The Mount Somerset Hotel to your Saves list

At a glance

79%
Positive reviews?

HOTEL PHOTOS

The Mount Somerset Hotel
Professional photos

BROWSE NEARBY

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Check In Check Out
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    434 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Rate and write a review
    Roll over, then click to rate
      Click to rate
    Traveler rating
      219
      125
      44
      32
      14
    See reviews for
    60
    223
    7
    31
    Rating summary
    • Location
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Sleep Quality
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Rooms
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Service
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Value
      4 of 5 stars
    • Cleanliness
      4.5 of 5 stars
    Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
    Date | Rating
    • English first
    • French first
    • German first
    • Any
    English first
    • All months
      (434)
    • Mar-May only
      (123)
    • Jun-Aug only
      (130)
    • Sep-Nov only
      (88)
    • Dec-Feb only
      (93)
    All months
    Evesham, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    7 reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

    Beautiful setting, good service from staff and my room with hot tub was amazing. Only bad side was the bar was so expensive I had to sell my car to get around in all in all was a fab place for our sons & now daughter in laws wedding Thank you to all the staff who made it such a... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Paul M, Many thanks for your review, it was a wonderful day, with the sun shining & all of us hear at the Mount Somerset enjoyed looking after the Bride & Groom on their special day & looking after yourselves also. I am glad you had a nice stay, sorry you found the drinks expensive our price's are on... More 

    Taunton, United Kingdom
    1 review
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    I booked Afternoon tea ..a friend bought me a voucher which clearly stated Afternoon Tea ...but sadly we were served 2 hard scones and a pot of tea or coffee...Nothing more. At best that is a cream tea not afternoon tea! .........,,,..........................

    Was this review helpful? Yes 2
    MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear lucylovellx, Sorry to hear about your disappointing cream tea with us recently but I am delighted that you spoke with one of us directly on the phone & returned to us today & enjoyed the afternoon tea! Look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards More 

    Santa Eulalia
    Level Contributor
    185 reviews
    31 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    Just one night in this elegant hotel set in beautiful grounds just outside Taunton, but it was a comfortable and reasonably priced stay. I was given a large, sunny, room in one of the more modern wings that was most comfortable with the largest bathroom I have seen in any country house hotel. The only problem was that the towel... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Rory M, Many thanks for your review about your recent stay with us, I'm glad that your enjoyed your stay & apologies for the towel rail & shower issue you had. Good to read that you enjoyed the food & service in the Restaurant. We look forward to you returning again soon. More 

    Worcestershire, United Kingdom
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    We stayed at this hotel in March '15 for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We experienced the 7 course taster menu on our second night which was of a very good standard, although it was a little rushed between courses - we probably could have done with a little more time between each dish. However, it was excellent... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Becky S, Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us in March, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, I have taken note about your comment regarding the times when eating the tasting menu. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Mount Somerset again in the future. More 

    Level Contributor
    11 reviews
    9 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
    2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    We have just returned from a stay at the Mount Somerset hotel & Spa. We stayed in a garden room which had its own private hot tub. We paid £229 for bed and breakfast. Our first impressions upon driving up to the hotel were very good. The grounds looked nice and well kept and plenty of parking. We walked in... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear NikiB123, Many thanks for your review, sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us but also thank you for contacting me directly at the Hotel so that we could discuss your stay further, I hope to hear back from you soon. Kind Regards More 

    France
    Level Contributor
    45 reviews
    8 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    Stunning setting! The white Regency building cuts a striking pose on the landscape as you round the final corner of the approach road. Already excited, your senses continue to be delighted as your experience unfolds. Beautifully kempt gardens that are a pleasure to stroll around on a sunny day; a spot of croquet after lunch anyone? To reach the Garden... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear TroublesomePlum, It is wonderful to read your review of how you enjoyed your afternoon with us at the Hotel. The Gardener will be pleased with your mention of the grounds. You should come to visit again & maybe try relaxing in our spa or treat yourself for dinner. Thank you again for your review we look forward to welcoming... More 

    Taunton, England, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    4 reviews
    3 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    We have never stayed in the hotel but being almost on our doorstep we have spent many evenings in the restaurant with friends and family. Celebrated our Ruby Wedding there. We first visited during their opening week - too far back to remember exactly when - and our treatment by staff was excellent and has continued so over the years.... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Duncan F, Thank you very much for your review about your experiences at the hotel. I am glad that each time you return to the Hotel you enjoy your visit & are looked after well. I look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

    Level Contributor
    13 reviews
    3 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    We booked a Twilight Spa package for eight people as an end of term treat and what a treat it turned out to be! From the moment we checked in until the moment we left, we were met with friendly, courteous staff who went out of their way to be helpful. So helpful in fact, that they helped to jump... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Tauntonians, Great to hear that you all enjoyed your time in the Spa with us recently, the 'Twilight Delight' deal has become very popular so it's great to hear you had a good time. I will pass on your Thanks to Rob for helping you with your battery! Hope to see you again soon. More 

    Ilfracombe
    Level Contributor
    34 reviews
    13 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    Stayed for one night as a treat. We have stayed in one of their sister hotels greenaways in the cotswolds so knew their servcie was good. The spa facilities are small so crowded during the day with day spa guests. Late pm was good as only one other couple. Rooms really lovely but it was very hot and sticky so... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Jo H, Thank you for your review about your recent stay with us at the hotel, I'm glad that you enjoyed the spa & dining experience. I hope to welcome you back to the Mount Somerset again soon. More 

    Taunton, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    18 reviews
    7 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    I have just returned from a birthday lunch at The Mount Somerset courtesy of my Daughter and Son in law. Probably the best meal I have eaten outside my own kitchen. On arrival at the Hotel my Son in Law went in to enquire about disabled access. We were directed to a dedicated car-park at the rear of the hotel... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    MSHManagement, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Johnsumm, I am delighted that you enjoyed your birthday lunch with us, it sounds like all of your party enjoyed the delicious food! The Chef will be pleased. I hope you come again soon & maybe try one of our afternoon teas or treat yourselves to dinner. Many thanks again for your review. More 

    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    451 photos of this hotel

    Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

    Viewed
    All traveler photos (57)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (8)
    Viewed
    View from room (3)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (15)
    Viewed
    Dining (4)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (2)
    Viewed
    Other (25)

    Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

    Viewed
    All expert photos (350)
    Viewed
    Amenities (12)
    Viewed
    Other (226)
    Viewed
    Restaurants and Bars (51)
    Viewed
    The Hotel (61)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All management photos (44)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (19)
    Viewed
    Dining (13)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (7)
    Viewed
    Business center/function rooms (2)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (2)
    Viewed
    Other (1)
    Check In Check Out
    Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
    Show Prices
    Hotels you might also like...
    Also consider these accommodations in or near Taunton
    2.4 mi away
    Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
    3.0 mi away
    The Castle at Taunton
    The Castle at Taunton
    #6 of 18 in Taunton
    4.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
    3.3 mi away
    Brookfield House
    Brookfield House
    #1 of 18 in Taunton
    4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    8.9 mi away
    The Cleve Spa
    The Cleve Spa
    #2 of 2 in Wellington
    4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
    3.3 mi away
    Blorenge House
    Blorenge House
    #7 of 18 in Taunton
    4.0 of 5 stars 88 reviews
    2.1 mi away
    Premier Inn Taunton East
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    Amenities

    Enter dates for best prices
    Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
    Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
    Price Your Stay