We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mount Somerset Hotel

4.0 of 5 Lower Henlade, Taunton TA3 5NB, England
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    98
    35
    28
    10
See reviews for
42
181
5
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (348)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (113)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I were married at the Mount Somerset 10 years ago and for our anniversay, my husband booked for us to stay overnight again. We were greated by name and taken to the Barrington suite which is as charming as the photos depict. The front of house staff had worked with my husband to ensure that there were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying here following a family wake at the hotel. The wake went very well, organised excellently by the hotel. Our stay could not have gone better. Lovely room, delicious evening meal, friendly efficient staff. Excellent country house hotel. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManagerMSH, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear whhammond, Thank you for your lovely review following the recent wake held here and sincere condolences on your loss. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again and will really look forward to seeing you. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We celebrated a significant anniversary here having found a good value deal with Travelzoo with a £40 off voucher for use in the restaurant. We made good use of the lovely Spa area and also had a couple of massage/ body scrub treatments which were excellent. If you book these at short notice they will offer a 15% discount as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerMSH, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BosunB Many thanks for your recent review - it's always great to hear that guests love our rooms as these are a big feature of the hotel. I am pleased to read your enjoyed our spa too and managed to relax during your stay. With regards to our dining and menus, we do offer 4 different menus being a... More

Welwyn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was without doubt the best weekend break we've had for a long time. The location was so peaceful - early morning mists and the leaves just turning - views to distant scenery. The food was excellent. In particular the venison I had as a starter was so tender and full of flavour. One tiny quibble - a 'selection of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManagerMSH, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter_A_Gill What a pleasure to read your review and I am really delighted you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on our service and aim to achieve our customers' requirements as much as we possibly can! I have noted your comments about the cheese course, and please rest assured that we always have lots of different cheeses in, to... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at the Mount Somerset from 5th October 'til 8th (three nights). Our objective was to chill out for the three days. We are both in our 70s. We made use of the spa - and found it to be excellent. All facilities worked well and were easy to 'switch on / off'. We also had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerMSH, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bob835 Many thanks for your delightful review and thanks for taking the time to write it. It's a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and I particularly like your comments about being able to 'sit and dream' whilst looking at the stunning views we are lucky to command. I wish you well and really hope we have... More

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights, on a Secret Escapes deal that included a dinner and cream tea. We found the staff helpful and pleasant, with the exception of the receptionist on our first evening. This was a Friday night and our room was directly above a raucous fancy dress party. It was impossible to rest with such noise and disturbance we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManagerMSH, Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elainelichfield Firstly thank you for your review and I'm sorry you were disturbed by the private event we had in the hotel that evening. We do have regular events in the hotel as I'm sure you would expect, including weddings, celebrations and company parties. Whilst I appreciate that the noise was perhaps louder than expected, with a lot of... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the hotel and hired a private room for a mini wedding celebration. From the moment we arrived the staff were accommodating and treated the recent bride and groom very well. We all had wonderful rooms which were bigger than the average hotel room, beautifully decorated and with stunning bathrooms. Our evening meal was also superb, a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed whilst in area for a wedding. Terrible hotel. Nothing close to International standards. Like going back in time. Despite recent renovations to rooms, they are unclean and not well kept. We found lots of insects (dead and alive), cobwebs, suspicious stains on sofa and many broken light bulbs in our room. Strange smell from lavatory. Biscuits in our room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManagerMSH, General Manager at The Mount Somerset Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daniel L Thanks for your review. Constructive criticism is always welcomed here. I do apologise that your room was not up to our usual high standards and this has been taken up with the housekeepers on duty that day. I'm not really sure what else to say as you were obviously not happy during your stay and even though... More

london
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in early July to have a quiet break mid-week. Overall we enjoyed the hotel, but there were a few points that could be improved. The room was larger than we expected with a king sized bed and separate seating area. The attention to detail was great. There were some nice biscuits... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

This is a beautiful Regency mansion that is just off the M5 half way between Bristol and Exeter. Not in my normal type for a stopover business hotel but everywhere was so full - hotels doing well in the West me thinks. Anyway got this on laterooms for a reasonable figure though it is not cheap but the attention to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Mount Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Somerset Hotel

Address: Lower Henlade, Taunton TA3 5NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mount Somerset Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Mount Somerset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Somerset Hotel
Mount Somerset Taunton
The Mount Somerset Hotel Taunton

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay