We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meryan House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Hull Rd, Taunton TA1 5EG, England
Hotel amenities
Meryan House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Taunton
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Caroline W Liphook, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    49
    21
    7
    3
    8
See reviews for
24
21
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (88)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here fleetingly for a local event nearby. Whilst I was only here for a few hours, I had a very pleasant stay. My single room was spacious and well kept. Free wifi appreciated. We had to leave before breakfast but were able to help ourselves early in the morning to toast and cereal, which was great. Good parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had a great experience at the meryan. Very nice and tidy room, TV and a the bathroom was all that I could hope for. Top Noch cleaning . the food was delicious and the host was so gorgeously accommodating . All in all we had a wonderful time , for a first visit to the UK .I would return... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest May we take this opportunity and thank you for your very kinds words. the staff and myself really appreciate you taking the time, to give us such a nice, and warm review, More 

France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

The hotel is not easy to review! The hotel is old and the decor ... eclectic. The truth is that the premises are tired and when I arrived on a bank holiday Monday after a long drive I was 'disappointed' to find that the restaurant was closed. Cherry, the very friendly owner, explained that the only pub in the village... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am a little saddened and surprised by your review, as this was not the impression you gave, when you left us last week, I am sorry the hotel and myself did not come up to your expectations, I hope the next time you have the opportunity to stay in Taunton, the hotel will meet all your requirements. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Cute little hotel, we had a small but clean room, number 10 has the bed against the wall but everything you need is there. We went to a wedding party and had a lovely time, the food took a while I don't think they are used to catering for so many and the desserts were whisked away before we really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very surprised at you comments, as the food was requested by the Bride & Groom, and they took away the Puddings when the left on Saturday Morning. and nothing was said, about the venue or service, we are assuming you were in room 12, and this was the last room available when you booked, as for... More 

Radstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

The family chose this as the venue for a wake for my mother in law. It's close to the crematorium and apparently they do over 350 a year. Although the food was adequate, the sandwiches were plain white or brown, cheese, pickle, tuna, chicken or egg. Not very imaginative and some if the bread was rather dry. The quiche was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very surprised, at your comments about the standard of food, served at your wake, (also amazed ) you waited to say something on the internet, and not while you were at the hotel!!! The sandwiches are served with Tomatoes and Cucumber on the side, and the fillings, are what the majority of our guests request!!! The... More 

Exeter
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

we recently had a family funeral which meant that myself and my boys had to stay at the Meryan House Hotel over two days as we lived out of the area and the hotel was also hosting the Funeral tea. . Cherry (the owner) was absolutely fantastic. She had so much energy and made sure that we wanted for nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We would like to take this opportunity, and thank you for your kind words, myself and the staff, really appreciate them. More 

glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

I had the great pleasure if visiting the Meryan House Hotel while on my way to Cornwall, I love the owners, they are funny friendly and very welcoming, the rooms are stunning, with great beds, breakfast is to die for!!! and the dogs are just beautiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We would like to take this opportunity, and thank you for your kind words, myself and the staff, really appreciate them. More 

Dulverton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We recently had a family wake at the Meryan House, the staff were very attentive, friendly and sensitive to the occasion. On booking Cherry was very helpful in advising on the catering. We were unsure how many would attend and ended up with more then we anticipated, but there was still plenty of excellent food. We were recommended this venue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We would like to take this opportunity and thank you so much for your kind words, we strive to make our guests feel relaxed and comfortable at the Meryan. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

We spent 3 nights at this slightly quirky but very comfortable and well-appointed hotel. We were welcomed warmly by the owner, provided with 3 excellent breakfasts and had 3 very good nights' sleep. It's in a village near a pub, within a brisk walk of Taunton centre and has areas worth strolling around from the village. We'll be back .... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest May we take this opportunity in thanking you for your kind review, and we look forward to seeing you again very soon at the Meryan House Hotel More 

axminster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I now feel ready to write a review on the Meryan House Hotel. My experience at this establishment was one of pure disbelief. My family and I stayed on 5th January 2014 for my father's wake the following day. On entering we were greeted by the owner, a man that boasted of how many wakes he did in a year... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your review. we were both surprised and of course dismayed to hear that your experience with Meryan House Hotel was less than what you had hoped. We say “surprised” as it has been almost one full year since we had the pleasure of your company and we know not whether the passage of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay