We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meryan House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Hull Rd, Taunton TA1 5EG, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Meryan House Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    51
    21
    8
    3
    10
See reviews for
26
22
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (93)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We recently visited this venue with a view to booking it for our father's wake. We were greeted by a woman (manager I presume) who ushered us into a room where we sat and listened to her spiel. This was delivered quickly and coldly. At one point I was unclear on one of her points so I asked a question... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stroud
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My nephew and I were looking for a place near to Taunton Crem to hold my brothers wake. On looking for a suitable place I came across Meryon House. Contacting Cherry I found her to be very efficient and helpful in/all aspects on how to conduct the event, even to the time it would take us from the crem to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest May we take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time (after such a sad occasion) to compliment the Meryan and its staff, your kind words are very much appreciated, once again thank you. More 

Bicester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our excellent experience started as soon as I entered the hotel. The gentleman who greeted us and showed us to our room, was very welcoming indeed. The room was very clean, tidy and comfortable. The bed was especially comfortable and we had an excellent night's sleep. The in room facilities, i.e. Tea, coffee biscuits etc., were plentiful. There was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest On behalf on myself and the staff, we would like to thank you, for your kind words, which are really appreciated, and thank you for taking the time to review the Meryan is such a positive way/ More 

Dorset
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

Stayed here for one night in June on business. Emailed to confirm early breakfast, but that was news to the owner upon arrival. Having said that she could not have been more helpful upon arrival, and assisting me with directions the next morning. Dinner was good, if strange as there was a guest playing TV on his smartphone loudly at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest As stated we never received your e-mail, guests wanting an early breakfast can have certain food left out for them, as to the the other guest playing games on his IPhone we are not responsible of other peoples manners. However, we appreciate to positive comments. More 

Somerset uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

My mother organised my fathers wake here on the recommendation of the funeral director, I only wish we could had visited prior to the funeral.The food was satisfactory and that's being generous, it was the internal decor that I found unbelievable shabby sofas with greasy marks wear heads had been, it looked like an internal car boot sale with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We regret you experience was not as we would have expected, the bar is only penned when the party requests this (usually the main family) on this occasion it wasent, had it been, we would have put someone behind the bar. More 

Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

We stayed here fleetingly for a local event nearby. Whilst I was only here for a few hours, I had a very pleasant stay. My single room was spacious and well kept. Free wifi appreciated. We had to leave before breakfast but were able to help ourselves early in the morning to toast and cereal, which was great. Good parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind review, More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

I had a great experience at the meryan. Very nice and tidy room, TV and a the bathroom was all that I could hope for. Top Noch cleaning . the food was delicious and the host was so gorgeously accommodating . All in all we had a wonderful time , for a first visit to the UK .I would return... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest May we take this opportunity and thank you for your very kinds words. the staff and myself really appreciate you taking the time, to give us such a nice, and warm review, More 

France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

The hotel is not easy to review! The hotel is old and the decor ... eclectic. The truth is that the premises are tired and when I arrived on a bank holiday Monday after a long drive I was 'disappointed' to find that the restaurant was closed. Cherry, the very friendly owner, explained that the only pub in the village... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am a little saddened and surprised by your review, as this was not the impression you gave, when you left us last week, I am sorry the hotel and myself did not come up to your expectations, I hope the next time you have the opportunity to stay in Taunton, the hotel will meet all your requirements. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Cute little hotel, we had a small but clean room, number 10 has the bed against the wall but everything you need is there. We went to a wedding party and had a lovely time, the food took a while I don't think they are used to catering for so many and the desserts were whisked away before we really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very surprised at you comments, as the food was requested by the Bride & Groom, and they took away the Puddings when the left on Saturday Morning. and nothing was said, about the venue or service, we are assuming you were in room 12, and this was the last room available when you booked, as for... More 

Radstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

The family chose this as the venue for a wake for my mother in law. It's close to the crematorium and apparently they do over 350 a year. Although the food was adequate, the sandwiches were plain white or brown, cheese, pickle, tuna, chicken or egg. Not very imaginative and some if the bread was rather dry. The quiche was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MeryanMagement, Owner at Meryan House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very surprised, at your comments about the standard of food, served at your wake, (also amazed ) you waited to say something on the internet, and not while you were at the hotel!!! The sandwiches are served with Tomatoes and Cucumber on the side, and the fillings, are what the majority of our guests request!!! The... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taunton hotels
1.1 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 18 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
6.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 18 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Blorenge House
Blorenge House
#7 of 18 in Taunton
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Corner House Hotel
The Corner House Hotel
#16 of 18 in Taunton
3.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay