We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Taunton B&Bs / inns

The Rose and Crown

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Woodhill, Stoke St Gregory, Taunton TA3 6EW, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Rose and Crown to your Saves list
The Rose and Crown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
93%
Ranked #12 of 52 Taunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jennifer-Kent
  • Reviews (44)
  • Photos (12)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
12
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for one night whilst on business. It is a bit rural but as it was hot and sunny when I arrived so after booking in, the lovely lady gave me directions to the wetlands centre and I had a pleasant walk. The restuarant starts serving food at 6.30pm until 9pm and it was honestly the best food I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I booked last minute via late rooms. After driving what seemed to be an absolute age through what I can only describe as a rally cross stage I found the Rose and Crown. From the outside I thought " oh god what have I booked in too" (it was raining and fairly drab weather wise) but on walking in I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Rose & Crown on Saturday night-had stayed several times before. 7 of us had dinner on Sat eve & it was excellent- huge quantities, plenty of choice & capable & friendly service. Breakfast next morning was excellent. I stayed in room 1, which has a bathroom with bath. Good standard of accommodation & comfy bed. All told,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

We hadn't visited this pub since it was gutted by fire approximately eight years ago....prior to that we had visited on a number of occasions. The transformation is a delight and the use of mismatched chairs (they look great) and beautiful light beams adds a touch of warmth to a lovely interior. What made it particularly inviting was the charm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
grantham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Been here before . Difficult to find with a 62 year old brain and no sat nav. Glad I did because room is the same as before and very acceptable. Food as room is still good. However the servings are too large for me. Snake hips alas I am not; but the very good veg were largely wasted. I think... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here for a night to break a long journey - the pub is approx 15 mins from the M5 and well worth the drive. The bar was bustling and busy with a mixture of locals and visitors. Welcoming staff quickly showed us to our connecting two bedrooms which were well presented, nicely decorated and equipped (free WiFi). Carpet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
East Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Booked in for two nights on business. Was allocated a downstairs room that had a kitchen. Overall the staff were helpful and friendly and the fish was the best I have tasted for a long time. The room was the issue, It had the impression that it was a working part of the catering side with a bed. Shelves with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MrRickyTaunton, Owner at The Rose and Crown, responded to this review

We are sorry that you had an uncomfortable stay with us. You where staying in our ground room only because we where full upstairs, so we don't normally offer this to guests, but your booking was short notice and your other colleagues where already booked in, I hope you can feel you can stay with us again and we will... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

As part of a team attending the Somerset Level floods, we found ourselves stumbling across this little gem. Although located some way from the M5, its a place well worth staying. The staff were friendly and more than helpful. The rooms, although on the small side are comfortable and have all you need. The location is fantastic if you want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Having arrived in the area at short notice, the Rose and Crown was recommended to us by a local business owner whilst passing through the area. I must say from arriving to departing we were always given a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble. I stayed in room 1, which was really comfortable and has views over the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I have eaten here on a few occasions and have yet to be disappointed! A good selection on the menu, the food is hot,fresh and tasty and reasonably priced! The landlady is very welcoming, a lovely country pub that is well maintained!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Rose and Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rose and Crown

Address: Woodhill, Stoke St Gregory, Taunton TA3 6EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Taunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rose and Crown 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The Rose and Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rose And Crown Taunton, Somerset

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer