We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Wakefield

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Queen Street, Wakefield WF1 1JU, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    51
    17
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
17
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (81)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel we usually come down from newcastle every year to go to dragon tattoo (very cheap). This hotel used to be called the chasley but holiday in express have taken over updated the hotel ideal location and very clean. Breakfast all included for the price you really can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really liked this hotel when my partner and myself stayed. We stayed 2 nights for a weekend we had planned with friends. The hotel was clean, comfortable and friendly, 1 street behind the main street of Wakefield which is great for having a look around and a bit of a shop. The breakfast was disappointing and very limited. So just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wakefield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. I am dissapointed however to hear that there was drunk guests on the corridor - the nights team do do hourly walkrounds throughout the evening, however I understand... More 

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for two nights on business. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the room was immaculate and the staff was very helpful and cheerful. The hotel's car park is very small, but there is a multi-storey virtually opposite. The hotel has a bar and a restaurant (serving a wonderful breakfast) but they have a very limited evening menu, predominantly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wakefield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Emma More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everything was new and clean, room had everything we needed and was good size. Staff were friendly. There is some noise from outside from nearby pub but normal for city centre location. There is limited car parking but we did manage to get a space. Breakfast is average but was include in the price so can't complain.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wakefield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Emma More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Situated in the town centre. We had no problem getting a parking space but it isn't a large car park so you might struggle arriving early/late evening. The rooms were immaculate, modern, fresh and well equipped. Breakfast was included which was ok. A bit limited in choice as all Holiday Inn Express hotels seem to be but all in all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wakefield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Emma More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fabulous hotel. Newly refurbished rooms lovely showeroom and great little touches such as the pillow tags and toiletries.. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Food and drinks reasonably priced. Enjoyed our stay immensely. Well done to all the staff!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wakefield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Emma More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and will be staying many more times. It has not long be refurbished, so is VERY clean and modern. The thing that has made my stay outstanding is the staff in particular David who greets you with the best welcome you could ask for and goes out of his way to make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Emma P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wakefield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. I have also passed your comments to David We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Emma More 

Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff were welcoming, but a bit slow. Rooms very clean and comfortable. Breakfast ok, did not eat in evening as it did not inspire. Surrounded by pubs and nightclubs which were noisy throughout the night spoiling what would otherwise have been a good stopover.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wakefield, responded to this review

Dear John H, Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us. We are delighted that you found our rooms to be very clean and comfortable. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for falling short of your expectations regarding the service level of our staff and for being disturbed by the level of noise during... More 

East Anglia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here a couple of years ago before it became a Holiday Inn, when it was very run down and I couldn't be more amazed at the difference. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms immaculate with a lovely shower. The staff are very helpful, we asked for the sofa bed to be made up as we had booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wakefield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your loyalty . I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. In regards to your comments egarding the bar - we will look into your feedback,and if we... More 

lincolnshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night to visit friends. Looks recently renovated. High standard and value for money. Parking is very restricted but you can use shopping centre car park opposite at a cost of £2:50 a day. Waiting staff very helpful and breakfast good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Emma P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wakefield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate your loyalty as an . I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. A positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, EMMA More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
2.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
0.3 mi away
CitiLodge Hotel
CitiLodge Hotel
#17 of 21 in Wakefield
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
York House Hotel
York House Hotel
#8 of 21 in Wakefield
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Wakefield South - M1, Jct39
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Wakefield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay