We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Wakefield

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Queen Street, Wakefield WF1 1JU, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Think before you stay at this hotel!! you will be in for a nasty surprise!! In general the hotel facilities are not bad, but what really damped My experience was the shocking negative attitude displayed by the General Manager who clearly lied about the fact my room was cleaned in the morning. A total fabrication, their was dust all over... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank misscairo
Emma P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wakefield, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor, as we always value our guests opinion to ensure we offer and improve our service at all costs, I am disappointed and upset to read your comments, and thought it may be a good idea to respond to your review with the action the hotel... More 

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

On the plus side, the hotel is right in the city centre, and not overpriced. There are a number of free parking spaces; when I arrived just after 2pm there was plenty of room, and it remained that way for a few hours. The WiFi and breakfast were both free, not the best breakfast I've ever had but certainly adequate.... More 

Helpful?
Thank sometimesong
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great location for central Wakefield. Just off Westgate, and 5 minutes walk to the train station- this hotel is very close to the shops and bars. With this in mind, I was expecting the hotel to be a bit noisy on a Saturday. However, I had a great nights sleep in a modern, clean room- with a comfortable bed, free... More 

Helpful?
Thank colint1
Emma P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wakefield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Emma More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a great hotel , lovely bathroom, very clean. The staff on check in and in the bar were lovely and friendly. Great central location, handy for walking into town. the bedrooms were larger than usual and the bathroom was lush, choice of soft or firm pillows, nice

Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle M
Emma P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wakefield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Emma More 

Carlisle, Cumbria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I have to admit that these days I don't bother to write a lot of reviews unless I feel I have something really nice to write. Well, I do! We stayed at the holiday inn express Wakefield just last night, and what a fantastic little gem it is. We had the most welcoming check in we've had in a long... More 

Helpful?
Thank cathandpete
Emma P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wakefield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Emma More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for one night whilst travelling for business. The room was impressive and very comfortable having all the amenities you would expect and seemingly fully refurbished very recently. The car park is a little small for the size of hotel and I had to find an alternative place to park when returning from going out to eat. The breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank 99timw64
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice clean and up-graded old hotel, large rooms with compact bathroom and best shower we have had on our 14 week holiday in Europe. Only downside is the paper thin walls between rooms, you can hear the snoring in the other room, very limited breakfast. Easy walking around the shopping center.

Helpful?
Thank Cornelius M
Emma P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wakefield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Emma More 

Level Contributor
180 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay: pleasant room and facilities; convenient location near main city amenities; handy private car parking; okay breakfasts of the usual HI Express kind; pleasant, helpful staff. Very good generally! A minor point - sat nav brought us to the side of the hotel block, which in the dark looked like a bit of a labyrinth of back... More 

Helpful?
Thank jdboyd
Emma P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wakefield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Emma More 

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Centrally located hotel, convenient for station and town centre facilities. Small car park but capability to park in neighbouring public car park for just £2.50. Efficient and friendly check-in. Only one lift which was a bit frustrating at times. Very smart room on sixth floor which looked as if it had been recently refurbished. Extremely clean. Quite cold because heating... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Emma P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wakefield, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. I will of course take on board all your comments and look into these matters. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Emma More 

Ossett, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me & my partner stayed in this hotel last night. When we went to sleep we noticed the toilet kept filling up but we thought nothing of it! When we woke up we couldn't go in the bathroom as the floor was absolutely flooded. We went downstairs and explained the situation to a female manager and we also told her... More 

Helpful?
Thank beckyl95
Emma P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wakefield, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as expected or anticipated - I am genuinely concerned by the issue's in which you have raised and I would like to invesitigate these issue's further. Please could you contact me directly on 07909441181 or 01924 372111 to discuss this matter, so I am able... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wakefield hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
2.1 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.1 mi away
York House Hotel
York House Hotel
#8 of 21 in Wakefield
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
CitiLodge Hotel
CitiLodge Hotel
#17 of 21 in Wakefield
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
3.5 of 5 stars 969 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Mews Hotel
The Mews Hotel
#7 of 21 in Wakefield
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay