We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Wakefield hotels

York House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10-12 Drury Lane | Town Centre, Wakefield WF1 2TE, England
Hotel amenities
York House Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added York House Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Wakefield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Bjorn H
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    38
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
23
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars NEW

I acknowledge that I am less familiar with rural town hotels and my comments may be based on comparisons with city experiences, the hotel was a hasty decision for a one-night stay as it is conveniently located close to a train station which suited my early start. Although the Italian evening meal was very good, management clearly has no eye... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very clean and tidy hotel in a great location, reception staff were very kind and helpful the room was clean and tidy and the bed was a good size and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price which I think is very reasonable as most hotels charge extra for breakfast. The breakfast was ok and the waitress was on her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is well located close to bars,clubs ect. Hotel/restaurant clean and tidy, Food was excellent and plenty of choice on the menu. The staff in the hotel and restaurant are very Helpful and friendly. Would definitely re visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Comfortable beds, clean, large room, nicely decorated. Staff worked really hard to make stay enjoyable - couldn't do enough for you and breakfast was excellent. Amazing value for money too! Nice location - slightly out of the way but quiet which is what we wanted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina_YorkHouseHotel, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Nina. More 

Hull
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed with my husband and friends this last weekend can't fault the location or value for money but was really let down by the breakfast. The poor waitress on her own was rushed off her feet unable to get round to everybody let alone replace the simpilest things. As for the food well to be honest we wouldn't call our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina_YorkHouseHotel, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast experience during your stay with us. On this day we were short staffed at short notice due to unforeseeable events. This does not happen often and we do apologise for any inconvenience this caused you. We hope that, if you do decide... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 night.nice hotel, nice staff, clean room, comfy bed, clean bathroom.Great location to train station.the breakfast was lovely.good value for money.Staff were very warm,,friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was relaxed and safe.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nina_YorkHouseHotel, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Nina. More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very central hotel, perfect for the theatre, train station, pubs, clubs and shopping.. I've stayed here many times on business. This week it was a girls night out. The food was fantastic in the hotel restaurant and the room we stayed in was huge! we phoned through the day before and we managed to get a room upgrade to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina_YorkHouseHotel, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Nina. More 

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

I stayed here for two nights as I was working in area. The room was clean, warm and spacious. All the staff were very friendly. The food was very nice in the restaurant with excellent service. Definitely would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina_YorkHouseHotel, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Nina. More 

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Clean friendly hotel, in Wakefield centre, staff good and welcoming, slightly disorganised in a pleasant way. I can recommend this hotel for an overnight emergency stop over or for business stay. Food looked good although I didn't try, due to my arrival and departure times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina_YorkHouseHotel, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Nina. More 

East Anglia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

If you're travelling by train this hotel is perfect, being only five minutes walk away. The reception staff are brilliant, always very helpful and anxious to please. We ate in the restaurant attached to the hotel and had a delicious meal, there were several large parties but we still had very good service. We had no problem having the meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina_YorkHouseHotel, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. The hotel has recent been refurbished and painted to make it lighter and more welcoming to our customers. We hope that if you stay with us again you will agree that the hotel has received a 'woman's touch' :) We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to York House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House Hotel

Address: 10-12 Drury Lane | Town Centre, Wakefield WF1 2TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — York House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your York House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay