We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

York House Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
10-12 Drury Lane | Town Centre, Wakefield WF1 2TE, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
York House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
York House Hotel
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    40
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
23
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Workington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

...but fine is a word my daughters don't let me use (they know what I mean by it!) I guess I mean it was OK ...good nights sleep, clean room, excellent shower. Evening meal good and excellent value on early bird offer. In fact if we hadn't had breakfast it would have been more than fine. I think most people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, friendly staff, fast Wifi - on top of that, great price! Just a small note, when we showed up for breakfast around 9:30 AM (cut off was at 10:30 AM), they were out of milk and juices, which weren't replenished.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
123 hotel reviews
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

If you're driving, the hotel can be a bit tricky to find. It's on a one-way street in a big one-way system. Look out for the brown signs that will get you towards the right street, but it's easy to miss the hotel entrance because you approach it from behind, and the signs are not that obvious. The hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

The location of the hotel was very convenient with a carpark at the side. The staff were efficient and the room was clean. Breakfast was good and the service was brisk even though it was quite busy. My only reservation is that there is no suitable lounge for pre or post dinner drinks; there are seats but they are in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Shields, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

I booked at night at the York House Hotel for myself and an old school friend from the other end of the country, so we could meet up for a school reunion the next day. My aims at the time of booking were closeness to Westgate station and reasonable price, But I inadvertently stumbled on a very caring hotel. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

I acknowledge that I am less familiar with rural town hotels and my comments may be based on comparisons with city experiences, the hotel was a hasty decision for a one-night stay as it is conveniently located close to a train station which suited my early start. Although the Italian evening meal was very good, management clearly has no eye... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Very clean and tidy hotel in a great location, reception staff were very kind and helpful the room was clean and tidy and the bed was a good size and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price which I think is very reasonable as most hotels charge extra for breakfast. The breakfast was ok and the waitress was on her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015 via mobile

Hotel is well located close to bars,clubs ect. Hotel/restaurant clean and tidy, Food was excellent and plenty of choice on the menu. The staff in the hotel and restaurant are very Helpful and friendly. Would definitely re visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Comfortable beds, clean, large room, nicely decorated. Staff worked really hard to make stay enjoyable - couldn't do enough for you and breakfast was excellent. Amazing value for money too! Nice location - slightly out of the way but quiet which is what we wanted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina_YorkHouseHotel, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Nina. More 

Hull
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015 via mobile

Stayed with my husband and friends this last weekend can't fault the location or value for money but was really let down by the breakfast. The poor waitress on her own was rushed off her feet unable to get round to everybody let alone replace the simpilest things. As for the food well to be honest we wouldn't call our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nina_YorkHouseHotel, Manager at York House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast experience during your stay with us. On this day we were short staffed at short notice due to unforeseeable events. This does not happen often and we do apologise for any inconvenience this caused you. We hope that, if you do decide... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question