We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bannatyne Hotel Darlington

Certificate of Excellence
Southend Avenue, Darlington DL3 7HZ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bannatyne Hotel Darlington
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    173
    68
    26
    13
See reviews for
94
183
26
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (573)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (150)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (140)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (140)
All months
Haugesund, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Good hotel with good beds and good breakfast Very nice looking, good beds and nice staff Clean rooms. Guests at the hotel have complimentary use of the art Health Club, which is a walk or short drive away from the hotel. Unfortunately, I never had the time to uise this,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our friend took us here for lunch as she has enjoyed it on many other occasions. We all had sandwiches in the bar,which were really nice. Served with crisps and salad on a wooded platter with a side plate if required. And plenty of tea with extra water. Sat in a lovely window seat. My friend has often sat in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear Watt500 I am delighted that you had such a lovely lunch experience with us, following the recommendation from your friend. We offer a lunch menu and lounge menu alongside our fine dining restaurant lunch menu, so that all guests needs can be catered for and I am so pleased that this was your experience. I do hope that you... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed one night with dinner, bed and breakfast. Great first impressions, friendly very helpful staff, lovely room, absolutely fabulous evening meal in "Maxine's" restaurant and breakfast was great. There was a lovely wedding going on this weekend and staff were clearly busy but not to the detriment of other hotel residents. Staff were brilliant all weekend. Very good bar prices... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear Claireykav Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback following your stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay including your room, excellent food and 'brilliant staff'. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. We do hope to see you again soon for another great stay... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was only there one night- staff could not do enough to help me. Room was clean, and had luxury sized toiletries. Food bit bland but beautiful and fresh. Great character in the building- lots of unique features. totally value for money. This is my top hotel in Darlington

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear Charley277 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay with us and I am thrilled that we are your 'top hotel in Darlington' I am so pleased that you have enjoyed your room, the toiletries, the character of the building and the service from the team and we look forward to seeing you again... More 

Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel with my husband and daughter, we were there for a wedding and we decided to upgrade to a suite. The room was lovely, my 9 year old daughter slept on the bed settee in the lounge area. Great facilities, good range of tea, coffee and biscuits in the room, daughter also made short work of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear JaneAnn W Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback following your stay with us as a wedding guest. I am delighted that your family enjoyed all aspects of their stay including your newly refurbished Junior Suite and all the little extras that come in the room...especially the delicious fruit basket. Thank you again for taking... More 

Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for a simply unforgettable wedding at your hotel. The day was perfect, everything we had ever hoped for and we can’t thank all of the staff enough for all of the support and help we received before, and on our Wedding day. You all do such a fantastic job. Special thanks to Jade who did a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear Marie M Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback following your 'unforgettable wedding' with us. We are delighted that every aspect of your day was perfect and that you, Araz and all your friends and family had such an unforgettable experience with us. I really appreciate your kind words regarding the Jade, the team and... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I travel on business most weeks, and often stay in hotels outside of Darlington. I heard Bannatynes in Darlington was good through one of my clients, and so I gave it a go. The central location is fantastic, and I was surprised at the facilities as I could use the Gym as part of my stay. I thought the rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear Motorwayman1 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your first time stay with us. I am delighted that you had such a pleasant experience with us and found the location, facilities, room and food quality to be excellent. I do hope we will become your hotel of choice for your future visits to the area... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed overnight for my sisters wedding, I could not fault the hotel at all. From start to finish the service was excellent, stayed in a junior suite which I would definatly recommend, lovely decor with plenty of room to get ready. We had breakfast the next day with all the family, full English was just what I needed. Looking forward... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear SpoorsL Thank you for your lovely review following your sisters wedding. We endeavour to deliver the perfect day to all brides and their guests and it is very rewarding to know that we achieved this for your sister and that you 'couldn't fault the hotel at all' Thank you again for you taking the time to share your thoughts... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In my opinion this hotel is overpriced for the service it offers, and it show's quite clearly how they still make money despite the deals they offer. I have travelled a lot and stopped in many hotels, for the price I had paid I was very disappointed with what greeted me on my arrival. I wanted to treat my Mum... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear iamkingy Thank you for sharing your comprehensive feedback following your Spa Break with us. I am pleased that there were so many aspects of your hotel stay that your enjoyed including friendly staff, high levels of cleanliness and an excellent steak. I am sorry that you found our decor to be dated. As a Grade II listed building we... More 

Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was our second visit to Bannatynes Darlington and we couldn't be happier. From our arrival to departure we couldn't hae asked for more, attentive service, excellent food and a wonderful spa experience. Feel completely refreshed and will definitely visit again. Excellent value for money and would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Darlington, responded to this review

Dear Phil I Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback following your return visit to stay with us. I am thrilled that you both had such an amazing stay and to know that 'From our arrival to departure you couldn't have asked for more' is very rewarding and I look forward to sharing your feedback with the staff. Thank you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities