We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

4.0 of 5 9 - 12 Priestgate, Darlington DL1 1NW , England (Formerly King's Head Hotel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    97
    57
    28
    8
See reviews for
28
79
20
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (279)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (79)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (77)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
High Peak Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Whilst it is inapprpriate and more importantly not allowed, don't take your cat to the Mercure Kings Hotel in Darlington. Why???? Because you won't have the room to swing it in your room!! It is such a shame that the standard rooms are so small, my wife and I are not big people but we kept getting in each others'... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for a few days in early December on business. Firstly - car parking -if this is a major issue for you then beware - the basement car park is small - maybe 20 cars (less if they are all big cars!). There is a multi storey down the street but it closes in the evening and does not open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for completing a hotel review of your stay. I am delighted you found our staff to be so friendly through out. Unfortunately we are limited for space in the cellar to keep real ales which I would prefer. The parking you refer to at St Cuthbert's Way is very convenient and has always been totally safe to leave... More 

middle east
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On first impression, a great hotel in the centre of Darlington. On arrival, staff were welcoming and check in was easy. The room was well decorated, modern and it was equipped with everything that I needed including ironing board, iron, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities and a safe deposit box. Really, a positive start to my short overnight stay.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I do apologise you did not find your stay to be relaxing. The food service was only interrupted for the main meal of the wedding being served but I regret that coincided with your preferred dining time. We should have been thoughtful and allocated a bedroom on the opposite of the... More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed at the hotel for two night on business and staff and the general feel and look of the hotel was brilliant. The hotel is like a maze and was difficult to find the restaurant but food and service was very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am delighted you had such a pleasurable experience with us. Its great you compliment our staff in this way and you enjoyed your restaurant dining. Rooms in the Victorian section of the hotel are accessed by 2 sets of lifts but only a minutes walk between the two. We look... More 

Durham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Had our works xmas party here and stopped overnight in a room. Rooms are always clean and well equipped with everything you need. Xmas party was great as well with excellent food considering they had to bash out 200 meals. The music act was okay barring a few computer glitches for the DJ, music was cheesy as ever, but hey... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay and party night with us. I was delighted to see you had such an enjoyable party including your meal and overnight stay. a party wouldn't be the same without some cheesy music. Thank you an we wish you a Merry Christmas. More 

Marbella
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

We stay in Darlington twice per year for up to four nights at a time visiting family. Have always used Bannatynes in the past but feel the rooms need upgrading, tried the Townhouse also but decided to give Mercure a go. We booked two rooms as our son was travelling with us. Our room was a privilege room. The car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for completing a review of your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the manner in which you were addressed on reception and for the oversight in servicing your son's bedroom. I understand you had asked at 8.30am about replenishing your mini bar which was promptly attended to once housekeeping staff started work at 9.00am. I would be... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

I stayed at the Mercure Darlington with some colleagues two weeks before Christmas. My room was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in, except one in Paris. What was most annoying was that there was nowhere to sit other than on the bed. Because the room was only two feet larger all round than the bed, it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for completing a review of your recent stay with us. I apologise you did not receive the normal high level of service we extend on this visit. I am sorry the room allocated to you was so small we would certainly have moved you to a different room had been aware of you discomfort. thank you for your... More 

Swinford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Spent the night here yesterday and there was a lot that was good. The service was polite and efficient. The breakfast was nice and service attentive. The room was fine, bed comfy and wifi worked perfectly. But, those bloody bells.... The hotel is located right next to Darlington Town Hall, which has a nice, big clock. Which hosts a nice,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us . I am so pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and our service. For your next visit please advise me and we will allocate a room for you on an alternative corridor. Thank you once again. More 

Lanarkshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

We used this for a concert and arrived early. First off, the parking.. very nearly is none approximately 10 spaces for 200 odd rooms - GET THERE EARLY IF YOU WANT A SPACE!!! The staff though, are excellent (Except the chef - we'll come to that later!) really helpful and nothing is to difficult. For £75 per room I'd expect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dale N, General Manager at Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We do have limited parking with 21 spaces for 83 bedrooms but there is pay parking only 5 minutes walk away and the charge remains £2.50 for 24 hours. All the beds were replaced in September 2012 with Hypnos beds so I would be very interested to hear which room you found the bed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel

Address: 9 - 12 Priestgate, Darlington DL1 1NW , England (Formerly King's Head Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Darlington Kings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Head Darlington
Head Hotel King
Hotel Kings Head
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Darlington

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay