We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Darlington hotels

St George Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Durham Tees Valley Airport, Darlington DL2 1RH, England
Hotel amenities
St George Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St George Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Darlington
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Rob S Tasmania, Australia
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    40
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
24
40
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Tasmania, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We travelled to The St George Hotel as a pilgrimage to see where my father had flown from during WW2. We arrived without a booking and were greeted by a warm and friendly reception staff who were more than happy to accommodate us. We dined at the Hotel that evening and had breakfast the following morning with both meals being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When hotels are competing to offer 'character', the St George Hotel at Durham Tees Valley Airport has the real thing. The Hotel was originally the Officers' Mess for the WW2 airfield and has interesting photos and memorabilia. The outstanding feature is, however, the staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. It is a comfortable, traditional hotel. Jenny

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne H, Reception at St George Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jenny, Thank you for your feedback, we are very proud of the history of the hotel as you could see. we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Rachel Reception More

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night. This is an interesting hotel. a lot of history to it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Clean room. Tea making facilities, fresh towels. A little out of the way, but worth it. Will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Curlymango Thank you very much for your kind review, i am glad you enjoyed your stay with us we are very proud of the history of our hotel and look forward too seeing you again on your next visit. Regards Kim Raynor Deputy Manager More

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

stayed in this hotel overnight this included dinner bed and breakfast.. dinner was a choice of three main courses and two sweets . starter was luke warm soup .main was a chicken piece with potatoes and veg this was uneatable sweet was stale cake . room was okay breakfast was a joke .serve yourself to toast (but there was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, Thank you for your review. i am sorry you did not enjoy the choices of food on offer we do try to cater for all tastes and the chicken breast with vegetables and potatoes and gravy is usually a very popular dish, along side the other two choices. Along with the vast majority of other hotels around the... More

Norfolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Stayed for a long weekend with newmarket holidays for a trip to beamish and north yorkshire moors. Looked fine from outside. Rooms were basic and needed a revamp. broken tiles in the bathroom, shower took ages to get warm. Only one bath towel, when we had a twin room. Asked at reception and were given new ones. Food was basic.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Norfolkdawnie Thank you very much for your review, as you probably observed the hotel is currently going through an extensive refurbishment programme and i would hope you will see the results if you are in the area again. i am disappointed you did not enjoy the meal choices as we received some very positive reviews from the three day... More

Rhyl, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for one night. It was an old Canadian Air base in the war. the rooms were very spacious and all that you would want is in the rooms ie:- iron / board, tea / coffee making facilities, tv, night lamp comfee beds shower and bath. the food in the dinnining room was good and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Dragon, Thank you very much for your kind review, i am glad the enthusiasm of the staff reflected in your stay at our hotel. as we are very proud of the hotel. Regards Kim Raynor Deputy Manager More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

Well our company booked this for us as we were working late on a nearby shopping centre.we checked in at 11.10pm and thought that we could not have a drink or something to eat.but we were pleasantly surprised when the guy behind the desk said that he would rustle something up for us and we could have a few drinks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Seb, Thank you for your review, i hope we will see you again when your next in the area. Regards Kim Raynor Deputy Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

This hotel was horrible! My husband and I were given the key to room 62. It was not clean at all. The toilet was stained brown, the curtains hanging off the rail, no bedside cabinet, no glasses in the bathroom and the shower curtain was black with mould. We asked to be moved and were given room 67. This room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review

Than you for your review, i am sorry you did not enjoy your stay I have spoken to the house keeping staff about the issues you had with the room and can only apologise it was not up to our usual standard. we try to offer a wide choice at breakfast time with locally sourced sausages and these are usually... More

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

on arrival things looked good but that soon changed the hot water took forever to come through the shower just trickled broken tiles around the bath service at the bar and restaurant was slow as there was only 1 person running between bar reception and kitchen their on line web site needs up dating as it states food served all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Paul, Thank you for your review, the on-line menu is a sample menu and does get changed frequently and a 24 hour snake and sandwich menu runs alongside this so although the evening meals do not start until 1800 food is available throughout the day. i am sorry if this was not explained clearly to you. The Sunday lunch... More

Ashford
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

My partner and I chose to stay here for a night to break up our long drive to Scotland. The place is fantastic. It was so much more than we'd expected it to be. Yes the room was dated but we didn't care about that. I would've thought that the cleanliness was the most important thing about a hotel room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanne H, Manager at St George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are currently refurbishing the bedrooms, and i hope on your next visit you will enjoy staying with us even more. Kind Regards Marion Emery Duty Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George Hotel

Address: Durham Tees Valley Airport, Darlington DL2 1RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Darlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay