We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The White House Bed & Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
31A Dorchester Road | Upton, Poole BH16 5NJ, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Add Photo Write a Review

352 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    348
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
217
30
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (352)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (125)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed two nights at this quaint and unique B&B. Everything had been thought of, and Carole & Rob went the extra mile to make sure that we had a great time. Our room (Woodpecker) was immaculate and clean, with a great big bathroom. Homemade cakes were a delicious treat! The gardens were a delight, shame... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
lincoln
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Thankyou Carol & Rob for a really enjoyable stay, we definitely chose the right B&B to stay at on our mini break to Dorset. Fantastic hospitality Modern bedroom with everything you could need and more ( Song Thrush ) biggest bedroom in the house, bed so comfy we didn't want to get out of it. Breakfast was delicious each morning,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The White House is by far the most unique, ultra-modern and luxurious B & B we've ever had the pleasure of staying at. This house that has been thoroughly modernised throughout with an impressive, large stylish lounge area where the superb breakfast is served through to our bedroom with its enormous bed ( almost as wide as it is long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

2nd visit last night and it was just as lovely as the first. Took a friend with me who said that it had lived up to all I had said about it the first time. The only thing that worries me is if too many people know about it, I might not be able to stay there in the future!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

thanks for the review we love having you stay on your trips to the mainland we will always try to squeeze you in see you next time. More 

UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect for my needs. Very clean, comfortable & stylish accommodation, with very nice touches, such as good toiletries, home made cake in your room, fresh milk in the room's fridge etc. Really excellent breakfast & friendly but professional hosts. Location slightly out of town which suited me as I needed to travel the next day. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it. sorry that my other guests disturbed you sleep when going for the ferry we always try to accommodate our ferry guests in rooms so they don't disturb other guests but being a small establishment this is not always possible all the time so sorry and a... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015 via mobile

I could honestly not fault this wonderfully modern B&B or it's accommodating hosts. Breakfast was uber fresh and delicious. One of the highlights of our trip was having a good ol' gas over breakfast with our hosts. They made us feel so welcome and like we've known them for years! I could not recommend this B&B more.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

thank you for your kind review as you know by now we like a good ole gas as well that's why breakfast goes on so long here. We hope to see you again in the future cheers. More 

Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

We spent a long time trying to think of something our hosts had forgotten, it was a wasted effort, they had thought of everything! Whenever we have to visit Poole we try to stay here. Carol also remembers individual idiosyncrasies and is a step ahead of most requests or needs. Definitely 5 star.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am glad that you could not think of anything we had forgotten we sleep in all our rooms at least once a year as though we were guests just to make sure you have everything you need so hopefully we think of most things anyway I hope that you do make it to Dorset again with your car adventures... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Stopped here in 2012 on way to Jersey.Everything was perfect so we called again to find the same excellent facilities provided by the owners and perfect hosts Carol and husband.The rooms are fantastic,the welcome tea/coffee and home made cakes was appreciated after five hour journey.The breakfast ,no set times arrive when it suits,was the best breakfast we have experienced since... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

we were so happy to see that you enjoyed your return visit just as much as your first and we appreciate you taking the time to tell others about us we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

If you are looking for a dog friendly but equally no dogs allowed b & b you would not find a better place than here. Myself (who had a dog) and my friends who didn't found this b & b excellent. Carol and her husband are brilliant at making you feel welcome but keeping it real.. They give fab advise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We enjoyed your review and we enjoyed having you stay and Robbie was a delight to meet. We hope that we do get to see you all again we enjoyed chatting to you all. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

My partner and I stayed here for two nights Easter weekend. What a fabulous property. The rooms are immaculate and well furnished with absolutely everything you could need and more, super king size bed, including lush toiletries, fresh milk and water in a mini fridge, wine glasses, Iron, TV, hairdryer, bath robes. Carol and Rob are fantastic hosts and nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tabbycatzPoole, Owner at The White House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Oh wow what a smashing review what can we say we so appreciate you taking the time and feel overwhelmed by our lovely guests thank you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Poole hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North
2.8 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#8 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre - Holes Bay
3.3 mi away
Quarterdeck Hotel
Quarterdeck Hotel
#5 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
5.3 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay