We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel du Vin Poole

Thames Street | The Quay, Poole BH15 1JN, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Vin Poole
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel du Vin Poole
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    159
    63
    20
    5
See reviews for
43
376
11
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (583)
  • Mar-May only
    (132)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (150)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (169)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (132)
All months
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful hotel right in the heart of Old Town Poole, close to the Quay. Food exceptional with amazing wines and great knowledge by the sommelier, matching wines to the various courses. What I loved the most were the rooms, which were surprisingly large and of fantastic quality. I had a huge wet room in a large en-suite and on top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Susan B, thank you for your great feedback. It seems you have fully immersed yourself into the HdV experience and enjoyed every minute of it. Please feel free to contact me directly to make you next booking. Warm regards Christian HdV Poole More 

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a wonderful hotel, situated in a lovely spot in Poole with great food, ambience and so much warmth from the staff especially Clare, Will and Carlos. You must stay here when you stay over in Poole. A must have on the dessert menu is the Crepe Suzette. There is also a wonderful sun trap of a garden.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear GrahamC57, thank you for your tiem writing your fantastic review. Your kind comments have been passed on to all team members, especially the Clar, Will and Carlos. Best regards Christian HdV Poole More 

Dorset
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff were superb and catered for our every need including Vegan which we had not pre- advised them of. Great atmosphere. The food was exceptionally tasty, plentiful and enjoyed by all four in our party. Thank you. I would have no hesitation in highly recommending the restaurant. Quite a delightful experience that tickled ones taste-buds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear AsagaDorset, thank you so much writing your great review which I have forwarded it to all relevant departments. Kind regards Christian HdV Poole More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An excellent 3 nights in a deluxe room with balcony. We were celebrating my fiancee's birthday and took along our dog. The staff were so friendly and accommodating - especially of our dog! There was a special rug and bowl waiting in the room. As we were recently engaged and celebrating her birthday, we were upgraded to one of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear dr-owain, Thank you very much for your time writing your fantastic review, which I have forwarded to the rest of the hard working team here at Hotel du Vin. Please feel free to contact me directly to book your next stay. (01202 785570). Kindest regards Christian HdV Poole More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed with my family at the Hotel Du Vin last weekend. The room was very pleasant and well-fitted with a bath and very comfortable beds. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. Locations is superb by the quay and the hotel itself has a very nice feel to it, although the corridors to the rooms are a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear Jordan M, thank you for your time writing your review. I have asked our Housekeeping department to look at the issue, but pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Kind regards Christian HdV Poole More 

Wimborne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From start to finish our stay here was excellent. The staff are very attentive, polite and knowledgable.... Our room was clean and tidy, and despite overlooking the patio area, very quiet. We would not hesitate to book a stay at Hotel du Vin Poole in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear mcparrin, thank you very much for writing your great review. I have passed your kind comments on to the rest of the team. Kind regards Christian HdV Poole More 

UK
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We ate in the restaurant on Thursday lunchtime, a decision I am still regretting three days later. Both myself and my colleague had the chicken Cobb salad. We are both poorly. The hotel is lovely, the conference facilities great and so are the staff but avoid the food at all costs. I won't be eating there again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear SarahintheUK, I am really sorry to hear that your business meeting with us was tainted by an ALLEGED food poisoning incident. As a responsible business we take these ALLEGATIONS very seriously and started our investigation as soon as I was made aware (which was Monday 13th April). We have asked a third, independent unbiased, party to carry out an... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great stay in a well appointed hotel in a great location. Service was excellent throughout and would definitely go back. Attention to detail made the difference for me , so a decent TV in the room and waiters who bring your whole meal at once and not in dribs and drabs. This extends to the hotel's passion for wine... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear PaulG95, thank you for writing your great review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Kind regards Christian HdV Poole More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We often stay in hotel du vins, however we were disappointed with this hotel in Poole. We booked a deluxe room, which happened to be on the ground floor, literately on a road, the bedroom had huge windows so if we had pulled the blinds we would directly be looking at people walking by or into the houses opposite as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear BubbleandSqueak_11, I am sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your room. Have you mentioned it on the day as we might would have been able to move you to another part of the hotel? The building is over 250 year old and the old town in Poole has got narrow streets. Please get in touch with me... More 

Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were kindly upgraded by the friendly staff, who also managed to booked us in to a restaurant that was fully booked...talk about the extra mile!! Room was fantastic and resulted in a great nights sleep. Breakie was superb, just sorry we only stayed one night!!! Best thing about the hotel besides its obvious charm and position is its staff...well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christian S, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Poole, responded to this review

Dear jackpot501, thank you for your time writing your great review. We are always pleased to hear when guests enjoyed their time with us here. Best regards Christian HdV Poole More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

97 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question