We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

RNLI College

#1 of 13 Hotels in Poole
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
West Quay Road, Poole BH15 1HZ, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poole
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
RNLI College
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

523 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    395
    103
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
93
252
22
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (523)
  • Mar-May only
    (122)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (188)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (137)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (76)
All months
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Having previously written a review of RNLI college in Poole I just wanted to add an update as my sister and I have again had a few days there - in fact we would not stay anywhere else when visiting relatives nearby. Everything was excellent, as before, but the rooms are being upgraded and we stayed in one that had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westcliff-on-Sea
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the college for 3 nights and was most impressed with everything about it. Every room has a view of Holes Bay, that adjoins Poole Harbour. I believe the rooms have been refurbished recently and we were most impressed with the standard. You are always pleasantly aware of the fact that it is in fact a college facility... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our second visit to the RNLI and we were not disappointed, this is a truly outstanding hotel. Without exception the staff are friendly, helpful and professional, nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are immaculate, the beds comfortable, the views divine! what more could you ask for, we will definitely be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A hidden gem! Great food ! Great location ! Rooms are faultless .all staff friendly and helpful. Walking distance to Poole harbour and shopping centre. Stunning views for hotel rooms and bar. Wii be booking return visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review

Dear 643lisa, Thank you for such a kind review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the RNLI Training College in Poole. It sounds like you've both thoroughly enjoyed your stay and I'm particularly pleased to hear that our staff were their usual friendly and helpful selves. As every £1 spent at the RNLI College goes towards covering... More 

Glenelg, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the pleasure of staying at the RNLI for two nights. It is certainly an impressive facility. On arrival and checking into our room a small hiccup in the room had not been cleaned and made up which the staff kept apologising for despite our advice it was ok. We were quickly given another room and offered a complimentary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review

Dear Knob63, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide such a detailed review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the RNLI Training College in Poole. I'm sorry to hear that you suffered a "hiccup" on arrival but pleased to hear that our team swiftly rectified the issue. It sounds like you've had a most... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our ferry got in very late (after 11pm) and we were amazed at how welcoming the lovely security man was at that time of night!! We were also delighted to stay in a newly-refurbished room overlooking the harbour, and were able to sleep very peacefully - even with the window open. Great breakfast too. Would love to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review

Dear CazK321, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the RNLI Training College in Poole. I'm very pleased to hear that our evening security team offered such a lovely welcome on your late arrival at the College and also that you were able to enjoy a pleasant and peaceful... More 

London, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A perfect one night stay, only because the college was full for the second when we booked. The RNLI's culture of care and doing things to a high standard is there from the friendly welcome on reception to the room - luxurious, attractive spacious, comfortable and spotless, clearly one of the refurbished rooms. Nice view over Holes Bay, and also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review

Dear dirose888, Thank you very much for taking the time to provide such a lovely review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the RNLI Training College in Poole. I'm so very pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your overnight stay and I'mm be sure to pass your comments onto the team. I've asked our IT team... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place and the people were fantastic, the rooms were very nice and had a great view of the waterfront. Close to a number of places for food if you want to eat out within walking distance. Or eat in with a great selection and some awesome views. Additionally these people save lives. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review

Dear Dawsy64, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us at the RNLI Training College in Poole and I'm pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us on your recent trip across from Australia. I'll be sure to pass on your kind comments to the team. We are the designated facility for... More 

somerset
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We didn't stay the night, but had to spend all day in Poole whilst the car was being serviced! A very friendly welcome from every member of staff we came into contact with. we had lots of work to do and stayed at the RNLI. great breakfast and superb lunch. very reasonably priced and great situation on the quayside. Lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review

Dear jq002, Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor following your recent unplanned stay with us at the RNLI Training College in Poole. I'm pleased that we were able to accommodate you with an environment to relax and continue with your work and hope that we didn't distract you too much from the work you were supposed to be... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very relaxing 5 day break. The room had a lovely view but I missed my kingsize bed and hanging space limited. It is all very casual so not a problem. I was impressed with the food and bar one evening the portions were generous. Lots to do within walking distance so park the car and enjoy some the exercise. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ewan S, General Manager at RNLI College, responded to this review

Dear carmel d, Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view from your bedroom as well as the catering provided in our Slipway Bar. We're perfectly located for exploring Poole and the surrounding areas so it's great that you've been able to take advantage of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

190 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (153)
Viewed
View from room (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poole
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#2 of 13 in Poole
4.5 of 5 stars 700 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Poole North
2.9 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thistle Poole
Thistle Poole
#8 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Poole Centre - Holes Bay
3.0 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities