We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Stevenage

3.0 of 5 Danstrete, Stevenage SG1 1XB, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    123
    93
    27
    10
See reviews for
58
82
41
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (337)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (109)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A nice smooth check in and a comfortable room on the first floor. Hotel was busy and I didn't hear any noise in the room. Although no parking at the hotel they did have a good arrangement with Matalan over the road. Breakfast was as expected for a holiday inn express.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark_Ansell, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay, I am glad you found the hotel comfortable and to suit your needs we look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
99 hotel reviews
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived late & left about 8.30 a.m. We wanted a good value stop on the way to Heathrow to catch a flight next day. Parking at the Matalan opposite was free & so was breakfast. The latter wasn't great, but it wasn't bad for free. There was a selection of hot & cold stuff. The coffee was from a machine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark_Ansell, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage I will bring up your points with my team as we are always looking to improve the services we offer our guest We hope to see you again soon More 

Marske-by-the-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited for Middlesbroughs FA Cup trip to Arsenal due to easy access into London, as the hotel is well placed only 5 mins away from the train station with direct services to London every 10 mins or so. We arrived early as the roads were quiet and ventured in to the hotel to enquire what time we were likely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark_Ansell, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review on your recent stay here I am happy that my staff were friendly and welcoming We look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Stoke-On-trent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night (as a planned overnight break) whilst visiting friends in Essex. The hotel is relatively new and the welcome was excellent (our daughter was offered a colouring in book by reception staff). When we got to the rpm we found that the sofa bed has not need made up. The reservation has been made as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark_Ansell, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice small room (nor too big or too small). Quick check-in, quick check-out. The wifi is horrible. I had to use 3g on my cell-phone mostly for emails and even sky sports (With Atletico playing Real that evening)! Otherwise, all is great. Walking distance to Stevenage Train Station (About 5 mins by overbridge). There's a McD's a couple of mins... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark_Ansell, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your reviews. Unfortunately the hotel was suffering from issues with our provider , I can assure you after the problem was reported we did our up most to try and resolve but it was not something that could be resolved in house. I do apologies and hope to welcome you back... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was by myself, and the compact room was perfect. Even though it's a five star, and I'd go back to this hotel in a minute, I won't make you search my text for the tidbits. Here they are: Two things got me here over the Holiday Inn a few blocks away...free wifi and free parking. The wifi was fine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark_Ansell, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Dear Guest We pride ourselves on the standards o and service we provide and on this occasion we have let you and ourselves down. I am extremely sorry that the quality of service you received was not to your satisfaction. I fully appreciate how upsetting this must have been for you. I have discussed the issues you raised with my... More 

Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You get what you'd expect from a Holiday Inn Express, the room had everything I needed for an overnight stay. Wifi access with I did use for work. Very local to the train station which is a positive. Gym next door that the hotel has a discounted rate for, although I didn't get the time to use it. Good buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Dear Lesley G, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and location of the hotel. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again on your future travels.... More 

stoke on trent
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Managed to pick up a great deal in the sale so stayed 3 nights The room is as always clean and comfy and spacious Parking was limited but there is a few places which we managed to bag. Breakfast is free and ok isn't the best but for nothing it's great. Internet is free but very slow again you can't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanna O, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay here the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, I am very to hear you got to take advantage on the sale we had running I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to meet your needs We look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

I dont know why but they stuck me in a disabled room. But I was happy to have a much comfier bed than the night before. Clean enough, tiny bed but comfy. Bathroom was a walk in style wet room, no bath. Parking right across road. I got there ok as Im familiar with Stevenage, but I can see how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanna O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. It is great to hear you liked our new beds and location and I am sorry that you didnt enjoy our Express Start free breakfast offering. Our free breakfast is available to all guests who book with us and consists of a continental selection plus 3 hot items, scrambled... More 

England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Stayed while visiting family in the area and hotel team exceeded expectations. Reception and breakfast staff were very friendly, welcoming and went out of their way to give us good service...well done all. Exceptionally good value - we stayed between Christmas and New Year for 2 nights. Hotel was easy to find and we had no problems parking in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanna O, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Very glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage . We hope to see you again! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stevenage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stevenage

Address: Danstrete, Stevenage SG1 1XB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Stevenage 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stevenage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage Hotel Stevenage
Holiday Inn Stevenage
Stevenage Holiday Inn

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay