We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Stevenage

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Danstrete, Stevenage SG1 1XB, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Review This Hotel

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    124
    96
    27
    10
See reviews for
58
83
42
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (341)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (109)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
hertfordshire
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Basic hotel with what you need but nothing special,awful breakfast not much choice at all,was like warm and not appetising at all,prob won't be back anytime soon would much rather pay more and stay at the holiday inn (newer hotel in Stevenage)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel is clean and simple, next to the town centre. The room was a reasonable size and well equipped. Wifi was free, as was overnight parking in the Matalan Shopping car park opposite. Staff were friendly and helpful. Wifi was free and fast. I found the breakfast food good, but limited in choice. The drinks machine was empty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton , East Sussex
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Check in was good , nice staff very pleasant and helpful, room was very clean, good bed and comfortable, basic but ok. The Wi-Fi is really poor, when you travel on business you need this and its very limited with poor signal. Parking is free in Mataln between 5pm and 9am otherwise very limited.. Food is basic bit ok

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark_Ansell, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your reviews. Unfortunately the hotel was suffering from issues with our provider , I can assure you after the problem was reported we did our up most to try and resolve but it was not something that could be resolved in house. I do apologies and hope to welcome you back... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel recently, and was allocated a room on the lower ground floor. Basic facilities, and wi fi reception was poor. Breakfast hot food was not replenished quickly, and only scrambled egg, beans and poor quality sausages available. Had to wait for sausages to be replenished for 10 mins, which was not ideal. Room was fine, basic with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark_Ansell, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your... More 

United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

A nice smooth check in and a comfortable room on the first floor. Hotel was busy and I didn't hear any noise in the room. Although no parking at the hotel they did have a good arrangement with Matalan over the road. Breakfast was as expected for a holiday inn express.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark_Ansell, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay, I am glad you found the hotel comfortable and to suit your needs we look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
101 hotel reviews
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

Arrived late & left about 8.30 a.m. We wanted a good value stop on the way to Heathrow to catch a flight next day. Parking at the Matalan opposite was free & so was breakfast. The latter wasn't great, but it wasn't bad for free. There was a selection of hot & cold stuff. The coffee was from a machine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark_Ansell, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage I will bring up your points with my team as we are always looking to improve the services we offer our guest We hope to see you again soon More 

Marske-by-the-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We visited for Middlesbroughs FA Cup trip to Arsenal due to easy access into London, as the hotel is well placed only 5 mins away from the train station with direct services to London every 10 mins or so. We arrived early as the roads were quiet and ventured in to the hotel to enquire what time we were likely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark_Ansell, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review on your recent stay here I am happy that my staff were friendly and welcoming We look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Stoke-On-trent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We stayed here for one night (as a planned overnight break) whilst visiting friends in Essex. The hotel is relatively new and the welcome was excellent (our daughter was offered a colouring in book by reception staff). When we got to the rpm we found that the sofa bed has not need made up. The reservation has been made as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark_Ansell, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 hotel reviews
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Nice small room (nor too big or too small). Quick check-in, quick check-out. The wifi is horrible. I had to use 3g on my cell-phone mostly for emails and even sky sports (With Atletico playing Real that evening)! Otherwise, all is great. Walking distance to Stevenage Train Station (About 5 mins by overbridge). There's a McD's a couple of mins... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark_Ansell, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your reviews. Unfortunately the hotel was suffering from issues with our provider , I can assure you after the problem was reported we did our up most to try and resolve but it was not something that could be resolved in house. I do apologies and hope to welcome you back... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

I was by myself, and the compact room was perfect. Even though it's a five star, and I'd go back to this hotel in a minute, I won't make you search my text for the tidbits. Here they are: Two things got me here over the Holiday Inn a few blocks away...free wifi and free parking. The wifi was fine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark_Ansell, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Dear Guest We pride ourselves on the standards o and service we provide and on this occasion we have let you and ourselves down. I am extremely sorry that the quality of service you received was not to your satisfaction. I fully appreciate how upsetting this must have been for you. I have discussed the issues you raised with my... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question