We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Stevenage

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Danstrete, Stevenage SG1 1XB, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Stevenage
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    128
    97
    27
    11
See reviews for
59
86
43
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (349)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (109)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (71)
All months
UK
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Brilliant Holiday Inn express, the rooms and public areas are immaculate, the staff are great too. The cost was extremely reasonable. Only ate one meal here, which was breakfast on the day of departure. It was pretty grim. Very poor quality sausages, what looked like reconstituted scrambled eggs and no bacon. Let me say that again ... NO bacon. Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanna O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your feedback; the holiday inn express offer a continental breakfast with the addition of 3 hot items sausages, beans and scrambled egg – the company is looking into changing our breakfast offering so watch this space. Hope you come and see us again soon, Mark More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here on many occassions and always have a great stay. The rooms are always spotless and comfortable, and the staff are very welcoming and attentive. The value for money is great, as is the free breakfast! Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to book a stay in Stevenage.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joanna O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback, great to read you have stayed with us on a few occasions – Have you signed up to IHGRewards? Get points for your stays that can be spend on loads of things, come and see us again soon, Mark More 

Silsden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a fabulous place for a low cost, yet comfortable place. We had a family room and they provided a coat. A little snug but we only slept there! Asked if they could see if they had any adjoining rooms as our little one struggled the first night to get to sleep whilst we watched TV, although none were available... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanna O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback, great to read your children enjoyed our breakfast, come and see us again soon, Mark More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel because it was near to the Rail Station, we had already phoned reception to get parking advice, which I would suggest is a good call if you have not visited before. The staff were friendly and helpfull, the rooms were clean and comfortable and to get a breakfast and free WiFi included in the price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanna O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback, as you stated are only 5 minutes from the train station (about 45minutes to London) Parking can be a challenge – we do have a few options so calling ahead can help. Kind regards Mark More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well, where do I begin. I frequent Stevenage every other week, hence hotel stay is a requirement. The last time I stopped at the HIE was Feb 2014. Had an experience of NO HOT WATER for washing/showering on that occasion. Made an official complaint with the manager the next morning (during the explanation of the situation, led to a parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

receptionists helpful and cheerful parking free in matalan 5pm-9am across the road. room clean and bright. shower hot but low water pressure. free wifi bed comfy zzzzzzzz... breakfast sufficient, but not a great variety.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanna O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback, great to read you have stayed with us on a few occasions – Have you signed up to IHGRewards? Get points for your stays that can be spend on loads of things, come and see us again soon, Mark More 

Notts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Extremely helpful staff, above average bathroom, basic room, but all in good condition. Breakfast was average but sufficient. We got good value for 4 people in our family room, but the sofa bed was not the finest. Free parking was available. Not much of a bar. Free unlocked wifi was a novelty and fast enough to be useable, which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Dear DanRNotts, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for reviewing our property. We are so pleased to know that we were able to meet your needs during your stay. It is always motivating on our end to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you. Your compliments make it all worth our efforts. If there is... More 

England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Check in was smooth as I had booked on line and as a member of the IHG Rewards I saved another £4.99. Room was on the 2nd floor, plenty big enough for a 1 night stay, enough hanging space for 1 or 2 nights. The en suite consisted of a shower (no bath) toilet and basin. Enough fluffy towels. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joanna O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback, great to read you have an enjoyable stay, come and see us again soon, Mark More 

hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Basic hotel with what you need but nothing special,awful breakfast not much choice at all,was like warm and not appetising at all,prob won't be back anytime soon would much rather pay more and stay at the holiday inn (newer hotel in Stevenage)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark_Ansell, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

May I sincerely apologise for the fact that you have been given cause to contact us regarding your visit to the Holiday Inn Express Stevenage. The quality of our food and service is of paramount importance to us and I was therefore very disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction. We make every effort to ensure food is promptly delivered to... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is clean and simple, next to the town centre. The room was a reasonable size and well equipped. Wifi was free, as was overnight parking in the Matalan Shopping car park opposite. Staff were friendly and helpful. Wifi was free and fast. I found the breakfast food good, but limited in choice. The drinks machine was empty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joanna O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stevenage, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback, great to read you have an enjoyable stay, come and see us again soon, Mark More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question