We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Stevenage hotels

Archways Lodge Hotel

11 Hitchin Road, Stevenage SG1 3BJ, England
Hotel amenities
Archways Lodge Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
91%
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Stevenage
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014
Sue and Dave C Canterbury, United Kingdom
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    15
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
20
18
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room. Our room (jungle themed) was absolutely spotlessly clean and warm, the mini kitchen had all that was required for a microwave meal. The complimentary basket contained ample tea, coffee, milk and biscuits with a couple packets of crisps too. The showers are of an adequate standard size and again scrupulously clean.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
normasomers, Manager at Archways Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue and Dave Thank you so much for your review on trip advisor and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future should you visit Stevenage again Many thanks again and best regards Anna More

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Self-catering style room was very cramped and bathroom/shower room clearly designed for a hobbit! All else decent enough, but unlikely to return unless room with more space is available. Disappointing that the limited wardrobe space was further decreased because of storage of a large electric fan, just the thing in a cold, wet winter. I discovered Archways via an internet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
normasomers, General Manager at Archways Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve Thank you for your comments on trip advisor. We will take on board all your comments to help improve our services Best regards Anna More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I booked a single and twin room at the Archway Lodge and was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the accommodation and value for money. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. The mini-kitchen was an added bonus. We will definitely stay there again but take more food next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
normasomers, General Manager at Archways Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret Many thanks for your great comments and reviews. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future Best regards Anna More

Harlow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed here in August. with family for a wedding in the old town.Nothing is to much trouble for the owner. The hotel is spotless and parking is free and on site.Breakfast is good and hotel is close to other town amenities.Would definitely stay again if in the area as prices are very competitive with other places in the town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
normasomers, General Manager at Archways Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your comments and reviews. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again in the near future Best regards Anna More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I had to make a quick dash to Stevenage as my daughter (who lives there) had gone into early labour with her first baby. This hotel was found on the internet and was close to the hospital. I received a phone call whilst at the hospital from hotel staff to let me know the room was ready and I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
normasomers, General Manager at Archways Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your great comments and reviews. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the near future Best regards Anna More

Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed at the Archways for a week over the Xmas period The weather was a little wild that week but were warm and comfortable in our lovely room As a couple who do not need a "full english breakfast" we found the mini kitchen ideal If you value quality and comfort and attention to detail then this is the place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
normasomers, General Manager at Archways Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Norma Thank you so much for your comments and ratings. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in the near future Best regards Anna More

Sheffield
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Lovely welcome and explanation on arrival. Very comfortable and quiet room (room11). As Goldilocks would say 'just right'. I have stayed in some horrors in Stevenage but this was refreshingly different The cupboard kitchenette was a great idea which other hotels might follow. Not the usual balancing a kettle on a bedside table.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
normasomers, Manager at Archways Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your reviews and comments and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. With regards to the balancing of the kettle - this should be done in the kitchenette as there is a plug for the kettle there. Next time we will show you where the plug is and apologies if this was not explained on... More

Somerset
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here while attending a family funeral and found it very comfortable and clean. Only disappointment was no breakfast - perhaps my mistake. However the mini kitchenette was a plus and if I had come prepared I could have taken more advantage of this. The themed rooms are compact but spacious enough. The wifi didn't reach to my quiet room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
normasomers, Manager at Archways Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your comments and ratings on our Hotel. I am sorry you were not informed about the 'no breakfast' but we will use this for future to improve our service. The wifi is usually very good throughout the building so we will be checking on that also and hopefully if you return to Stevenage and stay... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Had a great welcome...shown to my room and all explained...other than no breakfast...a nice basket of goodies but crisps for breakfast? The standard of the room were great...a little cold if you are doing anything more than an over night. Great facilities if you are a smoker...nice covered out door area. If you want a Good value place to rest... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
normasomers, Manager at Archways Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your reviews on trip advisor. All your comments have been noted and much appreciated as you seem to have liked our service and standards With regards to your comment 'crisps for breakfast'!! It states clearly on our booking that there is no food supplement at our Hotel. The basket is a complimentary 'Welcome Basket' for... More

Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I chose to stay here at the end of September with our 8 month old baby after we read such glowing reviews of Archways. We needed a base to stay near family and Archways Lodge seemed ideal! And what a superb choice we made. Great place with fab rooms. And amazingly clean and modern throughout. We took... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
normasomers, Manager at Archways Lodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for your comments and reviews. These are much appreciated and help us keep up to standard. We look forward to welcoming you again should you visit Stevenage Best regards Anna More

Been to Archways Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archways Lodge Hotel

Address: 11 Hitchin Road, Stevenage SG1 3BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Stevenage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Stevenage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Archways Lodge Hotel you're not a number - you're a name. Which is why all our studio - apartment rooms are individually named (not numbered) and decorated with attitude, a splash of colour and style. From the ultra-cool of the 'Alaska' to the 'African' tribal vibe or the funky 'Music' and many more besides, your Zizz room is as individual as you are! Fully equipped with satellite TV, en suite bathroom, Scandinavian kitchen with fridge and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Archways Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Archways Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Archways Lodge Hotel to your Saves list