We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Ipswich hotels

Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Havens, 2 Ransomes Europark, Ipswich IP3 9SJ, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
59%
Ranked #16 of 22 hotels in Ipswich
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
macstress London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (182)
  • Photos (28)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    63
    47
    14
    12
See reviews for
18
66
6
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Most of the staff were friendly and doing their best. Waited with three others a full 20 minutes at an unmanned reception to check in by a rather rude, harressed lady.. Breakfast time was a bit of a lottery as to what was available. Food was running out faster than it was being replaced. The excuse given was that all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. It is always good to hear that you found the staff friendly but I am sorry that you had a few problems over your stay and would like to reassure you that this is not a usual occurrence, and I will discuss with the team moving forward.... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What you pay what u get its nice and clean beds shower works and clean i had a quite room and lovely sleep . Good hotel easy car park good staff no swimming pool clean bathroom clean toilet ckesn floors

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about the hotel. It is always nice to hear positive feedback, and that you got a good nights sleep. If you do stay with us again, we do offer free entry to the David Lloyd gym, which has a indoor and outdoor swimming pool, and it's just a few minuets walk from the hotel. We... More

Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed recently on a business trip. Spent an entire saturday working from the hotel. Wifi and the telephone service are a boon and not too expensive unlike London hotels. Food lacks variety and the place is a bit away from the city center if you havent travelled in your own car. Overall an average stay. No complaints. Have stayed here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It is always good to hear positive comments which I always pass onto the team. We do have a very good WIFI service and now if you enrol as an IHG Rewards Member you will also receive free internet. I have passed your comments onto our Head... More

Leiston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed here for one of our close friends wedding. We arrived for the ceremony about 1pm hoping to check in to our room to get changed and was told check in was at 2pm by a very rude lady. Surely for a wedding an early check in can be arranged especially as the whole wedding ceremony, wedding breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. I am disheartened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Check-in at the hotel is normally 2pm, guests are able to request an “early check-in” but this cannot naturally be guaranteed, we must appreciate that guests staying the previous night may choose to vacate... More

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only stayed one night & it was adequate! First impressions were people sitting outside the main reception entrance smoking which meant there were full ashtrays & the stench of cigarettes. If these seats were moved to a different area it would be a lot better! Bedroom was clean but very dated. No air con and a window that opened... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Dear Bridget F, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that you found our team to be friendly. I am obviously disappointed to hear that you were disturbed by road noise. We have a lot of quiet rooms at the back of the hotel which I am sure would be better suited to you and I have noted... More

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I thought holiday inns were supposed to be nice. The room smelt like a rabbit hutch and it was unbearabley hot, i asked the staff for a fan wich i was given, but without it i would not have been a pleasant nights sleep, plus the fan helped get rid of the pet shop smell. My mum and her partner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Hello John D, firstly let me apologise for the shortfall you experienced during your stay at Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell. On our website it clearly states that there is no air-conditioning in the hotel and due to its location this has never been so noticeable and I am sorry this was an inconvenience. Regarding the smell of the room, if... More

Lancashire UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for just one night while visiting Suffolk on a birding trip. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful but forgot to offer my wife (who is a platinum card holder) the complimentary points or a free drink (she always takes the points!). A minor fault but some customers might miss out - not us - my wife... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your very kind feedback GiffLancashireUK, it really is very much appreciated. I'm delighted you found the team to be very helpful and friendly and I know that Connor will be thrilled that they were able to make your stay that little bit more special. It's great to read your comments about breakfast and I'm... More

Ely, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night as i was at a dinner locally and i found the staff very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and tidy with tea/coffee, but no biscuit!! Plenty of towels and hot water. Value for money ok as i booked on late rooms

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Dear andrew e, Thanks for your review. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us, and we look forward to your return, I will make sure the biscuits are not missed!! Don't forget, by booking direct, we guarantee the best price!! Thank you again. Kind Regards, Hiren Varvadekar Interim General Manager More

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

i had my wedding reception here and i must say from start to finish it was excellent, i couldnt fault the staff or the service they pulled out all the stops to make sure are day was special. The food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. I would like to thank tracey sean and wayne for arranging everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you mandyralph for your excellent feedback. I am extremely pleased to hear that the staff at the Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell made your 'very special day' one to remember. We do try hard to make sure all our guests are well looked after and I am glad to hear that this was the case. I will certainly share your comments... More

Basher510
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel is pretty average - it's clean but basic. The breakfast was very good as much as you want for £10 and a wide variety of different foods on offer including a traditional full english. However, the rooms are tiny! The bathrooms are tinier which makes it virtually impossible to get into or close the bathroom door. The 'double'... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Dear Basher510, I am very sorry to hear about your experience at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell. I would very much like to discuss your experience in person. Please give me a call on 01473272244 or email hiren.varvadekar@kewgreen.co.uk. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the poor experience you had and hope we can resolve this. Kind Regards, Hiren Varvadekar General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell

Address: The Havens, 2 Ransomes Europark, Ipswich IP3 9SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Suffolk

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ipswich with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel is ideally located at Junction 57 on the A14, only 10 minutes from Ipswich Town Centre, 15 minutes from the Suffolk Coast and 5 minutes from Trinity Park the home of the Suffolk Show.The Hotel boasts extensive free car parking and a selection of Queen Double and King Double/Twin Bedrooms some with sofa beds for families. A further 6 Executive Rooms are the ideal business choice with mini bars and laptops safes, in addition 2 open plan Suites add the final touch of luxury for those special occasions.The Hotel offers a range of dining experiences, The Priory Restaurant, Bar and Lounge offer informal modern dining with a large choice of food and drink options complimented with daily specials to suit the needs of both the Corporate and Leisure Guest. The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel has a range of conference and banqueting rooms, with Wi-Fi access available in these and also the public areas, whilst wired access is available in all bedrooms.The Hotel offers an onsite Gym and within walking distance, a state of the art Full Leisure Complex is available to guests at a small nominal charge.The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel, close enough to access the business districts and Adastral Park, whilst still being the ideal base to enjoy the rest of East Anglia and all that it can offer. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
60

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer