We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Ipswich hotels

Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Havens, 2 Ransomes Europark, Ipswich IP3 9SJ, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
59%
Ranked #16 of 22 hotels in Ipswich
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Mark G Banbury, England, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (185)
  • Photos (29)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (26)
  • More
true
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    64
    49
    14
    12
See reviews for
18
69
6
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is relatively easy to find and conveniently positioned. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. Unfortunately the service was poor with the reception initially staffed by someone who was totally uninterested and did not offer any of the normal arrival information. The hotel lacked any atmosphere and was unusually empty for a bank holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for taking the time to write a review further to your visit to the hotel. I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay and must apologise for the poor experience you had with the reception team member and it is totally unacceptable. I have discussed your review with my reception manager... More

Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
52 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We love this hotel because it feels solid and friendly. There is adequate parking space, and reception was efficient. Our room was lovely with good quality furniture which is a definite improvement on the rubbish which some modern hotels install. The king-sized bed was very comfortable and everything in the room, including the bathroom, was very clean. Breakfast was good,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback Michael. I was so pleased to hear that you rate the hotel and the staff so highly. The team work hard towards a faultless stay with excellent customer service and I was pleased to hear you thought we achieved this. Our breakfast buffet is the highlight of the day with over 60 items to... More

Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed a single night here. We had a room with a king-size bed but only one bedside table and light which, given the great width of the king-size bed meant that only one of us could read without having to get out of bed to turn off the main lights. Apart from that it was clean, corporate and, like a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments wanderobo, regarding your recent experience with us. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words about the cleanliness of the hotel. On the other hand, please accept my sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Rest assured that these issues... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Most of the staff were friendly and doing their best. Waited with three others a full 20 minutes at an unmanned reception to check in by a rather rude, harressed lady.. Breakfast time was a bit of a lottery as to what was available. Food was running out faster than it was being replaced. The excuse given was that all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. It is always good to hear that you found the staff friendly but I am sorry that you had a few problems over your stay and would like to reassure you that this is not a usual occurrence, and I will discuss with the team moving forward.... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What you pay what u get its nice and clean beds shower works and clean i had a quite room and lovely sleep . Good hotel easy car park good staff no swimming pool clean bathroom clean toilet ckesn floors

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about the hotel. It is always nice to hear positive feedback, and that you got a good nights sleep. If you do stay with us again, we do offer free entry to the David Lloyd gym, which has a indoor and outdoor swimming pool, and it's just a few minuets walk from the hotel. We... More

Pune, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed recently on a business trip. Spent an entire saturday working from the hotel. Wifi and the telephone service are a boon and not too expensive unlike London hotels. Food lacks variety and the place is a bit away from the city center if you havent travelled in your own car. Overall an average stay. No complaints. Have stayed here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It is always good to hear positive comments which I always pass onto the team. We do have a very good WIFI service and now if you enrol as an IHG Rewards Member you will also receive free internet. I have passed your comments onto our Head... More

Leiston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed here for one of our close friends wedding. We arrived for the ceremony about 1pm hoping to check in to our room to get changed and was told check in was at 2pm by a very rude lady. Surely for a wedding an early check in can be arranged especially as the whole wedding ceremony, wedding breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. I am disheartened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Check-in at the hotel is normally 2pm, guests are able to request an “early check-in” but this cannot naturally be guaranteed, we must appreciate that guests staying the previous night may choose to vacate... More

Sudbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only stayed one night & it was adequate! First impressions were people sitting outside the main reception entrance smoking which meant there were full ashtrays & the stench of cigarettes. If these seats were moved to a different area it would be a lot better! Bedroom was clean but very dated. No air con and a window that opened... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Dear Bridget F, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am pleased that you found our team to be friendly. I am obviously disappointed to hear that you were disturbed by road noise. We have a lot of quiet rooms at the back of the hotel which I am sure would be better suited to you and I have noted... More

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I thought holiday inns were supposed to be nice. The room smelt like a rabbit hutch and it was unbearabley hot, i asked the staff for a fan wich i was given, but without it i would not have been a pleasant nights sleep, plus the fan helped get rid of the pet shop smell. My mum and her partner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Hello John D, firstly let me apologise for the shortfall you experienced during your stay at Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell. On our website it clearly states that there is no air-conditioning in the hotel and due to its location this has never been so noticeable and I am sorry this was an inconvenience. Regarding the smell of the room, if... More

Lancashire UK
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We stayed here for just one night while visiting Suffolk on a birding trip. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful but forgot to offer my wife (who is a platinum card holder) the complimentary points or a free drink (she always takes the points!). A minor fault but some customers might miss out - not us - my wife... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your very kind feedback GiffLancashireUK, it really is very much appreciated. I'm delighted you found the team to be very helpful and friendly and I know that Connor will be thrilled that they were able to make your stay that little bit more special. It's great to read your comments about breakfast and I'm... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell

Address: The Havens, 2 Ransomes Europark, Ipswich IP3 9SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Suffolk

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Near Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel is ideally located at Junction 57 on the A14, only 10 minutes from Ipswich Town Centre, 15 minutes from the Suffolk Coast and 5 minutes from Trinity Park the home of the Suffolk Show.The Hotel boasts extensive free car parking and a selection of Queen Double and King Double/Twin Bedrooms some with sofa beds for families. A further 6 Executive Rooms are the ideal business choice with mini bars and laptops safes, in addition 2 open plan Suites add the final touch of luxury for those special occasions.The Hotel offers a range of dining experiences, The Priory Restaurant, Bar and Lounge offer informal modern dining with a large choice of food and drink options complimented with daily specials to suit the needs of both the Corporate and Leisure Guest. The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel has a range of conference and banqueting rooms, with Wi-Fi access available in these and also the public areas, whilst wired access is available in all bedrooms.The Hotel offers an onsite Gym and within walking distance, a state of the art Full Leisure Complex is available to guests at a small nominal charge.The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel, close enough to access the business districts and Adastral Park, whilst still being the ideal base to enjoy the rest of East Anglia and all that it can offer. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
60

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer