We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Ipswich hotels

Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Havens, 2 Ransomes Europark, Ipswich IP3 9SJ, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
60%
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Ipswich
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
mandyralph Woodbridge, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (174)
  • Photos (28)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (24)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    60
    44
    14
    10
See reviews for
16
62
6
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

i had my wedding reception here and i must say from start to finish it was excellent, i couldnt fault the staff or the service they pulled out all the stops to make sure are day was special. The food was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. I would like to thank tracey sean and wayne for arranging everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you mandyralph for your excellent feedback. I am extremely pleased to hear that the staff at the Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell made your 'very special day' one to remember. We do try hard to make sure all our guests are well looked after and I am glad to hear that this was the case. I will certainly share your comments... More

Basher510
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is pretty average - it's clean but basic. The breakfast was very good as much as you want for £10 and a wide variety of different foods on offer including a traditional full english. However, the rooms are tiny! The bathrooms are tinier which makes it virtually impossible to get into or close the bathroom door. The 'double'... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Dear Basher510, I am very sorry to hear about your experience at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell. I would very much like to discuss your experience in person. Please give me a call on 01473272244 or email hiren.varvadekar@kewgreen.co.uk. Please accept my most sincere apologies for the poor experience you had and hope we can resolve this. Kind Regards, Hiren Varvadekar General Manager More

Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I met some friends at the hotel last night to watch the football and have a meal and felt compelled to write a review. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality and tastiness of the food we ordered. I have eaten here many times in the past but this time the food really had gone up a notch and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you Claire M for a lovely review! It was great to see you enjoyed your food so much with us, and will return! I have passed on your lovely feedback to the team and certainly to Connor, Curtis & Edward. Thank you again and it would be great to have you back. Kind Regards, Hiren Varvadekar Interim General Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As others have said, this hotel is needing a little TLC, but it is a good value hotel. The room was clean and there was hot water for both bath and shower - something that is sometimes lacking! The shower was very good. I wish we were in the same room as '2560 Rusty' as our bed was far from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Hooligan-59. It is our key focus to ensure a fantastic guest experience for all guest, so it was disappointing to read that you encountered a few issues in certain areas. I do appreciate your comment and feedback really does help to measure satisfaction and inevitably review and improve. On a positive note, I am pleased... More

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to a family event - food was good and staff friendly but the building itself is in need of tlc and starting to look its age with peeling paint and dead plants. The car park surface is also quite hazardous underfoot in places with lots of trip hazards.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Dear Fairysparkle2013, Thank you for your feedback following your recent experience at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and the staff were friendly. In terms of the exterior of the building we are due a refurbishment of the windows soon and this will address the areas you have highlighted. Many thanks again... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Everything about it was good. It is well laid out and all the staff were helpful and friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. True parts of the hotel could do with a lick of paint here and there. After all it is not a brand new hotel. The restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you so much bm46j for your fantastic comments! I am very pleased you had such a fabulous stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is great to see how much you appreciated the team and all the hard work they put in ensuring great stays. I have shared your fantastic experience with the team,... More

Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I seem to spend half of my life in Hotels, and have realized that paying a bit more can make a big difference, searching on line I found a lot of cheap deals, and then I found this one, still a great price £70 for a Kings size room with breakfast, the room was spotless, and the shower was lovely,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Dear 2560Rusty, thank you so much for your review. I will ensure the team see your feedback; they will really appreciate this as this work very hard to try and ensure they deliver a great, friendly service to all our guests. Thank you also for your suggestion with the timings and we will certainly consider this on our next review... More

UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. Easy to find just off the A14 and in a convenient location as there are many places to eat locally and easy to get to town, if you avoid the rush hours when the road around can become gridlocked, especially as the Suffolk show was on around the corner. There is a large car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Dear Spout, thank you very much for your review and comprehensive feedback. We are sorry that you rated us only 3/5 and can only apologies if we didn't come up to the standard during your stay. We do appreciate your comments and feedback. I am particularly disappointed by feedback on the bedroom and will certainly have a word with our... More

North Hykeham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stay one night with my wife as part of a coach party booking. The room we were given was clean and tidy but the enamel on the bath was badly cracked or missing in places. The evening meal we had was very disappointing, the starters hadn't been plated up properly and didn't have much taste to them, it didn't matter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jason s, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Dear Curly tops, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am really pleased that you found during your stay that our staff to be friendly as this is something we really pride ourselves on. I will pass your kind words to the team. I am of course disappointed you did not find the food to your expectation and have discussed... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This Holiday Inn , on the outskirts of Ipswich , is what I think of as "old school" Holiday Inn. I do not mean that in a bad way but rather that it i a little dated overall but much has been done to update some of the internal facilities. Re the location, this hotel is about 15/20 minutes form... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Dear macf0x, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are always very grateful for our guest’s feedback and are particularly pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. Once again, thank... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell

Address: The Havens, 2 Ransomes Europark, Ipswich IP3 9SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Suffolk

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel is ideally located at Junction 57 on the A14, only 10 minutes from Ipswich Town Centre, 15 minutes from the Suffolk Coast and 5 minutes from Trinity Park the home of the Suffolk Show.The Hotel boasts extensive free car parking and a selection of Queen Double and King Double/Twin Bedrooms some with sofa beds for families. A further 6 Executive Rooms are the ideal business choice with mini bars and laptops safes, in addition 2 open plan Suites add the final touch of luxury for those special occasions.The Hotel offers a range of dining experiences, The Priory Restaurant, Bar and Lounge offer informal modern dining with a large choice of food and drink options complimented with daily specials to suit the needs of both the Corporate and Leisure Guest. The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel has a range of conference and banqueting rooms, with Wi-Fi access available in these and also the public areas, whilst wired access is available in all bedrooms.The Hotel offers an onsite Gym and within walking distance, a state of the art Full Leisure Complex is available to guests at a small nominal charge.The Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel, close enough to access the business districts and Adastral Park, whilst still being the ideal base to enjoy the rest of East Anglia and all that it can offer. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
60

See which rooms travelers prefer