We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Ipswich hotels

Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Havens, 2 Ransomes Europark, Ipswich IP3 9SJ, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell to your Saves list
58%
Ranked #16 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Tracy190725 Ipswich, United Kingdom
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    67
    51
    17
    12
See reviews for
18
69
6
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (194)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Absolutely nothing at all negative to say about our evening at Discomania last night. The food was very good - hot, lots of it and it tasted great! The staff were very efficient and friendly; we were asked at each course if everything was ok or if we needed anything. The disco, and the dj, were great too. Great atmosphere... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a great review about one of the hotels party nights. It is really great to hear that you found the service and food good. Do keep an eye on our website for up and coming events, or call the hotel and speak to our Meetings and Events department who can advise of any new events... More

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

To book into a hotel where the receptionist is more interested in talking to her mate than in the customers was surprising. To then have to ask where my room was, where the restaurant was and what time breakfast was served set the scene for a stay where the customer was not at the heart of this business. The rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review about the hotel. I am really concerned with the problems you incurred during your stay. I regularly review and discuss all reviews that we receive as myself and the team want to ensure that we improve and resolve. Please do contact myself directly if you wish to discuss further on gm.hiipswich@kewgreen.co.uk Kind regards Lucy... More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I used to love staying at this hotel, but I get let down every time I stay here. My bookings are made through a travel agent and they clearly or my membership number, but the admin staff here NEVER get out registered until I arrive. I also have my food charged back to the company, bit everyone they ask me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. I am sorry to hear that you feel the quality is going down, as myself and the team have been working hard on improving many areas of the hotel, where we have received feedback. When bookings are completed through a travel agent they do not advise the... More

Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the hotel was in a good location for what I needed, typically clean although needs the bathroom redecorated, its looking old. staff very pleasant, did not have breakfast so cannot comment on the food aspect. would definitely use this hotel again.booked in advance and got a great rate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. It is always great to receive feedback. I do hope we will see you again soon. Lucy Rose Interim General Manager Holiday Inn Ipswich Orwell More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A typical corporate dump! Terrible beds and pillows. A restricted menu, although a plus was the number of restaurants within a mile. Not only was the menu restricted the prices were ridiculous. Top tip - bring your own drinks and eat out! The rooms are very basic but at least relatively clean although not cheap - clearly aimed at corporate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am concerned with regards to your comments. All of our bedrooms offer soft and firm pillows depending on the guest’s preference, and more can be requested from reception. We have two menu options in the hotel, and this includes a weekly specials menu, which has been designed to cover... More

Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Stay was OK, value for money wise. Hotel was looking a bit dated and could definitely use some refurbishment TLC, however it was clean and staff friendly enough. I ate out so cannot comment on dinner service. Surprised that breakfast wasn't included with room i had booked (I was under the impression it was) so that is a bit of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. It is always great to get good feedback. If you stay again, it is worth trying our dinner menu, we now offer a great freshly cooked specials menu which is becoming very popular. The hotel rates are offered in many different packages, on many different web sites.... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

had a good stay, upgraded to a nice room, did not eat here, due to a poor experience a few years ago came back about 10pm for a few drinks.. ok but at check out I was charged 10% service charge . I had gone to the bar myself, waited to be served, then sat down. carried the drinks to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. It is nice to hear that you had a good stay and a upgraded room, but it is a shame that you did not eat with us as we have recently taken on a new Head Chef, who has produced a great new specials menu, and is... More

Southampton
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
42 hotel reviews
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Stayed here on a Tuesday night. Plenty of parking even though the hotel was full. It was great to be greeted as a rewards club member and the check in was efficient and quick. Room clean and well equipped, with plenty of towels, tea/coffee, large flat screen TV. I ate in the restaurant and the food and service was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about the hotel. It is great to hear that you received your IHG rewards club check-in. We have also now introduced a new specials menu in the bar and restaurant, which is proving very popular, and getting many great reviews. I do hope you will come and stay... More

Oslo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Ok, everyone knows that Holiday Inns are not the most luxurious of hotels, but believe me if hotels were all about the staff (and the customers), then this hotel will be right there amongst the best. On my recent visit to Ipswich, I chose this hotel as it was the most convenient for my purposes. On the outside the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lucy R, Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about the hotel and the team. The hotel is very traditional and this makes it very unique, making it a very relaxed and cosy lobby/bar area. Many of the team members have worked at this hotel for a number of years and continue to ensure every guest has... More

Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is relatively easy to find and conveniently positioned. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. Unfortunately the service was poor with the reception initially staffed by someone who was totally uninterested and did not offer any of the normal arrival information. The hotel lacked any atmosphere and was unusually empty for a bank holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hiren V V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for taking the time to write a review further to your visit to the hotel. I am sorry that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay and must apologise for the poor experience you had with the reception team member and it is totally unacceptable. I have discussed your review with my reception manager... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell

Address: The Havens, 2 Ransomes Europark, Ipswich IP3 9SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ipswich-Orwell Suffolk

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay