We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Ipswich hotels

Belstead Brook Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belstead Road, Ipswich IP2 9HB, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Belstead Brook Hotel to your Saves list
Belstead Brook Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
74%
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Ipswich
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Jessica10156 Ipswich
  • Overview
  • Reviews (395)
  • Photos (81)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (83)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    146
    70
    25
    17
See reviews for
56
186
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Very much enjoyed the facilities I.e swimming pool, gym etc! Room was very comfortable but unfortunately manger in restaurant was the most awful woman I've ever met, beyond rude! Couldn't be bothered to help with anything and wouldn't crack a smile. The young waitress' worked very hard and were bossed around by her! If it wasn't for them we would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel a week ago and was so impressed with the room, it had French doors and the bed I couldn't reach each side. The bathroom was a little dated but was clean and added to the character. Huge amount of storage so would be perfect for a few days. Here us the but, I met friends... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. I apologize about the service issues you experienced. The hotel was much busier than anticipated and as a result service was not to our normal standards. Different procedures and training have been implemented should a similar situation arise. On a more positive note, we were pleased to learn that you were impressed by the... More

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel has a lot of potential, but lets itself down in a few areas. The hotel cannot help being old, but it just feels grubby, and I don't think there is an excuse for that. The carpet in the room we stayed in just looked tired and dirty. It would be much more cost effective in the long run... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a comprehensive review of your recent stay with us and for the constructive comments about many aspects of your stay. Every effort will be made to improve those areas which can be rectified through basic maintenance and training. It is likely that the hotel will be acquired by new owners in the near future and... More

Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just got back from a lovely break at this hotel. The staff are very friendly, The pool is very welcoming after a long drive and we found the hotel very relaxing as its set in lovely quiet surroundings. Take no notice of the bad reviews as this is not a 5 star hotel but it doesn't say it is. If... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a positive review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your break with us and found the facilities and services to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. More

London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

With b&b's in the area being quite expensive, we opted for this hotel knowing that it wouldn't be the Ritz! To be fair, most of it was ok. The hotel is tired which is a shame because some of the building is really quaint and with some investment, it could be quite nice. Our room was Travelodge standard, but as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us. There is likely to be a change of ownership shortly and it is highly probable that the necessary investment will be undertaken in the hotel. With the facilities that we have, the prices will no doubt reflect the investment in the future. More

Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Gabby in the treatment room was fantastic. Everything else was like Fawlty Towers. Our room was upgraded as the one we were given smelt awful but the executive room we were upgraded to was scruffy and tired. The restaurant staff were friendly but in dire need of training, we had butter on the table but were only offered bread once... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review of your recent stay. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your spa treatment and that you were provided with such entertainment during your stay but sorry to hear of the experiences of other guests I am surprised that you found the Executive Room you were allocated scruffy and tired. They were all decorated within... More

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here with my best friend as a mid-week spa offer. The hotel itself is really lovely, especially impressive is the Reception area and the Receptionists we dealt with were both friendly, polite and professional. There were flowers and chocolates in our room and lovely fluffy 'mocha' robes (not the stiff, white towelling ones you normally get) on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting a review of your recent Spa Break with us. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the facilities and services to your satisfaction. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel shortly. More

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful return to this hotel wih our 3yo & 6yo who fondly call this 'dolphin swimming pool hotel'. Our best family room yet, it was huge with a double bed, single and double sofabed, still lots of room to move around. Always really clean and welcoming. The food is great with 3 choices for the inclusive dinner option and ideal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent return visit to us. We are glad your children enjoyed the “dolphin pool” and that you found the hotel clean and welcoming and that you found the dining experiences to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back again. More

Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this Hotel as recommended by a colleague as was visiting nearby Ipswich and Felixstowe. Lovely looking building, room was very nice and clean, pool and gym were a great added bonus, food on the evening was really good and breakfast the next morning was superb. The staff who I met were all very welcoming and will certainly be returning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay following a recommendation by your colleague. Your complimentary comments about the facilities and service are much appreciated and have been passed on to the team. It is good to know when we have satisfied customers and we look forward to welcoming you back. More

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night as a birthday present for my girlfriend - the best thing about this place is the pool. The rest of the hotel is old fashioned and austere. Tried to book spa treatments in advance to be told they were fully booked. Worst bit was the evening meal - we prepaid our meals before arrival only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris_Holden, General Manager at Belstead Brook Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your stay. I was sorry to read that we did not meet you expectations and apologize for the issues you experienced in the restaurant. I will ensure our communications are improved to ensure correct charges are made. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Belstead Brook Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Belstead Brook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belstead Brook Hotel

Address: Belstead Road, Ipswich IP2 9HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belstead Brook Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Belstead Brook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belstead Brook Ipswich
Hotel Belstead Brook
Belstead Brook Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
88

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer