We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary

A12 Westbound Bentley Service, Ipswich IP9 2JP, England
Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
23
21
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
halifax uk
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at this Travelodge in February' 15 and noticed bear wires in the bathroom. I informed the staff and notified the HSE who said the situation had been resolved. I then went back in May '15 only to find the same problem. Unsafe be warned !!! NB. 2 different rooms (room 25 and room 21)

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Philip. We’re truly sorry to learn of your concern regarding the wires in your bathroom. We understand that all towel rails were disconnected in 2006/2007 following Health and Safety guidelines. Some loose wires might still be on display but none of them are live. Feedback such as yours is invaluable to us and we thank... More 

Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Welcoming and helpful reception, room clean lovely bed with deep pillows.the heat in the room was overpowering noise from the road was very bad with cars and wagons up and down all night so was unable to open window to cool the room so no sleep, we wouldn't stay here again

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed a high level of service from our staff, however we are truly sorry to learn that your room was too hot. We do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel, however in an attempt to make our customers’ stay more comfortable,... More 

Bordeaux, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I found this hotel good value for money. The staff were welcoming and helped with any questions I had. The room was simple, but very well maintained, clean and tidy. There was plenty of parking and it was free. There is a Starbucks next door and a garage to buy little items from. The receptionists wore a smart uniform, listened... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Clean, friendly and lovely staff, they were happy to help at anytime. Good location for our visit. The only thing I would say is they could have a bar on site. Will definitely go back to this hotel when I return to Ipswich. 5*

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very clean, quiet, staff very welcoming. Room very clean and tidy. Bed was lush! Only small issue is it's a tad more expensive than I would like to pay but would book again as received good service........

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newtown, Powys, Mid Wales
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

This was our first experience of staying in a Travelodge. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and bed very comfortable. It was great we could take our dog. We had a room on the ground floor and at the back of the building. Although only yards from the A12 there was very little noise. We will certainly stay... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We stayed here last weekend. No problems at all. New bathrooms around very good condition generally .Reception staff were friendly and asked us if we needed any local area food recommendations. We didn't need to aswe found a local pub called the white .horse

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

I stayed for one night and was welcomed by a very pleasant young lady on reception. The room was very clean and the beds very comfortable. Would definitely recommend. Only accessible on A12 southbound though!

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

This is a good place to stay as a stop off. It was clean and the staff helpful. There is noise from the A12 but this is to be expected. it lacks decent places to eat near by but we were literally there to sleep. For the price you pay it is good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

I have stayed in far worse Travelodges than this one. I do like the fresh new look but our room really did not have a fresh new smell, in fact it was awful. After a while you became used too it until you left the room and re-entered. Despite this smell, the stay was good- ample parking, Starbucks next door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities