We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary

A12 Westbound Bentley Service, Ipswich IP9 2JP, England
Hotel amenities
Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
pattie365 Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    21
    30
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
25
23
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

bad location alongside a12 traffic noise 24 hours, poor ventilation ,windows have security device, not a good location for a peaceful nights sleep,room clean, and modern, staff ok, but that is best of

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that external noise and the temperature of your room has affected the comfort of your stay. Where possible, our room are provided with fans and we are taking measures to ensure our rooms are cooler. In any case we would like to apologise if these measures have not been enough... More 

Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed overnight on our way to Harwich docks. We could not believe the value for money. We had a large ground floor room which supplied everything we wanted for a good night's sleep.Large comfortable bed with good quality bed linen and a spotlessly clean bathroom. The staff were friendly and informative about places to eat in the local area. Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Stayed in one of the family rooms with my partner and 5 y/o daughter. It is clean and tidy and the room we had was spacious with a nice bed for us and a choice of two single beds for our daughter much to her delight. This hotel is a good base to set out from as we were staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Both the Travelodge and surrounding area didn't disappoint, lots to see and the hotel is perfect for a base to come back to in the evenings. My husband needs to rest in the afternoon and Starbucks next door didn't mind me camping in their cafe using their wifi and drinking coffee wile he did this... The travelodge staff were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

This review can be short and to the point, as here you get just what you expect. This Travelodge is clean, modern, comfortable and, contrary to a review below, safe. (As Travelodge responded to the review mentioning "bare and unsafe wires in the bathroom" it is indeed obvious that a heated towel rail had been removed and the fused wall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
halifax uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

I stayed at this Travelodge in February' 15 and noticed bear wires in the bathroom. I informed the staff and notified the HSE who said the situation had been resolved. I then went back in May '15 only to find the same problem. Unsafe be warned !!! NB. 2 different rooms (room 25 and room 21)

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Philip. We’re truly sorry to learn of your concern regarding the wires in your bathroom. We understand that all towel rails were disconnected in 2006/2007 following Health and Safety guidelines. Some loose wires might still be on display but none of them are live. Feedback such as yours is invaluable to us and we thank... More 

Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

Welcoming and helpful reception, room clean lovely bed with deep pillows.the heat in the room was overpowering noise from the road was very bad with cars and wagons up and down all night so was unable to open window to cool the room so no sleep, we wouldn't stay here again

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed a high level of service from our staff, however we are truly sorry to learn that your room was too hot. We do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel, however in an attempt to make our customers’ stay more comfortable,... More 

Bordeaux, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

I found this hotel good value for money. The staff were welcoming and helped with any questions I had. The room was simple, but very well maintained, clean and tidy. There was plenty of parking and it was free. There is a Starbucks next door and a garage to buy little items from. The receptionists wore a smart uniform, listened... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015 via mobile

Clean, friendly and lovely staff, they were happy to help at anytime. Good location for our visit. The only thing I would say is they could have a bar on site. Will definitely go back to this hotel when I return to Ipswich. 5*

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Very clean, quiet, staff very welcoming. Room very clean and tidy. Bed was lush! Only small issue is it's a tad more expensive than I would like to pay but would book again as received good service........

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#15 of 22 in Ipswich
3.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
4.4 mi away
Belstead Brook Hotel
Belstead Brook Hotel
#13 of 22 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich - Chantry Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre
2.7 mi away
Cameo Hotel Copdock
Cameo Hotel Copdock
#17 of 22 in Ipswich
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
5.7 mi away
pentahotel Ipswich
pentahotel Ipswich
#8 of 22 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay