We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Ipswich

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
London Road, Ipswich IP2 0UA, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014
Helen R Durham, United Kingdom
Add Photo

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    77
    148
    78
    29
    16
See reviews for
60
103
17
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (348)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (97)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Ipswich
See the most recent reviews
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Good location with easy access to Town Centre. Clean, modern and spacious rooms. Didn't use pool or gym but they looked clean and well equipped. Staff we're very helpful and friendly. Comfortable Bar and Restaurant areas, nice atmosphere. I got a late deal so very pleased with my stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Helen R, Many thanks for the great review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we will look forward to welcoming you back. Remember, you get the best price guarantee by booking direct !! Thank-you again. Paul Smith More 

Scotland
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
49 hotel reviews
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Arrived here after a long drive from Scotland. the staff on the front desk were very nice and helpful. As a platinum member I was disappointed to be given a paper bag with a mars bars and additional toiletries - the slippers are about a size 4. Disappointed I didn't get an upgrade as the room I did get was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Salmo01, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay. I am sorry you were disappointed you did not get upgraded. As you are aware, we do upgrade our Platinum members if we have availability, and this was not available during your stay. The slippers, water, and chocolate bar are... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed there week before last on DBB with free cups of tea (not sure where you got them from). Check in took ages, room was freezing and for an executive room it was miles from reception so didn't need to go to gym as the walk to and from the room was enough exercise. Bathrooms tiny. Chose to have dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Mr Tute, As you are aware, I provide all my guests with my personal contact details at check-in, by way of e-mail and my personal mobile phone. It is disappointing that you chose not to contact me during your stay to enable us to help you. It is also disappointing that you declined the help of the Front Office... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ipswich hotels

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We arrived a little before check in time, but we were still allowed to check in. Our room was great but the beds weren't all what I expected, our bath water was brown, only from the hot tap. We had breakfast and that was fine, we asked for a later check out because it was raining and cold so we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Kristen95, Wow, 5 stars !! Thanks for a great review - I am pleased you had a great stay, and I will most certainly look into the issues that you have raised. We will look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you Paul Smith More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Had a recent stay at the Hol Inn Ipswich which, overall, was very nice. Had a horrendous journey in the rain to get there and was nicely cheered by the warm and friendly welcome at reception. The room was fine - typical Hol Inn standard. (I'm a Priority Club member so stay in them a lot). The only problems were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Fuzzbox100, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review about your stay. I am pleased you found the service to be great during your stay, but of course sorry your room smelt of smoke. The hotel is 100% no smoking, and we enforce this with a £100 fine for anyone smoking in the room. Despite our efforts,... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I stayed here just prior to christmas 2013.and found I had been upgraded....great! Room was very good, reception staff and bar staff friendly and helpful but the food was cold. Put right after asking so was probably down to the Xmas do. The only downside to this hotel is it distance from the town centre. It is next to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear KazA007, Thank-you for taking the time to post your review about your stay. I am pleased that you found the staff to be great - we do work hard to ensure our guests have a great stay ! As for the location, we do offer free and ample car parking, which our town centre rivals cannot offer, so this... More 

Wickham Bishops, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I visited the Holiday Inn last week on business and have to say, I expected more! I was a delegate for the day and ordered a sandwich at lunchtime, it arrived in a timely fashion, but to try and find the prawns and avocado was a mission in itself! Anyway, later I was meeting colleagues in the evening and decided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Stephen, Thank-you for taking the time to post a review. It is of course disappointing that your experience in our bar didn't meet your expectations. We have a full kitchen team, and all of our food is cooked fresh, including the burgers. My whole hotel team are in a position to do whatever they can to ensure all of... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed Friday, Saturday for a business trip. Very good service... nice, clean tidy room... Staff.. esp on Sunday were very good... Would love to go back....Central location as well. Although this was not specifically important to me.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear P G, Thank-you for posting such a great review !! I am so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay. I will be sure to pass on your great comments to the team, who will be similarly delighted. We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank-you again, and kind regards Paul Smith More 

Catterick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Arrived late and checked in quickly and offered quick check out which I accepted (place receipt under door during night). I did use the gym which was open promptly at 6:30am. The jacuzzi wasn't working and although a little dated they had the basic equipment you'd need for a quick session and seemed to be in good condition. pool is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Lynsey L, Thank-you so much for posting a review. I was pleased you were able to take advantage of our express check-out service, as well as our gym facility. I apologise for the delay at breakfast. This should not have been the case, and I will be looking into why this took so long. As for wi-fi - the... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
82 hotel reviews
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed Sunday and Monday night here on business. Monday the hotel ran exactly as a Holiday Inn should. The service was good the restaurant food fine and the room was clean. The location is excellent with a large car park - to summarise everything I expect from this chain. Sunday evening was like another world. No restaurant - so the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Chester Tripper, Thank-you for posting your feedback of your stay. I apologise we let you down on the Sunday. I will be looking into how we got it so wrong. I have also sent you a personal message with my contact details, and I hope to hear from you soon. Thank-you again. Paul . More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay