We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel

3.0 of 5 16 - 18 Ipswich Road, Ipswich IP6 0AR, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    48
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
44
7
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
harrogate
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
78 hotel reviews
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Having booked this via BW membership was given a superior double ..There was nothing superior about the double it was small and the mattress was like sponge was moved to a premier room which had a four poster bed. The room was poorly lit carpet stained and the bathroom need an update as shower glass seal was broken and old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Plymouth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I, and my 94-year-old father first arrived late on a Sunday afternoon, it looked like there was just one receptionist in the whole place. But immediately, everything sprang to life, and we had a lovely stay, despite a slight health problem with Dad, which the hotel was first-class in dealing with! We have stayed at another BW hotel, a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWGatehouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review

It is very kind of you to post a review for us. We were delighted to look after you and I am so pleased that the team made every effort to make you welcome and comfortable. Good to know that your father is on the mend and we do hope that you will come and see us again, all staff... More

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was on a business trip and this hotel was booked by an agency and I have to say that I was not looking forward to staying here because of previous bad experiences at every Best Western Hotel I had stayed at but to my absolute amazement i have been proved wrong. This hotel is really nice. For starters the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWGatehouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review of Claydon, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the compliments about the food are much appreciated. I will let the chefs know that you thoroughly enjoyed the offering. we do hope that you will come back to us in the future and look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Heather... More

Claydon, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Poor shower, poor dinning menu, poor 'phone reception, breakfast was awful (Kippers, not fresh and overcooked). Single bed not the most comfortable (Premier Inn wins that award). Nothing to do in the village if you wish to wander shops. It's a tired hotel and not one I'd go back to.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWGatehouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Claydon Country House Hotel. I am sorry that we did not meet with your expectations and will most certainly look at the issues you have raised. We do endeavour to provide all our guests with a comfortable experience and it seems we did not deliver on this occasion. Once again on behalf of the... More

yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Good hotel, very good service and staff couldn't do enough for you. Restaurant served excellent food however if you were to eat all 3 courses and a full breakfast you may not be able to fit in the bathroom. The bathroom in room 206 is incredibly small but fully functional and well equipped, just be aware that delicate manoeuvring could... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWGatehouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Claydon Country House. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, even with the small facilities! I will pass your comments on to the team and hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Kind regards Heather Billing Operations Manager Claydon Country House Hotel More

Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

first rooms bathroom was caked in mould, no way could this have been missed, just ignored. i was moved but second bathroom had some mould but nothing like the first room. receptionist upon check in did not even acknowledge i was there just carried on with her work, she looked really put out that i dared speak to her and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWGatehouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Claydon Country House, I am so sorry you experienced these problems during your stay. I will most certainly look into all the issues you have highlighted. I too am disappointed that you had this experience and will investigate fully all these points. I have no excuses to make and if I could tempt you... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

8 people in 6 rooms in our group. Easy to find location, bedrooms pretty small but adequate - ours needed the bedroom blind fixing, the shower screen wasn't sealed properly and the bathroom shelf was loose. On the first morning 2 out of four breakfasts on our table weren't quite as ordered and that day several rooms were not made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWGatehouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing Claydon Country House. I am sorry you experienced a few problems during your stay. I do remember that you were going out to a wedding on that day and that when housekeepers first called to your rooms they were not ready for service. I can only apologise that somehow they then were missed. I hope this... More

Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

We loved The Claydon Country House Hotel. The staff were efficient and very friendly, sorry didn't get all your names and Sarah thank you for your attention. Our room was situated at the back of the hotel and was a little on the dark side (due to large conifer trees) but this is only a minor grumble. For us the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BWGatehouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review, I will pass your comments on to all the team and commend Sarah for her attention. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Claydon should you be in the area again. Kind Regards Heather Billing Operations Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel

Address: 16 - 18 Ipswich Road, Ipswich IP6 0AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ipswich
Ipswich Best Western
BEST WESTERN Claydon Country House Hotel Ipswich, Suffolk

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (120)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (87)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay