We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Ipswich hotels

Novotel Ipswich

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grey Friars Road, Ipswich IP1 1UP, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADVANCE SAVER - 30% OFF
Novotel Ipswich
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Novotel Ipswich to your Saves list
76%
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
twittergregnewton13 Manchester, United Kingdom
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    172
    64
    21
    11
See reviews for
72
116
43
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (395)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (121)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (94)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (98)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A Ronseal hotel??? Well yeah, it does exactly what it says on the tin. Here's the first line of the 'about us' on the website: 'The Novotel Ipswich is a 4 star hotel, located centrally, close to the University campus, the waterfront, as well as the shopping district and nightlife of Ipswich.' There's not a lot more to say really.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in four rooms. They took my card details for "security " and charged me for the rooms. However upon going to the cashpoint found that they had taken the money. I raised this with reception who assured me they hadn't . As we had a busy weekend I thought would leave all the hassle till... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Many thanks for your feedback and I’m sorry that you were disappointed. I am personally looking into this and if you’d like to contact me, feel free to call on 01473 232400 or email me on H0995-GM@accor.com Kind regards Serhan Ilker General Manager More

Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a modern hotel close to railway station a city centre. Good rooms with comfortable beds, there is free wifi and fab breakfast as a quite reasonable price. Large safe boxes in rooms too. Will use again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review

So glad you had an enjoyable time at Novotel in Ipswich! We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Seerhan ilker General Manager More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There were 12 of us all golfers staying for 4 nights. We were expecting the usual city break travel lodge type accommodation. To our surprise it was the opposite. Staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. The rooms were quite spacious and well appointed. If anything the the lack of enough clothes hangers was an issue. 6 hangers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards, Serhan Ilker General Manager More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel friendly staff and excellent service, we stayed for 2 nights our room was beautifully clean. Beds were hard but asked the next day for a topper which they didn't have but the cleaner did put an additional duvet on the bed to make it softer. Lovely shower would definitely stay again if in the area .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Novotel in Ipswich very soon. Kind regards, Serhan Ilker General Manager More

southampton
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the hotel for one night and it was a fairly standard room. I was here on a Friday night and so there was a lot of noise both outside and inside with other guests returning to their rooms. I was not impressed with having to pay £7 for parking. This was not clear on my booking and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team. Our car park is secure, CCTV monitored, convenient and we do review of our car park pricing and have found that we are competitive in the market place. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans. Kind regards Serhan Ilker General Manager More

Oldham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here after a football match in Colchester paying £38 for the night, having booked well in advance. Exceptional value. Reception pleasant. £10 additional charge for cooked breakfast (free for kids) was good value. Room was a decent size with all the usual hotel basics including toiletries and kettle. Minibar included an over-priced water. Car park was £7. Nice little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Novotel Ipswich. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans. Kind regards, Serhan Ilker General Manager More

Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

room was ok, decent bed, sofa, tv, nice bathroom and seperate toilet. hotel is city centre so if you have your window open you hear everyting and if you have it shut you melt. noisey inside hotel also, drunken lads shouting and slamming doors 2 nights in a row. trolley for room service rattling at 1am. breakfast was decent. £7... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel in Ipswich. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future. Kind regards, Serhan Ilker General Manager More

Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pleasantly surprised at this hotels standard.Stayed for 3 nights, could not fault our room. The hotel staff were very obliging,our room maid was excellent. The car parking was limited and at £7 a night a bit expensive, we new about this in advance so had factored it in to the cost of our stay. Conveniently located near to the main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Many thanks for the positive comments; I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Novotel Ipswich again very soon. Kind regards, Serhan Ilker General Manager More

1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed at the Novotel from the 20/8/14 until the 24/8/14, and apart from the parking charge I can honestly say the hotel its staff and all the facilities available were second to none! The people at reception were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them, the room on the second floor was light and airy, well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
Serhanilker, General Manager at Novotel Ipswich, responded to this review

I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay. I hope we can welcome you back to Novotel Ipswich in the near future. Kind regards, Serhan Ilker General Manager More

Do you own or manage Novotel Ipswich?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Novotel Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ipswich

Address: Grey Friars Road, Ipswich IP1 1UP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ipswich 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Ipswich Novotel
Novotel Ipswich Suffolk

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Novotel Ipswich

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby
The Willis Building
The Willis Building
Architectural Buildings