We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

pentahotel Ipswich

4.0 of 5 Ranelagh Rd, Ipswich IP2 0AD, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Ipswich)
Hotel website
Special Price
15% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
pentahotel Ipswich
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
pentahotel Ipswich
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    20
    7
    7
    1
See reviews for
5
24
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had a stay saturday night, rooms were clean enough, bed was very low and seemed on the small size, 1ST floor stunk of weed/cannabis and we did inform the staff of this who said the police had been informed, it was that overpowering we could smell it in our actual rooms. Tightest car park spaces ever, and limited however i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear baileysclan, Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. I am sorry to see that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay and hope you give us another chance in the near future. Kind regards Dan Hawkie General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I do not like going in bars on my own and there is no reception at this hotel - you walk into a bar that is so dark it takes a few moments to adjust to the lack of light, there is loud music and a pool table to the left - not welcoming - intimidating with all young people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear HHH C, I am sorry to see that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us. Our service levels are usually praised by our guests and it seems we failed to live up to our high expectations on this occasion. I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback and we will be sure to share it... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really like the place, love staying here, am a regular business guest. Very different to any place I have stayed before but the atmosphere is amazing. Breakfast is great, can't fault the evening food either. Parking I can see could be a problem but I usually arive quiet early so I usually get a space. Amy the manager and Doni... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan C, Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for your lovely review. We are delighted to see that you have enjoyed your recent stay's with us and that you found Amy & Doni particularly helpful, they will be ecstatic to see their hard work has been noticed. Once again thank you for choosing us and we look... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel was alright, food and drink was very overpriced! The car park was full so we got told to park round the corner in a £3.00 for the night car park, which turned out to be a permit car park only so therefore woke up to find a parking ticket in the morning. The hotel have said they are not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear flowerbab, Thank you for sharing your feedback in relation to your recent stay. I am deeply sorry to see that you did not thoroughly enjoy your time with us due to receiving a car parking ticket. We do have limited car parking onsite but also recommend numerous nearby locations where our guests can park, ranging from free to park... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Another great hotel. The staff were really excellent, helpful etc. The room tidy and clean. The bed was shocking, a large room with such a small bed? Why??? They did say the rooms were being upgraded. Which is fair. I did stay on a Friday night - when it was a lot less busy. The bar area, is great and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Satellitejack, Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for your 5* review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay, although obviously disappointed to hear that you did not find the bed as comfortable as you would have wished. Once again thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back in... More 

Langford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed one night and found it very modern, clean and comfortable. Only criticism was slow service in the restaurant: A half hour wait for burger and chips is far too long in a half-empty restaurant, but when it arrived the quality was good. (But please use plates instead of slabs of wood to serve the food on - food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Palling, Thank you very much for your review in relation to your recent stay with us. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your experience, although obviously disappointing to hear that the restaurant service was slow, this should definitely not be the case and I am extremely sorry for this. Thank you for choosing to stay with us... More 

Alcala De Henares, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is a fantastic hotel. The best was the room with two comfortable beds, a good desk and a huge tv. The bathroom was pretty and clean. The lounge bar area is comfortable and nice. The staff was really nice and helpful. The only thing to improve is Wifi which was very slow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear luisa b, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for your lovely review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. Our free WIFI is now in the process of being upgraded but we also do have faster access available from just £3.99. Once again thank you for your review and we look... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Last time we stayed this time we thought it would be perfect for a xmas drink ,and we were right ! girls and chef were great very friendly as there wasnt many people in there we asked the girls could they put the snowman on t,v they did what a great atmosphere relaxing warm and cosy sat on the large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear leolion123, Thank you ever so much for your lovely review. It is always great to hear such positive feedback and we would like to thank you for your best wishes. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Dan Hawkie General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed here 2 weekends in a row and thoroughly enjoyed myself. Very clean room and comfy bed, good shower, quality TV. WiFi and good view. Enjoyed evenings by the bar with a free pool table and ps4 only down point was in both rooms the toilet was very creeky and noisey but no issue. Thanks for your service

Was this review helpful? Yes
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear kaylie R, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your feedback. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us although obviously disappointed to see that there was a problem with the toilet in both rooms. We will investigate this further to ensure that it is not a problem for future guests.... More 

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015 via mobile

I booked in to this hotel expecting just another Premier Inn or Travel Lodge .. You know the Easyjet/Ryanair type budget place we have come to expect for good price hotels .. How surprised was I when I walked into an extremely stylish reception greeted by a friendly professional receptionist, offered all the extras you generally only see in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear DianneL177, Thank you for your sharing your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Dan Hawkie General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to pentahotel Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Ipswich

Address: Ranelagh Rd, Ipswich IP2 0AD, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Ipswich)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Ipswich 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your pentahotel Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Pentahotel Ipswich Suffolk
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ipswich
#4 Business Hotel in Ipswich

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay