We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

pentahotel Ipswich

Hotel website
Ranelagh Rd, Ipswich IP2 0AD, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Ipswich)
Special Price
15% off room rate
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
pentahotel Ipswich
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
pentahotel Ipswich
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    26
    7
    9
    4
See reviews for
8
31
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (100)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
sussex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stay in Ipswich on business several times a year, usually at the excellent and stylish Salthouse Harbour Hotel. On this occasion the Salthouse was full so I selected the Penta Hotel from a range of other fairly uninspiring options. Pentahotels website suggests that they are offering good value "boutique" style accommodation. Dealing with the value first at £55 a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear fussysod, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us at pentahotels. I am sorry that your visit didn’t quite meet the expectations that we would have both had. We always try to fix things for guests when issues arise and I am sorry that we did not get the opportunity to do... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very pleasant and surprised how much me and my partner liked it! The only negative was that when we checked in at 11pm on Saturday night, but something happened do to our room which meant we were put in a room under someone else's name which naturally caused some confusion during check out. And much to our surprise, we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I come to penta as my local for a drink when the football is on with friends. The place has a great atmosphere for drink and laugh. The staff really bring their vibe to life especially duty manager Bianca and front office and bar Shannen, they are always there with a smile.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear JDozzell, Thanks for the kind words! pentahotels are new to the market & we are really excited about the changes that we are making & the positive feedback we are receiving. I hope that you will continue to support the brand & that we will see you back again soon. Very best regards Marco General Manager More 

Bahia Feliz, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Overall we found this hotel to be an excellent find and have reviewed as follows Check in - we arrived half hour before the 3pm check in, first impressions very good, the card machine was on the blink (didnt exactly ruin my day as we just used the other one!) Slightly unusual but notable practice is they add £25 to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear lowcosthighstandards, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay with us at pentahotels here on TripAdvisor. It was really nice to read your comments & I will be sure that the team are thanked for making your stay enjoyable. I hope that you will be a regular visitor to us here at pentahotel Ipswich... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel as an Easter get away, could not believe it was only £54! The hotel itself is really quirky and stylish, rooms were modern but basic which was fine for us! We decided to have dinner in the hotel which was very yummy but seemed slightly overpriced for what it was, nevertheless we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel mid week for one night with my 18 month son. Had stayed here previously when it was the ramada and whilst the rooms where pretty much the same the lobby, bar, reception and dining area had been completely overhauled with a plush comtemporary vibe . Positives: Excellent value for money Asked for a cot in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Nat-GY, Thank you for the review of your stay with us at pentahotels. The team here in Ipswich are all working towards making the hotel a great place to relax & stay & I am glad that this came across during your visit. I am sorry that your visit didn’t quite meet all expectations that we would have both... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wanted to go Ipswich as a last minute thing. We looked online and found this hotel for £49!!! for the Thursday night before good Friday. On arrival it was obvious that a lot of money had been spent on the interior. The bar area was modern, which was consistent throughout the hotel. The rooms were clean and modern, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear HonestReviewerr , Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us here at pentahotel Ipswich. It was really good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the team and I are always thankful of hearing that we have got things right! I hope that we will see you back again soon!... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Right lets start ... Bar staff cant make a cocktail to save humanity... Got lied to about room service n told we only do pasta .. Got to room and ordered pizza one was black black burnt and the other one was under cooked . Now the beds .... Plywood and foam I would call it !!! £114 for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear hatter1982, I would like to firstly apologise for the issues you encountered during your stay with us. We do like to try and rectify any issues with our guests in person to ensure they leave feeling happy and relaxed and I apologise if we did not manage to do this for you. I am sorry that we didn’t get... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Name: Zaida Mustaffa Cable I book my son from the 31 March to the 12 April 2015. The frontline team Ms Shannon, was absolutely brilliant in her warm welcome ,smile and very quick to make us feel very comftable. The only set back was the parking space due to limited spaces. I had stayed here before Penta took over it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DHawkie, Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Zaida, Many thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad to see that you had a great stay and I will definitely share your feedback with the team. I look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Kind regards Tom More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived fairly late at night to find the barriers to the car park down. We were told we had to go back around the one way system to a council pay and display and walk 10 minutes back in the freezing cold. When we eventually got to check in, it was incredibly unclear where the reception was, due to it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DHawkie, Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear R12A01, Thank you for the review of your stay at pentahotel Derby. It is quite clear that we have upset you & I am sorry for this. May I ask you to contact me directly -daniel.hawkie@pentahotels.com - as I would certainly be keen to resolve the issues you faced. Very best regards Tom More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question