We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Ipswich hotels

pentahotel Ipswich

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ranelagh Rd, Ipswich IP2 0AD, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Ipswich)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added pentahotel Ipswich to your Saves list
pentahotel Ipswich
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
68%
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
45topchef Keswick, United Kingdom
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    142
    93
    36
    22
See reviews for
51
147
37
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Another box room hotel for those that just want to stay a night or 2. OK, check-in is at the bar, they obviously needed to save some space. Room is OK, double bed & fold out sofa. TV includes all Sky Sports channels. Wi-Fi is free for a slow rate or £10 for 24hrs for faster. I went for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear 45TopChef, Thank you for your review in relation to your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your free wifi, free sky sports within the room and comfortable surroundings. Space is certainly not an issue at the hotel but what better way to check in than with the offer of a cocktail or G&T... More

New Milton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We basically needed a room for the night as we were attending a family celebration and do not live nearby, and I suppose we got just that. I found it very strange to check in at the bar, and the receptionist was not particularly friendly. In fact I got quite frustrated with her. The room was adequate although quite a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Hazel D, Thank you for your review in relation to your recent stay with us. I am deeply sorry to see that you did not thoroughly enjoy your time with us. Unfortunately our concept is very misunderstood as it is not your typical hotel experience or look but our designer lead public areas are certainly the way of the... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived at the hotel to check in and.... it was very unusual experience to check in at the bar. The interior design is interesting and trendy. I loved the low bed in the room...really not fond of high beds. However, when we started to check in we wanted to check some details around parking and to our surprise there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Katrinhen, Thank you very much for your review. However, I am extremely sorry to see that you did not have the best of experiences during your recent stay with us. Customer service is something we often get rave reviews about here and we are continuing our training with the team to ensure that standards do not slip. We are... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Noisy, dirty toilet on arrival (faeces encrusted onto toilet bowl) and free wifi didn't work. Car park was limited and full. As we arrived late, a group of people arrived after us, and kicked up such a fuss at the front desk that the staff allowed them to park in any free space in the car park (a tip for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear RLM2013, First of all I am extremely sorry to see that you did not have the best of experiences during your recent stay with us. We have discussed your comments in length with the team and they also send their apologies. The hotel has recently changed brands and the vast majority of feedback we have received since this change... More

Suffolk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel thinking that it was part of the Ramada Encore group only to discover it had been sold. We were attending the Suffolk Show. It was not clearly stated that the car parking is near enough non existent. I am disabled so need to park close. Luckily it was sorted as l parked in a member of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They are undergoing a remodelling. Based on the inconvenience and this, they should offer a discounted rate. I would pay the rate I paid I suppose if the hotel was fully functional. Even if it was, I can't see how the parking area they have could accommodate a full hotel. When we arrived, the small parking area was blocked by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Where to start, at the beginning I think. Are you sitting comfortably, you'll be here a while. My husband and I were visiting relatives in Ipswich for Aug BH holiday weekend, we usually stay in Premier Inns but everywhere was fully booked. The Ramada Encore had rooms available and looked ok, so we made the booking on-line a week before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After reading some not so good reviews, I was anxious about coming here BUT I will be staying here again! Staff couldn't do enough for us. They were so polite and well mannered, even the night time staff equally as good! Then on check out the lady on the desk was one of the nicest people I've met in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Even though the hotel is changing to a Penta Hotel we found our stay as relaxing as ever , very friendly staff (nearly all new since our last stay), nothing was to much trouble for them . The breakfast was as tasty as always. The rooms we're kept clean & tidy. The new bar/reception was very inviting offering a wide... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage pentahotel Ipswich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to pentahotel Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Ipswich

Address: Ranelagh Rd, Ipswich IP2 0AD, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Ipswich)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Ipswich 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your pentahotel Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Pentahotel Ipswich Suffolk

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ipswich with
any amenities