We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

pentahotel Ipswich

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Ranelagh Rd, Ipswich IP2 0AD, England
Special Price
15% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
pentahotel Ipswich
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
pentahotel Ipswich
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    34
    14
    9
    3
See reviews for
9
40
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Lovely clean , family friendly. Had a problem with the tv my son who has down syndrome wanted to watch cbbies the tv did not work on our arrival sat morning. We were given compensation and the tv was fixed by the time we were leaving. I would like to thank all the staff for a pleasant stay , a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Joy A, thank you for your kind Feedback. It is not that easy if technical problems coming up but It is good to hear that my colleagues have found a solution for your Problem and solved it. Shannen is very happy to hear that she gives you son a smile. That gave her a smile;-) Thanks for staying with... More 

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel recently with my partner and neither of us were blown away by the hotel. I recognised this hotel as the old Ramada Encore and agree with an earlier review that nothing has been spent past the reception/bar area. It would've been brilliant if this theme had been carried throughout the hotel. Otherwise the room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Xp132476, I am sorry to see that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us. Our service levels are usually praised by our guests and it seems we failed to live up to our high expectations on this occasion. I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback and we will be sure to share it with... More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Got here early because other reviews made us worry about car parking. Glad we did as car park did get busy. Check in was nice and quick, although a bit shocked to hear breakfast because we didn't pre book would be £15 each! Room was nice, airy and light although there was a decent sized hole in the wall. Wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Keepyerem, thanks for your Feedback. Good to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I see that you are not sure if our breakfast is worth 15,00 Pound?! On Breakfast we offer a full English variation of hot food ( sausages, fried and scrambled eggs, baked Beans, crispy bacon etc.), variation of fresh baked French pastries and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a really lovely hotel close to the centre of Ipswich and ideally located for the football. It was quiet and we all (5 adults and one baby) had an excellent night's sleep. Parking is available and costs £8 per night. The breakfast is exceptional. All in all an excellent value place to stay in a lovely town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Good evening MrsLWhite, thank your for your positive review. Good to hear that we did things right for you and you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will be happy to see you again. with best regards Marco More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked the pentahotel due to the location to the town and the price. The pictures looked really good on the website also. When arrived we soon realised that we had stayed in the hotel before when it was the ramanda encore. We were a little disappointment but the main reception area was nicely decorated so we had high hopes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear nfitzie, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us here at pentahotel Ipswich. It was really good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the team and I are always thankful of hearing that we have got things right! I hope that we will see you back again soon! Very... More 

Seaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

5mins from Ipswich station, very informal reception, helpful friendly staff. Reception was also the bar where there was a great free pool table, plenty of comfortable seating and an outside terrace overlooking the river. The room was clean, bright, good TV with a range of free films, free WiFi, roomy walk-in shower and nice toiletries, plenty of mirrors, comfy beds,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Laila W, thanks for staying with us and good to hear that you have enjoyed pentahotel Ipswich with all the services we offer to our guests. We hope you will stay with us again. Have a good time and see you soon. Best regards Marco More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This has become my business hotel of choice in Ipswich now as it's the nearest to the railway station. But it has improved considerably since being converted to a Pentahotel, especially in the food area. Both the restaurant menu and especially the breakfast are very good. Smoked salmon and bagels for breakfast? Don't mind if I do! A bit pricey... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear daddyali, thanks for your Feedback and good to hear the fact that we are your hotel of trust! That is a great compliment. and we continue to work hard that it stays that way!!! best regards Marco More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

During my time working in ipswich i choose penta every time no hesitations! Parking not amazing but i get in most of the time if not the car park just behind the hotel 2 minutes walk is cheap and not far at all! Staff at this hotel are the most hard working i've come across some working days then nights.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Wow, thank you Paddy461305, that is a great compliment. It is good to hear that you have enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere with us and that is feels like at home! Thanks again and we are looking to see you in the future. best regards Marco More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stay here regularly on business. All staff have been absolutely fantastic fun and hard working and spotless hotel. Limited parking but local car park just 5 minute walk and very cheap! As I say all staff great just a few that deserve a mention Bianca, abbie, Joanna and chef michael. hope to be back soon will always choose penta

Was this review helpful? Yes
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear deanwins, thank you for your great Feedback. I'm very happy that we did things right during your stay. Thanks for staying with us also in the future best regards Marco More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A family member has just moved just outside of Ipswich so decided to stay here this weekend because of the price! We will be staying in Ipswich frequently now so was looking for a hotel we could book all the time. Our arrival at the hotel was smooth! We did have to park across the bridge (which was only 4.60... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mz0001, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Kellie M, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us here at pentahotel Ipswich. It was really good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the team and I are always thankful of hearing that we have got things right! Staff friendliness is actually our strengths but I apologize if... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay