We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Ipswich hotels

pentahotel Ipswich

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ranelagh Rd, Ipswich IP2 0AD, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Ipswich)
Hotel amenities
pentahotel Ipswich
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added pentahotel Ipswich to your Saves list
67%
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
AMMTGBC Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    142
    95
    38
    22
See reviews for
52
149
37
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (455)
  • Mar-May only
    (118)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (150)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (101)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (86)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I stayed here with work so I was lucky not to have paid for my room. For anyone thinking of staying here don't there are far better hotels out there for similar money. It looks fantastic but when you break it down it really flops. The food and drink is terrible and mega expensive, the beds are uncomfortable and on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Excellent value for money and exceptionally clean hotel. Loved the toiletries packaging and the beautifully designed front desk/ bar area. Front if house staff we dealt with were fabulous and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear AMMTGBC, First of all thank you for choosing to stay with us here at pentahotel Ipswich. We would also like to thank you for taking the time out to submit this great review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Dan... More

Douglas Wy.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good location! Close to rail and a short walk to town.All amenities on site. Rooms are quite and clean and the staff was attentive. Enjoyed the stay there. I had not been in Ipswich sense 1971 and to be honest did not remember a thing except for the old part of the city!

Was this review helpful? Yes
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Morgan717, Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at pentahotel Ipswich. A big thank you for also taking the time out to submit this wonderful review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your time back in Ipswich after such a long absence and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, you cannot... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Last time I stayed, the hotel was literally in the middle of the rebrand from Ramada to Penta. Despite the work going on during that time, I had a great stay with no issues. I was looking forward to returning as I had to be in Ipswich on business, so this was a natural choice. At reception, there was just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Kev F, Thank you for your review in relation to your recent stay with us. I am very sorry to see that you did not enjoy your time with us. We have spoken to the team in relation to your review and they also send their apologies too. Customer service is usually something we score quite highly on and... More

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

over night stay here in preparation for a wedding the following day. When we booked this the hotel was listed as a Ramada, and when we arrived we discovered it had changed hands to Penta Hotels. Penta is a 'different' brand. Trying to break from the usual style. The reception is the bar, the whole area is lit in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Pete A, Thank you very much for your review in relation to your recent stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the changes we have made and you will happy to hear that the rebranding of the rooms is a project that we are looking in to undertaking next year. That being said, we believe... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So upon arriving at the hotel you may soon realise you can't park there and need to drive 5 minutes away to an unmanned pay and display car park for which you then need a permit! Bar/reception looks like a wannabe nightclub. Looks great but sadly the poor service and completely confusing food ordering process shatters any shred of positivity... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Matt C, Thank you very much for your review in relation to your recent stay with us. We are extremely sorry to see that you did not thoroughly enjoy your time with us. We certainly do not see ourselves as a wannabe night club, more of a break away from the same hotel experience you can get anywhere else.... More

Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Another box room hotel for those that just want to stay a night or 2. OK, check-in is at the bar, they obviously needed to save some space. Room is OK, double bed & fold out sofa. TV includes all Sky Sports channels. Wi-Fi is free for a slow rate or £10 for 24hrs for faster. I went for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear 45TopChef, Thank you for your review in relation to your recent stay with us. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your free wifi, free sky sports within the room and comfortable surroundings. Space is certainly not an issue at the hotel but what better way to check in than with the offer of a cocktail or G&T... More

New Milton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We basically needed a room for the night as we were attending a family celebration and do not live nearby, and I suppose we got just that. I found it very strange to check in at the bar, and the receptionist was not particularly friendly. In fact I got quite frustrated with her. The room was adequate although quite a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Hazel D, Thank you for your review in relation to your recent stay with us. I am deeply sorry to see that you did not thoroughly enjoy your time with us. Unfortunately our concept is very misunderstood as it is not your typical hotel experience or look but our designer lead public areas are certainly the way of the... More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived at the hotel to check in and.... it was very unusual experience to check in at the bar. The interior design is interesting and trendy. I loved the low bed in the room...really not fond of high beds. However, when we started to check in we wanted to check some details around parking and to our surprise there was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Katrinhen, Thank you very much for your review. However, I am extremely sorry to see that you did not have the best of experiences during your recent stay with us. Customer service is something we often get rave reviews about here and we are continuing our training with the team to ensure that standards do not slip. We are... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Noisy, dirty toilet on arrival (faeces encrusted onto toilet bowl) and free wifi didn't work. Car park was limited and full. As we arrived late, a group of people arrived after us, and kicked up such a fuss at the front desk that the staff allowed them to park in any free space in the car park (a tip for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DHawkie, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear RLM2013, First of all I am extremely sorry to see that you did not have the best of experiences during your recent stay with us. We have discussed your comments in length with the team and they also send their apologies. The hotel has recently changed brands and the vast majority of feedback we have received since this change... More

Do you own or manage pentahotel Ipswich?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to pentahotel Ipswich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Ipswich

Address: Ranelagh Rd, Ipswich IP2 0AD, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Ipswich)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ipswich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Ipswich 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your pentahotel Ipswich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Ipswich Hotel Ipswich
Pentahotel Ipswich Suffolk

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near pentahotel Ipswich

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby