We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

pentahotel Ipswich

#13 of 22 Hotels in Ipswich
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Ranelagh Rd, Ipswich IP2 0AD, England
Special Price
Special Offer 15% off
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
pentahotel Ipswich
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

First the parking, did manage to get a space but not enough for the rooms and the room was ok, but ensuite not the cleanest. Ate at the restaurant food good but just to expensive nearly £15 for a burger

Helpful?
Thank Lee T
Chris R, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Lee T Thank you for your review, I was please to read that you enjoyed your evening meal. Please be advised that all your comments have been taken into account. I would really appreciate it if you could revisit us and I hope to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed last night, left this morning. ((We stayed in room 136)) THE ROOM: the room was lovely!! With a wet room shower bathroom. The room had a large flat screen wall mounted tv, wasn't that easy to use but you get free movies and music and standard tv. (Movies are all new realises) Room was cold but easy to put... More 

Helpful?
Thank GegeC2015
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I needed an overnight stay in or near Ipswich and this hotel came up as an excellent option. Room shower bar and restaurant clean. Staff helpful and prices reasonable especially the room rate - I paid £52 for a room for one night. Parking was an extra £8 and food was published prices or at least equivalent to eating out... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon R
East midlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A very modern hotel just a few hundred yards from the main station. All downhill so probably no need for a taxi. I did it in around 5 minutes walk The reception staff were busy when I arrived I think one was training I am not sure as they were talking a lot and didn't seem to notice I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank nursetutor
Chris R, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear nursetutor Thank you for your review, I am grateful that you made such positive comments regarding the room and amenities, and the value for money that you perceived. Much Appreciated. Kind Regards More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very modern, funky lighting, trendy decor and friendly staff. Lovely steak and a good menu, little pricey but nothing to get annoyed about. Bar has a nice atmosphere and good selection Good size rooms and bathroom has a good shower. The toiletries are great (o: Ordered poached eggs on toast but had to make the toast myself? Bit strange I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank leeweedon
Chris R, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear leeweedon Thank you for your review and I was pleased to read that you had a good stay. Please come and see us again soon. Kind Regards More 

Derry
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having a late check of 3pm on a Sunday and Bank Holidays, is simply a brilliant way to relax and enjoy! This added bonus of no extra charge is a priceless luxury and more hotels should take note of the idea. Needless to say, I had a great stay at the Pentahotel with my daughter on Sat 16th Jan '16.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank RoseyDerry
Chris R, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear RoseyDerry Thank you so much for your review of pentahotel Ipswich, it was fantastic reading your positive comments and I am delighted that you and your daughter had a great stay. We all look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kind Regards More 

Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting friends away...hotel reception and bar area is very trendy with all the modern facilities...corridors very drab with dirty carpets...rooms are small ish but have some lovely things eg-bottle water/cosmetic bag n large to with lots of entertainment...bed was very low and quite hard which suited me buy perhaps not everyone...drinks were very expensive... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vickidob
Chris R, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Vickidob Thank you for your review and your comments. Please be assured that the comments have been taken on board and actions have been taken. It would be great if you could return on the not to distant future so that you can see the change. Kind Regards More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this hotel due to its location as we were visiting Ipswich but wanted something close to the train station. Upon our arrival we were well greeted by a friendly member of staff on reception and enjoyed a brief discussion about the hotel - as we had stayed in the building before but under a different company name. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Foodies-T-and-J
Chris R, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer I would be really keen to have a direct conversation with you regarding your room standards, please can I request that you contact me on chris.ross@pentahotels.com in order for me to understand your comments and respond accordingly. Regards More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. Took a bed and breakfast deal. Nice clean room, great breakfast to suit all tastes, from a continental style ( cold meats and bread ) to full English,I decided on smoked salmon and then fruit,very good. There is limited parking and they charge £8 for the night. Well placed by the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil F
Chris R, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Neil F Thank you so much for your review of pentahotel Ipswich, all of us were delighted to hear of your satisfaction with our offering and rooms. Hopefully we will see you again very soon. Kind Regards More 

Coogee, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the pentahotel for 2 weeks whilst I was looking for permanent accommodation. The room was a good size the bed was comfortable and the wifi worked seamlessly. The bar is a bit expensive but the service is great and it has a nice atmosphere. The breakfast is outstanding, I wish I could have it every day. A good... More 

Helpful?
Thank ScottBailey78
Chris R, General Manager at pentahotel Ipswich, responded to this review

Dear Scott Thank you for your review and it was a pleasure having you with us, I do hope everything is going well in your new accommodation. Thanks again. Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

298 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (22)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (223)
Viewed
Accessible Room (29)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Double Room (27)
Viewed
Penta Plus Room (28)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)
Viewed
Twin Room (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ipswich
0.9 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Ipswich
Novotel Ipswich
#8 of 22 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 stars 590 reviews
1.4 mi away
Belstead Brook Hotel
Belstead Brook Hotel
#14 of 22 in Ipswich
4.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ipswich Town Centre (Quayside) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Ipswich
Holiday Inn Ipswich
#16 of 22 in Ipswich
3.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay