We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Ash
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Grand Ash to your Saves list
39%
Ranked #60 of 64 Hotels in Llandudno
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Linda S London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    19
    17
    22
See reviews for
16
31
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (93)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a 5 day break with GRAND UK who own this hotel. Over all we had a really nice time and although we personally didn't have any complaints about the hotel many of our fellow travellers did. WE had a very spacious 1st floor front facing room which was very clean and comfortable. The room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
northampton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

damp.musty,rundown,tacky carpets, smelly tiny lift, Scaffolding repairs going for storm damage in January & not told about this, leaks in bar area,Bedrooms & Bed disgrace. Reception staff awfull. don't go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Maybe in it's heyday this hotel was something grand but don't let the title or it's deceiving brochure picture fool you, this hotel is terrible. We couldn't find it at first but when we tried several times to phone the hotel for directions no one answered. We later found it was their policy to ignore the phone in the evenings... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were in one of the front facing rooms on the top floor. The room was comfortable and clean but it was obvious the outside wall suffered from damp with mould patches showing through the wall paper. Also the room door wasn't a total solid fit in the door frame and the bathroom also looked like it does/had suffered from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are mixed reviews for the Grand Ash. Good points are hard working staff who clean the rooms to a good standard. The main bad point is that the owners of the hotel (its a chain) need to spruce up the hotel. Breakfast was generally ok. If you are happy with a basic hotel then the hotel is ok to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for a week and were very happy. Towels and bathroom done daily. Had to tell them not to bring more towels as being over run with them. Pleasant rooms but the bathroom could do with a bit more room for the toilet as too small for an average size person let alone a bigger person. Food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the worst Hotel I have ever had the misfortune to use.The front of the hotel was covered with scaffolding because they were repairing the storm damage which happened in January and there was a long way to go. My room 25 was very small, there was a very small sash window which only opened a few inches and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly. Thank you More

Dyce, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Damp walls, peeling paper, Water getting in through light fitting in one room, running down walls in another. Food very poor quality. Dusty and dated. No help from manager when requested change of room. Assistant new and all at sea. Lights fused in my room and one next door when switched on. Some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly. Thank you More

holyhead
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed ay this hotel with my granddaughter. The only good things about the Grand ash were the friendly staff, and the location of the hotel. The whole place needed redecorating, including the lift! In our room, the wardrobe doors wouldn't open without coming off the runner. We could here doors banging when other guests were entering or exiting their rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly. Thank you More

Tadworth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

On arrival at the Grand Ash Hotel, we were greeted by the Manager, and it was a very warm welcome, we checked in ok, and went to see our allocated room, This was a very nice room (11), at the front of the hotel, yes the room was a bit dated, BUT Very Clean, with everything we needed for our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly. Thank you More

Do you own or manage The Grand Ash?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Grand Ash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Ash

Address: Gloddaeth St, Llandudno LL30 2DB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Ash reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Ash Hotel Llandudno
Grand Ash Llandudno
The Grand Ash Llandudno, Wales

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Other (22)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay