We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grand Ash

Gloddaeth St, Llandudno LL30 2DB, Wales
Hotel amenities
The Grand Ash
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #59 of 63 Hotels in Llandudno
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014
John B Southampton, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    20
    17
    22
See reviews for
17
31
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Me and my partner Linda stayed at this hotel for 4 nights as part of a Grand UK tour and the hotel was OK, but needs a major overhaul which is due to happen in the New Year. Staff were lovely and happy to help. Food was not bad, although a bit more variety would've helped. Room we had didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saltcoats, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Visited for 4 nights as part of a coach party. I had a single room which was a double and was more than roomy enough for me. The room had clean sheets and towels. Plus every day the offer of more towels. There were a few complaints in the group over cleaning standards. My expectations on the basis I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Level Contributor
78 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014 via mobile

Being one of the lower priced hotels we booked for one night in August . The rooms are clean and tidy you get what you pay for . The lock on one of the rooms wouldn't work so the manager sent up a man straight away and moved us rooms so we didn't have to wait . He was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We have just returned from a 5 day break with GRAND UK who own this hotel. Over all we had a really nice time and although we personally didn't have any complaints about the hotel many of our fellow travellers did. WE had a very spacious 1st floor front facing room which was very clean and comfortable. The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

northampton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

damp.musty,rundown,tacky carpets, smelly tiny lift, Scaffolding repairs going for storm damage in January & not told about this, leaks in bar area,Bedrooms & Bed disgrace. Reception staff awfull. don't go.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.atkins@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your... More 

Travelers are raving about these Llandudno hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Maybe in it's heyday this hotel was something grand but don't let the title or it's deceiving brochure picture fool you, this hotel is terrible. We couldn't find it at first but when we tried several times to phone the hotel for directions no one answered. We later found it was their policy to ignore the phone in the evenings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback. We do not respond to anonymous postings on TripAdvisor. If you have a genuine point to make, and wish us to investigate and respond to you in writing, please email us at gemma.atkins@theukholidaygroup.com, stating your full name, the date and duration of your stay with us, and your... More 

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

We were in one of the front facing rooms on the top floor. The room was comfortable and clean but it was obvious the outside wall suffered from damp with mould patches showing through the wall paper. Also the room door wasn't a total solid fit in the door frame and the bathroom also looked like it does/had suffered from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

There are mixed reviews for the Grand Ash. Good points are hard working staff who clean the rooms to a good standard. The main bad point is that the owners of the hotel (its a chain) need to spruce up the hotel. Breakfast was generally ok. If you are happy with a basic hotel then the hotel is ok to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and were very happy. Towels and bathroom done daily. Had to tell them not to bring more towels as being over run with them. Pleasant rooms but the bathroom could do with a bit more room for the toilet as too small for an average size person let alone a bigger person. Food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future. More 

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This was the worst Hotel I have ever had the misfortune to use.The front of the hotel was covered with scaffolding because they were repairing the storm damage which happened in January and there was a long way to go. My room 25 was very small, there was a very small sash window which only opened a few inches and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Ash, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly. Thank you More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay