We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 65 Llandudno hotels

The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Happy Valley Road, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Hotel amenities
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Hotel - Llandudno to your Saves list
Ranked #60 of 65 Hotels in Llandudno
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012
Ray T Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    241
    202
    177
    215
See reviews for
190
439
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (965)
  • Mar-May only
    (240)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (295)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (243)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (187)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
See the most recent reviews
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in May 2012 B&B. The staff could not be more helpful. Self service breakfast was really great; you could choose what to eat. Cereals, Porridge, Toast, Marmalade, Full English the lot. The room was OK but the bathroom needed a bit of TLC. Someone had attempted to emulsion the walls but misted in places and left... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We booked into this hotel for 4 nights and left after 1! Lost £200 in doing this but couldn't bear to stay any longer. The hotel is noisy, very tired, floorboards creaking everywhere so as not to allow you to sleep. The lift bell is as loud as our front door bell so from around 7am I think the postman... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
North West England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night in a Premier room. There is no parking at the hotel, which given its location on Llandudno's pier, is not surprising. We found a free parking space, but this was about 10 minutes' walk from the hotel. There was a queue for check-in at reception, but it moved pretty quickly and the service was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We have stayed at the grand many times and cannot understand the negative comments of some visitors.I agree it could do with updating but in my opinion it is good value.The food is good,the rooms are clean and the staff are always friendly and polite.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Stayed Sunday night, hotel was only about half full. Hotel is tired and shabby, our room was very dated with old furniture and shabby decor. The bathroom had been updated but the standard of finish was awful, also not much hot water and no light above the mirror. The evening meal was worse than a motorway service station offering, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback about your one night stay. I have checked the room and to be honest and I do not think this is a fair description of the room. For £65 Dinner Bed & Breakfast plus a bottle of wine and entertainment, I think it offers good value for money. Reception are open 24 hours so guests... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

I would imagine in it's day this hotel was Grand, however it is in need of a major overhaul. A bargain stay of £40 b&b for the two of us. If you are looking for somewhere cheap and cheerful, then this is the place. But please don't expect anything grand at all. We had to have the duvet changed as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the hotel. The rate should not reflect the cleanliness of the bedding and I am only sorry the chambermaid who serviced the room did not pick up on it as she should have. Steve was extremely busy with suitcases but he did change the duvet as requested. We do not have telephones in the... More

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Booked a two night break as two couples,read the reviews and was WORRIED.Arrived at 3pm and was told the rooms were ready,very surprised on entering the room,it was large(room 308),it was very clean,lots of space and everything we needed.The view was splendid,the bay and the pier.I would recommend upgrading to premier,we had breakfast in the premier dining room which gives... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review; it is very much appreciated. We do indeed have fabulous views over Llandudno Bay and we hope you return to the hotel in the future. The staff appreciate your kind comments, especially the recepiton staff who do indeed have to be the "fountain of all knowledge" and I am very lucky to have... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed here with my boyfriend. When we arrived we were greeted by the receptionist and immediately taken to our room on the 4 th floor it was very basic but clean we were on a b and b package so didnt stay for the evening meal we had a look at the menu before and we asked the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I have passed your comments to our Head Chef; yes we were extremely busy at the weekend but the breakfast should be hot at all times as this means the turnover off food is high and brought to the carvery regularly. Rest assured this will addressed. Thanks again for your review, we... More

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

we had nightmare of a stay here and tried to spend as little time as possible in the hotel during our 3 day stay.it does not provide the disabled facility's that were asked for at the time of booking.we phoned prior to staying at the hotel to confirm that booking was o.k.and all needs would be met.even without being disabled... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review

Thank you for your review; the hotel accommodates many disabled guests, some who visit the hotel 3 or 4 times a year. We have a gentleman who visits twice a year who is disabled from the neck down so we do know how to look after our disabled guests. But it is very important when special requests are required, you... More

derbyshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in the hotel for 2 nights 21-23rd April. On arrival we upgraded our room to the premier as we wanted a balcony view. This was an extra £10 per night per person which seemed quite expensive however another couple also wanted to upgrade as their room was really small and also the shower had just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnnaElliebb, General Manager at The Grand Hotel - Llandudno, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I cannot reply to some of this review regarding a conversation with another guest. I will reply to the parts that I can. Firstly it was very unfortunate water leaked into your bedroom; we quickly identified the leak as from the shower of the room above so it most definitley did not leak all night... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Grand Hotel - Llandudno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel - Llandudno

Address: Happy Valley Road, Llandudno LL30 2LR, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel - Llandudno 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel, Odigeo, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Grand Hotel - Llandudno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Llandudno
Grand Llandudno
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno Wales

295 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (289)
Viewed
View from room (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay