We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 64 Llandudno hotels

Merrion Hotel

Save Saved
You added Merrion Hotel to your Saves list
Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (154)
  • Photos (31)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (70)
  • Location
  • More
Merrion Hotel
Ranked #21 of 64 hotels in Llandudno
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llandudno
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    30
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
52
53
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

An extremely well situated hotel. Our room was clean, bed comfy, easy to use shower. Our 3 main requirements for a hotel room. It was a little dated though. Next, the food. Superb with an excellent choice. We had a sea view but had to take turns to see it! Our window was quite small so if it's a sea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good food at the hotel. 15 choices of desert on the menu. Waitress are helpful and friendly, however the time between each course is to long. Reception staff apart from one are a bit stuck up. My hotel room was good apart from the bed wall lamp didn't work, I told reception on the first day of my holiday and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First time at the Merrion but it will not be our last! Stayed three nights. The staff were great especially the waiters' in the dining room who could not do enough to please. The only let down was the location of our rooms, the family room was directly above the stage/entertainment area (entertainment every night but thankfully it finished at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Stewart S. Thank you for your recent review, great that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and I note your comments about noise in the rooms and Bar Snacks, we will look at these issues and your comments and feedback are extremely important to us. Once again thanks and see you again soon. Regards Paul Bream. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked a family room for 4 nights at this hotel via Late rooms.com. Chose it mainly cos of location very near to shops & pier. First impressions very friendly, attentive & helpful reception staff. Lovely room, nice decor & very clean. Room service staff very on the ball in cleaning the rooms & all very friendly & polite. Treated ourselves... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Atkinsonfam. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that the lamb Shank was so memorable, food is the trademark of our business with both Gareth and I in the kitchen each day, please have a look at out "Merrion Hotel Bread" video on Youtube for... More

manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here bank holiday weekend for the first time. My impressions of the hotel were expensive but nice. We had paid extra for a balcony room which in my opinion was well worth it. Room was lovely with en suite shower flat screen tv etc and food and entertainment were good. There is also plenty of entertainment in other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Frances25. Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay, I would like to apologise for the noisy radiator outside your room, this was the first morning we have used the heating system for 4 months, I saw the forecast for temperatures dropping to 3 or 4 degrees and decided we needed some heat. Unfortunately we had not... More

North Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We decide to go to Llandudno for an overnight stay on the spur of the moment. we being my 22yo daughter, wife & myself. I managed to book one double & one single room, both of which were located to the rear of the building, so not the best of views but in all honesty we were not there to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi DaviesPSL Great review and thank you for taking the time to tell other travellers about the Merrion, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and for your kind comments about the staff, we are very proud of them, they work very hard and its nice to see it is appreciated. See you again soon. Kind regards Paul... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a week in Llandudno, wish it could have been longer! Excellent hotel Location excellent Food 5 stars, in a 3 star hotel! Staff mostly local and first class. Our bedroom had was a good size with a good sea view. Service was FIRST CLASS. Lift needs updating, and why in Wales no Welsh TV stations on TVs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Robert. Thank you for your review, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Paul Bream. More

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time staying in Llandudno. A very good experience. Quite a large bedroom, plenty of cupboard & wardrobe space. Beds very clean & comfortable. A very good night sleep, no noise from anywhere else considering we were quite close to the bar & entertainment. Breakfast was more than enough to set you up for the day. Car parking can be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ian S. Thanks for a great review and thank you for staying with us for the first time, parking in Llandudno like everywhere else is a problem, we are fortunate to have parking to the side and rear of the hotel for 6 cars as well as a garage compound for around 20 cars, all provided free of charge.... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the third time we have stayed at the Merrion. We are a family with age range from 70 yrs down to 6 yrs and find the hotel suits us all perfectly. The staff are excellent, the location is wonderful for pier, beach and town. Cannot fault management of hotel when we had minor gripe- immediate and personal response.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi CE. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay, I am pleased you were happy with the hotel and the service and that the issue you had was dealt with quickly. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Paul Bream More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the most expensive hotel we booked on our tour of Wales. Although I had researched on trip advisor it was the most disappointing. We were I think about 30 years to young (being in 46-50). There was no parking, the room had obviously been a larger one divided into two, we weren't allowed to sit near the windows... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
merrion-owner, Owner at Merrion Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Dancesarah. Thank you for your review, I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your room, however I would take exception to your criticism of the age group in the hotel, yes many of our guests are retired and in their 60s, 70s and sometimes their 80s, but they are just as entitled to their holidays as... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Merrion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Merrion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merrion Hotel

Address: Promenade, Llandudno LL30 2LN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llandudno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Merrion Hotel Llandudno, Wales

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Llandudno with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Llandudno #16 Family Hotel in Llandudno #33 Romantic Hotel in Llandudno
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Merrion Hotel is perfectly situated on the promenade in Llandudno; this classic Victorian seaside resort has great beaches and lots of attractions including superb walking in Snowdonia. The hotel has been owned and run by the Bream family for three generations, we offer superb food locally sourced where possible and friendly service. The hotel offers newly refurbished rooms all en-suite with flat screen TVs, a car park and disabled access. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
65

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Merrion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer