We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Afton Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
2-8 Cavendish Place, Eastbourne BN21 3EJ, England
Hotel amenities
Afton Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Eastbourne
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
lilybits London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    55
    22
    10
    1
See reviews for
35
65
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (213)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms are very small. And I was very disappointed with the lack of gluten free food choice when I was told before our trip that nothing would be to much trouble there was not any pudding offers really for us and they new that 2 gluten free people were attending the weekend we stayed I work in a kitchen myself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review

I've addressed the restaurant issues in my previous comments & am following up with some refreshment training with the restaurant staff. I will also investigate what happened with your lack of choice for gluten free food. There is usually plenty of choice and I apologise that you did not experience this on your visit. More 

Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed for a 3 night break with friends, the room was so small that when you opened the bathroom door it just missed the bed by a couple of inches. No bath only a shower and really tiny. Room was very clean though, bed comfortable and always hot water available. The worst aspects were the waitressing staff and food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review

Please the comments below as you were all part of the same group. I can only apologise & promise to follow up these complaints. As I've already said though, several of your group praised the waitresses & the food so it is a little confusing. More 

Walton-on-Thames, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed here for 3 nights, its not a bad place the bar area and dance floor all ok ..the room was small no room to swing a cat in the bathroom ..but it was ok and the bed was comfy..it was the staff and the food ..The waiting staff served you with a "what do you want ..soup and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review

I'm horrified to hear of your experience & can't apologise enough. The restaurant staff are obviously overdue for some training. I've spoken to them & the manager, who should be overseeing his staff. I would defend the food however. We give the best we can afford it pleases most people. You were seated at a long table because you were... More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for three nights with our freinds rooms were clean and drinks were very reasanbly priced friday night dinner and entertainment were the best of the whole weekend waiting staff in the resturant were rude and unhelpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review

Please see my comments above as I know you were together as a group. I'm so sorry that you felt the waiting staff were rude. It's interesting though that many of your group praised the courtesy of the waiting staff. More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

just came back today from the hotel, well all I can say is this hotel is fantastic, we have been going here for many years now and it just seems to get better each time. Jason the manager cannot do enough for you he makes you feel at home straight away and his stuff are all so helpful to. the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We''ll look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. More 

London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my sister have just had yet another great stay at this hotel, we have been coming here for weekend breaks for quite a few years now,and i can honestly say that the standard of this hotel has never gone down in any way,it just seems to get better with every visit,the rooms are so bright clean and very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so very glad you & your sister enjoyed your stay with us. I'll pass on your kind comments to the young lady who served you at the downstairs bar. More 

kent
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I ventured into this hotel as I needed a bed for three nights and the owner/receptionist did me some discount and booked me in for 3 nights with no quibble at all and gave me a key straightaway. The hotel can cater for solo folk of groups of people and has large entertainment areas on both the group and basement... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
fiorenzuola, General Manager at Afton Hotel, responded to this review

I'm grateful to you for taking the time to write a review for us and I'm very pleased that you were happy with your stay. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What can I say....We had a brilliant day and evening here for our wedding reception. Food was lovely, staff were brilliant. would highly recommend having your day here they we're so helpful and supportive to with everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so glad you enjoyed the wedding reception and found the staff to be friendly & helpful. Thank you very much for your review. More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travelled as a large group of friends (21 of us) being members of an Essex based social club. It was a mystery trip by bus so only 2 people knew where we were going ! We arrived at the Afton Hotel late on Saturday afternoon and were welcomed by the receptionist Fiona who had all the rooms allocated. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review

I was very happy to receive your review, not just because it's so positive but specifically because it makes the point that we will always do our best for groups and individuals who stay with us. Many thanks. More 

Huntingdon, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We attended a ball and had a great stay. Room was clean , food was good. Position was good. Staff were very good. They worked very hard and are a credit to the hotel . I would stay there again no problems alcohol was reasonably priced , had a lovely night sleep. I would recommend this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
fiorenzuola, Owner at Afton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review and recommendation. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities