We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 73 Eastbourne B&Bs / inns

Loriston Guest House

5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   17 St Aubyns Road, Eastbourne BN22 7AS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Loriston Guest House to your Saves list
Loriston Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
93%
Ranked #20 of 73 Eastbourne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Frankiez561 London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (153)
  • Photos (21)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (38)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    15
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
16
107
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
High Wych, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

not much to recommend this B&B...in fact keep away...the owners where unhelpful and aggressive. We stayed in the room for approx. 45 mins which was enough time to tell us it wasnt the place for us..the shower didn't work and the owners didn't want to fix it. Checked into another B&B along the seafront, where the owners didn't verbally abuse... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from an overnight stay in Eastbourne. This beautiful little guest house is covered in wonderful foliage. The owners, Gwen and Patrick were very welcoming and happy to recommend restaurants close by. The guest house is maintained to such a high standard. We parked within 20 yards of the house and left our car there all day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just returned from a two night break, a special treat for my mum. My mum is not easy to please bur we both enjoyed our time at the loriston. Gwen the proprietor made sure at breakfast my mum was well supplied with tea, and our supply in the bedroom was also topped up. A beautiful room ( which can be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have just returned from a short break staying at the Loriston Guest House. The front of the building is very welcoming and immaculately kept, densely covered in flowers and foliage. Other reviewers have mentioned a difficulty parking but we honestly managed to park within 20 yards of the house at all times, and parking is FREE. Gwen and Patrick... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duffield123lm, Owner at Loriston Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words both of you. You were such a lovely couple. And really hope you come again. Good luck with the training in becoming a BA pilot. More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is the second time we have been to the Loriston and I have to say this stay was just as good, if not better than our first visit. We were welcomed so warmly by Patrick & Gwen that it was like visiting friends.The room and en-suite were spotlessly clean and spacious with lovely soft towels and toiletries. I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duffield123lm, Owner at Loriston Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for a lovely review. It was such a pleasure to have to stay with us again and can't wait until your next visit Take care both of you More

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Parking is a serious problem. There were ample free parking spaces but you would be lucky to find one close to the guest house. We were never able to park outside the Loriston and on one occasion had to pay to park on the sea front and this was not during the peak season. The accomodation was immaculately kept and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duffield123lm, Owner at Loriston Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, the parking round here is free and not once did you not get parked within a moment from the house. No you can't get parked right outside the door all the time. I get so annoyed with this comment where do you get free parking anywhere today FREE . 99.9 of our guest can't believe... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Both myself and my partner are used to staying in 'corporate' style hotels, Loriston guest house was a refreshing change. The guest house had many 'home comforts', the hosts were both friendly and considerate (Gwen & Patrick) even when dealing with some very rude guests they maintained professionalism and calmness. Both myself & my partner would return if ever we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duffield123lm, Owner at Loriston Guest House, responded to this review

Hi to you both. Thanks for great review. Hope to see you again in between your travels. Great couple More

Buckinghamshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

That's really all I have to say - the owners were so rude and unpleasant. I note they say it is a two storey house but we were in the attic and overlooking a carpark. Room was clean, but clean isn't enough. I was just glad we hadn't booked for long/for a family holiday as it really would have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Duffield123lm, Owner at Loriston Guest House, responded to this review

July 2013 strange as you were so unhappy it took nearly a year to write this. First of all you never stayed here I have no idea who you are. I have reported as this review being suspicious to Tripadviser Firstly we are a 2 story Victorian terrace with no ATTIC. No car park at the back of the house... More

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Gwen and Patrick, our hosts, made us feel at home immediately we arrived. Our Superior room was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean as was dining room. Loriston is close to beach and pier. All in all David and I had a lovely stay helped by the friendliness of our hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duffield123lm, Owner at Loriston Guest House, responded to this review

I was lovely to meet you and thank you very much for lovely review. Pleased you enjoyed your stay More

Calgary, Alberta
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The food and lodging at Loriston Guest House was excellent however, as are many of the properties in Eastbourne, this is a wonderfully converted tall Victorian house. This means that if you are not fit you should ask for a room on a lower floor. The bathrooms are clean and well equipped but, in our room, it was small by... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duffield123lm, Owner at Loriston Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and nice things you said. Bit puzzled about lower floors as the Loriston is a 2 storey Victorian house . So not many stairs . More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Loriston Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Loriston Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loriston Guest House

Address: 17 St Aubyns Road, Eastbourne BN22 7AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Eastbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Loriston Guest House 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Loriston Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loriston Hotel

21 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Loriston is an award-winning 5 star Victorian guest house, dating back to 1891 adorned with lovely paintings, situated in a quiet area just 40 meters from the beach, decorated and furnished to a very high standard. All room have flat screen TVs, hairdryers, tea/coffee tray, free WIFI, ironing facilities, bath robes, large fluffy towels etc. Our large superior rooms have large en-suite with power showers, side sea views, one room has 6ft bed other 7ft American bed. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

See which rooms travelers prefer